We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach or Pool !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maine
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beach or Pool !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

My family and I stayed at this resort in June 2008. We had a one bedroom unit. The room was very clean and roomy for the four of us. We were located right between both pools and maybe 50 feet from the ocean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. One of the groundsman gave my husband a ride to the room with all of the groceries we were carrying back from the market and helped him bring them to our room. The carts were always stopping and asking if you needed or wanted a ride when they saw you walking. The only downfall is if you don't do all inclusive there aren't a lot of choices of places to eat at the resort if you choose not to eat in your unit. We had such a great time we booked again for 2009.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    463
    165
    77
    54
See reviews for
361
523
31
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Ne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2009

We stayed in a 1 bedroom golf villa and were please with the room and resort itself. We loved the space we had because it made it possible to spread out. The rooms were not luxurious like some resorts in Mexico and the Caribbean but they were clean and functional.

We were travelling with 2 adults and 2 children and did the all inclusive package. This worked really well for us because you have 11 restaurants to choose from and we did not get sick of the food. Our kids like to drink a lot of smoothies which can add up if you pay as you go. Our favorite restaurant by far was Mulligans. The Red Parrott was another good choice. The only restaurant we didn't care for was Ginger.

The beach is beautiful with white sand. We spent a lot of time walking along the water. There isn't a ton of action like on Palm Beach which was fine with us. You could go out any time and find a place to plant yourself on the beach. There seemed to be a little bit older crowd with many retired travellers.

We got bikes one day but the island isn't really set up for bike riding unless you don't mind riding in traffic. That was a bit disappointing. The island is very safe as there is very little crime to speak of. It is affluent compared to other islands so you don't have vendors approaching you every time you turn around.

We really enjoyed Aruba and would recommend it to anyone especially if you are travelling with children.

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

We just returned for 2 weeks at the divi village and golf resort "the links".We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit in building 15.The grounds were immaculate well groomed and constantely upkept. The room itself was great the bedroom was huge,we travel with our inflatable queen size bed for our kids and it fit no problem in the bedroom alongside our kingsize bed. The bed was very confortable .The ensuite bathroom was a little small to get into but the main bathroom was no problem. The living area and kitchen was large and confortable. All the amenities worked well microwave, washer dryer, dishwasher ac. The pool at the links is the best of all the divi resorts complete with swim up pool bar hot tub and waterslide for kids.Yes it is not right on the beach but it literally takes 3 to 4 min to walk across to the beach.If you don't wish to walk they have golf shuttles to take you where ever you wish and we never waited more than 5 min for one to show up. When you stay at the links you have access to almost 2 miles of private beach front at all 4 resorts the village the dutch,tamajrin and the divi all inclusive,so you may relax at any of them as you wish. The beach is located in the lowrise section of the island so you have very few people on the beach,but it is a bit wavy. My kids are 10 and 11 and had no problem swimming in them. If you want crowded beaches and lots of noise than go to the high rise section.

  • Liked — pool
  • Disliked — small ensuite
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

We did the all inclusive package which seems to mean you get a better deal whilst staying at the Dutch Village, we had no issue with the showers they worked ok and we did not run out of hot water. The accommodation was the very good if a little dated, the kitchen was well equipped and the rooms where a good size, we stayed in a 1 bedroom appartment.
Are meals where taken at the Tam and this was very dissapointing we like to stay late on the beach and go to dinner later this was not possible as by 9pm the entertainment would start in the self service restaurant so there would be no tables to sit at to have your dinner, the food in the evening was dissapointing in the self service restaurant, at lunch time the menu was much more varied. We used the bookable restuarants for all of the stay they where all of a very good standard and the service in these restuarants was very good unlike the service we received in the self service restaurant, tipping did not make a difference to the way you where treated. This was also the same if you where trying to get a drink at the bars, sometimes you got served straight away and the next time you went up you would not and again tipping made no difference.
My other moan about the Tam is if you wished to have a drink after your meal or before you went to your meal the only place was around the pool, the pool would still have children in it as late as 11.00pm which meant that there was water everywhere. There were not enough tables or chairs to sit at in the evening if you did want to sit by the bar having drinks and the chairs that you sat on where the same chairs used by sunbathers during the day!!!!!
Aruba was a lovely Island but I wont rush back, if I do go back I would stay at Eagle Beach ( the beach at the Tam is OK but totally manmade), there is also more going on around Eagle beach lots of restuarants, bars, supermarkets etc.

  • Liked — The size of the rooms
  • Disliked — Needs updating
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

My family and I had a great time at the Divi Links . The Unit 2255/56 overlooks the ninth hole and Druif beach, the nicest beach in Aruba . This unit has 2 bedrooms 3 bathrooms washer dryers in room and full kitchens . It is more like a condo than a hotel room . After staying 2 weeks here I can not stay at a hotel again . There is construction and it can be disturbing , in some areas. It will be finished in a few months . Enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

After 6 yrs of not going to Aruba, we decided to swap our timeshare in Disneyworld for one in Aruba for Xmas week. We were given the Divi Village Golf & Beach resort and after researching it (it was just being started 6 yrss ago on our last visit to Aruba) we decided to take it. What a mistake! We were put in a unit near the back of the grounds where the new buildings are still being built. Every morning at 7:30AM the workers hollered and the heavy equipment started running. In addition, our unit #4111/12 had water damaged walls, no hot water in one of the showers, we were too far away from the "hot" area for our computer to connect with the internet, and the workers kept parking in our parking spaces. In addition, at 10AM on our 3rd morning we decided to go to the outdoor breakfast buffet and there was hardly any food left. We asked if they were replenishing any and we just told "no". In general the staff was very rude and didn't seem to care about solving any of the problems we encountered. The pool area was very beautiful, but the water was VERY cold, as it rained every evening and the pool was not heated. And the pool area was overrun with very loud and rude children and teenagers (and some very loud rude adults also). In conclusion, we would NEVER go to this resort again.

  • Liked — Nice Scenic Pool
  • Disliked — No ocean could be seen from units & Rude Staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2008

Stayed here from 12/1 to 12/6, great time had by all! Very accomodating to all of us! If we needed anything the front desk would call and it would be at our door in two minutes! I would return in a minute loved it and the island is BEAUTIFUL! Traveled with 3 other girlfriends great time!

  • Liked — location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing at all!
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Address: Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful all-suite resort offers guests over-sized studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens perfect for both couples and families. Amenities include 9-hole golf course and clubhouse, 3 freshwater swimming pools, tennis courts, water sports center, 3 restaurants, fitness center, and complimentary transportation to the Alhambra Casino. A wide, white sand beach is just steps across the street. An all inclusive program is available sharing amenities with the neighboring Divi Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Village Golf And Beach Hotel Oranjestad
Divi Village Hotel And Beach
Divi Village Resort And Beach
Divi Village Aruba
Divi Village Golf And Beach Resort Aruba/Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.