We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Oranjestad
Pittsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Great resort! Clean and family friendly resort. Great pools and towel service. Great rooms and fair pricing although the all inclusive seemed a little high. We had a wonderful vacation and would totally stay there again! The only suggestion is that the staff know more of the restaurants. We had trouble finding a few and the staff didn't know where they were or how to get there. I highly suggest the jeep tours and caves! Amazingly beautiful beaches and AWSOME locals!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    388
    147
    69
    44
See reviews for
295
440
27
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed at the Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort from 3/16-3/22. I am a owner at the Divi Phoenix, however, we were not able to stay at the Phoenix anytime in March as they were fully booked. I was able to exchange my regular week in November for a week at the Divi Village Golf with no probelm. My overall impression of the resort was positive. It was hard not comparing my home resort, the Divi Phoenix, to this resort. I would say that both Divis have its pros and cons.
I found check in to be very easy and the front desk people to be very helpful and accomodating. Since I am an RCI Platinum member, I was uprgraded to a very large 1 bedroom right in front of the infinity pool. (Room # 4108). We were very impressed with the spaciousness of the room and two very large bathrooms which were perfect as we had 4 females in our group. The room had a fully supplied kitchen and dining area and sitting area. We also had 2 very large patios off our unit which was perfect for just running out to the pool early in the morning. I was also very impressed with the surround sound from the stereo. We don't have that at the Divi Phoenix.
Housekeeping was always prompt with clean towels and changing of the trash. We also received a mid-week clean which worked out just fine. The room was in good shape, however, both bathrooms need a good make over as the side of the master tub was falling off and there pieces of tile on the wall that needed to be repaired. Otherwise the room was just perfect and a perfect location.
The beach is across the street and for me is a negative after owning at the Phoenix and having the beach be just a few feet away. I have a feeling that many guests stay at the various pools during the day, however, I can go to a pool anytime, I was there for the beach. We would make the long trek from our unit across the street to the beach at around 8am every morning. We never had probelms finding palapas. There was also a very friendly Divi staff member there to help Divi guests locate palabas and bring lounge chairs over. We packed a small cooler every morning so that we wouldn't have to go back and forth across the street to our unit to get food and drinks. Also the Tamarijin and the Divi All Inclusive are right next door and you can use the bathroom facilities there. There are also bars at both resorts so one does not need to cross the street to go back to Divi Golf. A negative about this beach is that the Palapas are so far away from the water and are actually closer to the street. I much prefer the Divi Phoenix's beach.
We ate at Mulligans on the Divi Golf resort and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had amazing burgers, fries, onion rings and pizzas. I would highly recommend eating there. We wanted to try the Windows restaurant but never got around to it. One can do an all inclusive package if you want for around $100 per person per day. I find the price to be too high as we went to the grocery store and stocked up on breakfast and lunch food and ate dinner out every night. We are not big drinkers so the all inclusive package wouldn't have worked out for us. Plus, there are so many amazing restaurants on the island, I can't imagine being stuck at the resort all day every day.
We do not golf, however, I heard that the golf course is very good. They had a championship going on while we were there and everyone seemed to have a lot of fun.
All in all, I would suggest staying at the Divi Village Golf and Beach. I do prefer my home resort as it is smaller and right on the beach. The Divi Village would be a close second for me. The resort is perfect for families and couples. The nightlife is more in the High Rise area but it is very easy to get to via taxi or rental car. I would actually suggest renting a car versus a taxi as taxis have gotten very expensive. There is plenty of parking all over the island and Aruba is very driver friendly for Americans. The divi does offer a shuttle service to their other properties and the Alahambra casino area.

Room Tip: I would suggest getting a room right off the infinity pool. First floor units are great to walk out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We did an RCI exchange to the Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort, and enjoyed it very much. Having access to all of the Divi properties is a nice perk. The shuttle (large golf cart) ran frequently and was a good way to get around the resorts, and to the Casino and mall. It also took us within a block of the grocery stores, and was waiting for us when we returned loaded down with groceries, taking us right back to our room--great service. Check-in was slow and inefficient--we didn't get into our room until after the posted check-in time--annoying because we'd had a very long day of travel and really wanted to get in our room and get settled. On the positive side, we requested a rollaway bed once we got in our room, and it was delivered within 10 minutes of the request! The large infinity pool and waterslide was great for the grandkids. Just be aware that if you want lounges under one of the palapas, you'd better get out and get set up before 7:00 A.M. or you won't get one--they all get reserved VERY early! Our room (studio) was roomy enough for the 4 of us (wife/I and two teenage grandkids), and the kitchen was well equipped--good since we ate almost all of our meals in the room. Tennis courts were nice, and not crowded. We didn't try the golf (too expensive), but the course does look very nice, but LOTS of water! Not much in the way of evening entertainment, even though you have access to the entertainment at all of the Divi properties. Grandkids enjoyed going to the Donut Diner (in Mall by the Casino) for a donut and the free wireless--wireless at the resort is grossly overpriced! Beach is beautiful, but the constant strong wind blows the sand around a lot. Palapas are easier to get at the beach than at the pool. All in all, great weather, friendly staff, excellent service, and a good spot to vacation.

Room Tip: If you're planning on eating in for most of your meals (which we did), you might want to take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holbrook
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights here. We received an upgrade from a studio to a one bedroom suite as we had requested an upper floor corner unit and no studios were available. This was a pleasant surprise! The unit was clean and roomy and had a very nice balcony. The one downfall was being so close to the street and hearing a great deal of traffic until the wee hours of the morning. Pools and hot tub were clean. Loved the iguanas! The beach was my favorite part. So beautiful and uncrowded. We did have lunch and breakfast at the Divi Links Village - Mulligans which was pretty good and nice wait staff.

We have to agree with some other reviews that hotel staff weren't always accommodating to guests. Otherwise, we would most likely return but to stay in a room away from the street.

Room Tip: Request what floor and location you would prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

returned 3/16/13 - I enjoyed Aruba very much - the beaches are beautiful. However, Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort I would not return to. After paying for a deluxe suite, the first room we were given had a musty smell and was not clean, dust and dirt on the floors and the bathroom was not clean. After complaining and being told they had no other rooms, the next day we were finally moved to a very nice room in the elevator building. I paid $100. for wifi which I needed for work and was only able to connect in the lobby which I found unacceptable since they advertised wifi through out the complex. I sent 2 reports to the IT department and never received a response. The service was basically nil except for 2 people at the front desk one being Lorraine and the other a very nice man ( I don't remember his name). However that was only on one shift. Many a day no one was at the front desk or 1 person with a line of 4-6 visitors. The service at Mulligans was awful. After sitting and waiting 20 minutes for someone to comeover to our table, we left. The pools did not have enough talapas for coverage in the sun and there were no services at the the pool The beach is on the other side of the and also not enough talapas and no services. If one wanted a drink you had to cross the street and go to the bar and bring back the drinks. This went for the pools and th beach.
On a plus side, the restaurants we ate at were fantastic - Windows on Aruba, Barefoot, Flying Fishbone and Screaming Eagle were all excllent including ambience and food. However these were not part of Divi (only Windows on Aruba was located on their property). I highly recommend all of them.

I would return to Aruba but never to Divi!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We Loved our stay in Divi Village. We had two balconies and spent every moment we could outside on them when not on the beach or at one of the amazing 3 pools. We loved enjoying coffee, meals and just spending time together outside. The grounds are beautiful and the service from the frond desk and especially Gloria was just superb. The room could use a couple of updates, but hey. . . why would you want to spend so much time in the room. It's Aruba people, it's snowing up in Cincinnati and NY, go outside and enjoy the fabulous Amazing Weather.

Room Tip: Wonderful, peaceful, quiet, and grocery store not too far away, bus available for just a couple of b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and were at first not that impressed with the rooms but after we settled in I have to say I really liked them. They were a little worn, thats to be expected with the number of people sharing these unit thru the years. We had a unit on the second floor, it was cleaned daily. Someone wrote about the folks there and I have to say anyone I met young or old always had a smile on there face and a hello. The workers there always had a welcome greeting as well. The housekeeping staff did a great job daily, leaving them a $5 tip each day may have helped.
One drawback was that there in no elevator's, there is only 3 floors but when your 80 as was one of the folks traveling with us and they put her on the 3rd floor, it was a little tuff for her to get up and down the stairs.
The pools were very nice and cleaned daily. We spent most of our swim time at the golf course pool with a swim up bar.
We paid extra for the all inclusive package and found ourselves eating at Mulligan's 4 out of our 5 nights here. This is by far the best eatery we found. We had diner at the Red Parrot one night and 3 of the 4 steaks were well done when order med. rare, and the flavor was not tenderloin as order. The wait staff was great, one gentleman who lived back here in the states in Mass. for 17 years was a pleasure to talk with. The pizza and snacks from the 2 pool side bars were very good as well.
There are golf carts that bring you all around the Divi complex, as well as the casino.
If and when I go back to Aruba we will be staying here.

Room Tip: If you have problems climbing stairs, ask for a room on the 1st floor. There are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Address: Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful all-suite resort offers guests over-sized studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens perfect for both couples and families. Amenities include 9-hole golf course and clubhouse, 3 freshwater swimming pools, tennis courts, water sports center, 3 restaurants, fitness center, and complimentary transportation to the Alhambra Casino. A wide, white sand beach is just steps across the street. An all inclusive program is available sharing amenities with the neighboring Divi Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Village Golf And Beach Hotel Oranjestad
Divi Village Hotel And Beach
Divi Village Resort And Beach
Divi Village Aruba
Divi Village Golf And Beach Resort Aruba/Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.