We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 days vaca to 9 days” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oranjestad
Aruba
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“7 days vaca to 9 days”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This is my 2nd time this year with this lovely resort. We celebrated my daughter 6th year bday and we loved every single day. I extended 2 more nights that's how much we love the Divi Golf. This time we got a room on the ground floor in 4rooms building right in front of the kiddy pool. The resort was clean, love the garden around the room. We had to 2 patio. This time the sofa couch was a little bit unconfortable but it was a easy and quick fix by the housekeeping department. The service thia time was ok it atarted out great and ended just ok. Jelishcka at the front desk made our stay more comfortable, Steven and Robert at the pool bar was very fun, the towel hut and the pool personnel was also very kind and willing to help you anytime. The operator Nadira always calls back to make sure I received everything. My vacation was very fun and will be back again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    425
    154
    71
    49
See reviews for
331
479
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Check-in/check-out was easy.Birdie Bldg 2313/2314 (3rd floor) corner unit. Accomodations were excellent. Locations was great! This property does not offer (2) bedroom. It is a (1) bedroom with a adjoining room. The (1) bedroom is very roomy with lots of amentities. (2) bathrooms, Stand up shower, toilet and small vanity in one and tub/shower, toilet and medium size vanity in the other. Bedroom very roomy with armoire/dresser. Full kitchen with plenty of amentites. Nice size dining table(plenty of seating). Living room are on the small size. Couch with 2 chairs, tv, dvd player and radio. Outside balcony with table (4) chairs and a lougne chair. Balcony overlooked the golf course...quite!!
Largest pool on property is directly across driveway.
Concierge was pushy with excursions. They only deal with DePalm. DePalm was very commecial oriented. We decided to use ABC-Family owned and operated. Glad we made this choice. More personable experience. Divi Beach is literally across the street. Very short walk. Extremly beautiful with plenty of room to spread out.
Downside: patios not connecting, patio railing seemed unstable, towel rack in bathroom remained broken all week after maintenance came twice. No elevator...stairs get a little old after first couple of days.
Overall...great place to stay. I have no regrets choosing Divi Village Golf and Resort

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

the front desk i felt lacked some type of knowledge of questions (and i dont mean caribbean attitude of taking ur time slow). i sadly cant say the what happened since it happened earlier this yr. but i cant hold it against them bc they were at least courteous.

the bar/restaurant that overlooks the pool is nice. the bartenders were very nice. my only complaint was that they left the side garnishes (maraschino cherries, oranges, lemons.. etc) open and i noticed a bird pecking at the juice of the cherries. i couldnt help but laugh, needless to say i told them no cherries in my pina colada. ahaha

the room was spacious, nice, & clean. the only downside was our room was on the main floor (which wasn't the prb). the prb was stepping outside onto our patio u would get eaten alive by mosquitoes. yes, its common, i get that, but i would thinnk as a reputable establishment, they would spray mosquito repellant around the compound.
it also included a kitchen. which luckily they were 2 big supermarkets near the hotel - 10 min walk?

reading from a previous post, they mentioned that the beach was across the highway. as a NYC girl, i was expecting a busy rd. ...not even close, its rare u even see a car passing by!! tho if u do see cars, the drivers r very pedestrian friendly.

overall i would come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Tennessee
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Hotel in the low rise area. Nice and quiet beaches within a short bus ride to Palm beach area. Staff was friendly but the concierge wasnt very friendly or informative. The pool was close to the room which was great!! Could use all Divi resort beaches. The shuttle was great to use to save steps.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had friends who were staying at this place on the timeshare program who invited us to visit on short notice. On the bucket list but thinking with friends who had been there several times, we should take advantage of the opportunity so we would not waste time as first time visitor to Aruba stumbling around looking for stuff. Booked on Delta Vacations and got 6 day, 5 night, RT ATL Aruba, for around 2k with transport to and from airport included (this was not an all inclusive btw). By the time we cleared customs and found our bus were ready for a cool place to be once we hit the hotel. Big let down. Lobby looked good from the outside but was open air, about 100 degrees and only one person checking people in and out. after 30 minutes in the hot and humid Aruban air, we checked in around 3 but found our room was not ready (check in not till 4pm BTW). We thought no problem go to the bar and get a drink. Walked a way to the pool bar near the beach and found the bar but waited 10 minutes for someone to show up and then we had to verbally get the bartenders attention to ask for a drink. She then ask for a room card which we did not have yet and then found out none of the bars take cash. We had to walk down the beach to a place which served us but then found out we needed to go to the lobby of that place and buy coupons. After a small hassle he decided a decent tip would do for a couple of Balashi Beers and we made our way back to our hotel to see if the room was ready yet. I know Aruba is hot but just getting off the plane and arriving at the "resort" with no friendly customer service at check in and no one interested in assiting us left me expecting a disaster for the rest of our stay. FInally completing check in a bellman showed up and took us to our room on the third floor of the only building on campus with an elevator which was good. We picked a 1 BR suite on booking and got it. One BR, 1 and 1/2 baths, decent fully furnished kitchen, large living/dining room, and a decent size balcony with access from the LR and the BR. The only problem even though it face the ocean, you could not see it due to the kitchen and restaurant at the beach pool. If you like breakfast fumes in the morning, this is the place to be. The toilet seat in the main bathroom was loose and had to be repalace which they did. IF you want daily maid svc be advised you have to pay extra for it. The room has all tile floors which if you leave any doors open, end up slimy due to the humidity which causes condensation to heavily accumulate on the cold tile. The only answer to that is to keep the room at a constant 68 degrees and keep all doors and windows closed. In fairness had the floor been carpeted, I am sure that a mildew problem would be present. We elected to by the breakfast buffet each morning and eat sandwiches and junk food we bought at the grocery store and eat out at night.

The AYCE pool buffet is worth the 15 dollars but do not get up and leave anything on the table unattended to refill your plates. This place is open air, outdoor cooking and you are having a constant battle with the plethora of black birds and iguana's who will snatch anyting not attended. The outdoor omelet station was worse. If the cook turned his back the birds were in the cheese, veggies, bread, etc. You either get used to it or find somewhere to get breakfast which is not convenient. As far as the other restaurants at the place, they brag about Window being the best steak place in the island. All I can say at best is mediocre and very expensive. The other place to eat is more like a sports bar and we had decent pizza and munchies but it also is open air, buggy and very hot. All in all we ate our dinners off property and in out of the way places where the locals ate and had mucher better food for a lot cheaper than I even eat in Atlanta, ie Escargot for 8 USD.

As far as amenities go, depends on what what you want. This is a golf resort, which we did not use, has 3 pools 2 of which have pool swim up bars, a water slide in one, some tennis courts and the ability to take long walks to everywhere. The shuttles are a joke. We took some side excursions booked by the hotel concierge BUT PLEASE DOUBLE CHECK EVERYTHING THEY DO. They would get names and times wrong and on one occasion left us off the party bus roster. The beach is across the 4 lane road an can be a hike if you are in one of the rear building that do not have an elevator.
This is not my first Carribean experience so I am very familiar with the "island time" laid back service attitudes and expect slow but thorough service. Hear you get slow period.

I have seen some people mention lack of security and while i did not feel uncomfortable, I found that the rental vehicle door looks had been disabled to prevent broken windows if you can read between the lines.

Location is on what they call the low end of the beach north of the airport and since the island is only 6 mi wide and 20 mi long, driving to any where is not a hassle except for the traffic. One note they are rebuilding the downtown area of Oranjestad and adding a tram from the cruise ship terminal so traffic can be challenging.

Finally this is a time share property so be prepared for the usual aggressive types associated with this business.

FINALLY CHECK OUT WAS AS MISERABLE AS CHECK IN. I could not find anyone in charge to complain too, and am pretty sure I will never stay here again. I believe there are cheaper and nicer places on the island if you do your research and can handle living off the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for building 300 as high as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Here are some quick observations about the Divi Links.

General items:

Beautiful grounds, golf course and lobby
Well-maintained units
Huge infinity pool area with pool wim up bar and easy slide tunnel the the pre-teens and below should enjoy.
Pool bar serves only drinks, no food or snacks of any kind, which means you either pack stuff or you have to leave and come back (horrible)
Limited on-site activities beside the pool itself and limited pool activities (e.g., Bingo)
Pool normally has music playing during the day
Will need to do a bit of walking to get around resort
Will need to walk and cross one lane street to get to beach
Dining at Mulligans is acceptable and generally worth the cost
Clean gas grills located strategically throughout resort
Access to other sister-properties
Beach chairs and such provided

Gripes within our party:

Maintenance can be slow to respond
Unfortunate, but had no water on two separate evenings; they fixed it both times though
Shuttle drivers can be very nice or not nice at all
Usage of other Divi properties can be challenging, especially if buying food or drinks
Beach umbrella “set-up” is far from actual water, so did not feel safe leaving “stuff” unattended, especially with posted working signs and anecdotal warnings everywhere.
Mattress was okay at best.

We are quite use to vacation rentals, and this resort really felt like just that. This may be because we did not get the all inclusive package, so we had little reason to deal with staff. The pool and beach are the attractions for me. And both are majestic. I will return. Get a rental car for your whole time though. And if you want more actiivities, stay at another Divi (maybe the Tamarijn) or something. The links property is for golf, pool and beach purests like myself. Others can become board, especially if they don't have a car and don't want to taxi or bus it everywhere.

Room Tip: Groceries on island are expensive. Brings stuff from home to save a bundle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great resort, Always have loved the island and the people! This resort's beach is across the street, a very short walk. The beach had plenty of huts to use. If you wanted you could use the beach at The Divi Divi or Tamarin hotel beachfront as well. They are sister resorts. The golf cart transportation works well between the resorts, grocery store and the casino! Enjoy this resort and this great island and it's people! We did, celebrating our 30th with another couple we met at Aruba on our honeymoon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Address: Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful all-suite resort offers guests over-sized studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens perfect for both couples and families. Amenities include 9-hole golf course and clubhouse, 3 freshwater swimming pools, tennis courts, water sports center, 3 restaurants, fitness center, and complimentary transportation to the Alhambra Casino. A wide, white sand beach is just steps across the street. An all inclusive program is available sharing amenities with the neighboring Divi Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Village Golf And Beach Hotel Oranjestad
Divi Village Hotel And Beach
Divi Village Resort And Beach
Divi Village Aruba
Divi Village Golf And Beach Resort Aruba/Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.