We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps In Need of an Overhaul” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perhaps In Need of an Overhaul”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

They allowed us to do an early check in, which is always a plus (and nice to know that you have the option if you need it). This is a slower and more quiet venue than others. If you are looking for a rousing and raucous venue, this is probably not for you. Generally speaking, this is where some of the older vacationers showed up, so there's not going to be a whole bunch of noise and activity, and if you prefer the quiet time, and don't want to be around a lot of youth, you will enjoy this venue. It is a bit dated, and by "it", I mean everything, the building, the HVAC, the furniture; there is virtually nothing there that isn't at least 15 or 20 years old (or older). It's all been kept up for the most part, but it's dated. On the plus side, this is gated area, so you have to have your key-card in order to drive in (which limits the amount of people you will have to compete with in getting a parking space) but the roads are a little narrow and from time to time you’ll have to share them with golf carts used by maintenance crews so be advised. There was also what I refer to as "the plague of flying ants". This was more of a nuisance than anything else, as I'm not sure you can completely control when the ant broods launch, but there were droves of them dead in the hallways and stairways. I should note that the cleaning staff did come out and sweep and clean them up and if they hadn’t allowed us to check-in early (which they did as a courtesy to us), we likely would not have known they were there, but it was just off-putting to see them (and step on them) on the way to the room because they covered the entire stair way floor.

Room Tip: I got nothing... it all looked pretty old, I doubt one room was any better than any other
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    463
    165
    77
    54
See reviews for
361
524
31
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed i this resort 2 weeks with all inclusive. I think that the location is really good because you can see white sand and marvellous light-blue sea like in postcards. The room was nothing special seem to be old and not clean as i expected. What is really good is that you've a kitchen corner but the noise of the fridge was so loud. The WI-FI internet connection is not free in the rooms and not very good quality. The hotel offers a great selection of restaurants and you can move also in the others DIVI resorts around the dutch village. The reception and customer care was the worst thing. I did all check-in in divi tamarjin and during the check out the employee told me that i cannot do the checkout there. I took my luggage and i moved to other Divi 1km far away to do the checkout!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great place to stay in Aruba. Very accommodating, knowledgeable staff. Close to town and great restaurants. Swim up bar on premises. Complementary beach cabanas with an attendant to ensure we were well cared for. Paradise. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My long time friend owns a time share here. According to her, the rooms were all newly renovated.
I thought the room was "ok", but nothing to rave about. Very poorly stocked if anyone was planning
to eat any meal in the room. Thankfully it is not an all inclusive hotel. Food is very average, with
Poor service! There are a wealth of good places to eat nearby, so be adventurous! The Divi has a fun bar on the ocean across the street..happy hr. every nite, 2 for one drinks!! The beach is very
lovely and the Divi pools are all very nice. Some of the help is outstanding, and have fun activities
if you are so inclined. Several off "campus" activities are great... ie exploring in jeeps, kayak trips,
the crazy bus,total fun!!! Worst part for me was not being able to get WIFI, but paying for it, then
Being refused a refund, when the new manager knew the situation. Most others had Wifi issues too.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view . One of the two top floors if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WNY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed Oct. 12-19 2013. Birdie 1. 1 Bedroom. 1 3/4 bath. Pool view. I debated between 3 or 4 stars. There is upgrading going on right now, It needs some upgrading. The condo was good size. The bedroom large. Granite counters in kitchenette. The grounds are beautiful. The pool and beach are wonderful. The staff was very friendly. Service was quick and professional. We saw no examples of "Island time" at the pool bar or rests.
The dryer did work better with door open and very few things at a time. Still convenient.

We will be back.

Room Tip: We loved the pool view. Birdie 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Great to feel just like home in this condo style resort... Washer and dryer in the room so pack light and you really don't need much on this island, beach wear and night life change... Great breakfast buffet, nice pools and best of all prime beach access... Golf course looks great, but not a golfer, so can't say with experience.... Infinity pool with bar is a good way to spend the afternoon, but be careful, the bartenders know how to treat you, heavy handed to say the least...

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnston, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was our second trip to Aruba and second stay at Divi Dutch Village. When we arrived in our 2 bedroom unit we discovered that the refrigerator wasn't working (only after buying and putting groceries in it). The frig was fixed pretty quickly by a maintenance worker. The rest of the unit fit our needs, but was showing signs of age and needed upgrading. If you want to use the stove be sure to bring your own matches or lighter. They are gas but don't seem to have any kind of pilot light. Toilet handle in one bathroom threatened to fall off all week. We were unable to get Internet service any time during our stay so had to lug laptops to a different part of the resort to get (and pay for service). Even then the service was not consistant. The most frustrating part of our trip was when we agreed to sit in on a time share presentation. I know, I should have known better than to expect the promised 7 night free stay at Divi Dutch just for listening to a 60 minute presentation. The 60 minutes turned into over 90 minutes. The free stay any time in the next 5 years (that's what was promised over the phone) turned into a promotion that required a $100 dollar activation fee, plus $199 per person charge, which had to be activated within 60 days and used within a year. This wasn't even being coordinated by Divi Dutch but through a promotional company. I'm not even sure if we could have chosen to stay at Divi Dutch. It appeared you had to pay the money up front to find out what your options were. Free turned into $498 plus who knows what other charges once that money was paid. All of the people involved in the time share presentation seemed astounded when we complained, claiming the program had just changed and they weren't aware of the charges. If you stay at any of the Divi properties I suggest declining this type of offer from Glen Rogers, Vincent Williams, or Craig Bossio. They apparently feel it's more important to make a sale than to know anything about the promotions they are offereing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Address: Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful all-suite resort offers guests over-sized studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens perfect for both couples and families. Amenities include 9-hole golf course and clubhouse, 3 freshwater swimming pools, tennis courts, water sports center, 3 restaurants, fitness center, and complimentary transportation to the Alhambra Casino. A wide, white sand beach is just steps across the street. An all inclusive program is available sharing amenities with the neighboring Divi Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Village Golf And Beach Hotel Oranjestad
Divi Village Hotel And Beach
Divi Village Resort And Beach
Divi Village Aruba
Divi Village Golf And Beach Resort Aruba/Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.