We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oranjestad
Muncie, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Love Aruba. Nice beaches, warm breeze. But the Divi Dutch Village was not A good experience. The only thing we liked was housekeeping. She was very nice and helpful. The rooms was in need of updates. The pool was nice. The staff was very unfriendly. The old timers(people who has timeshares for 20+ years) was unfriendly as well. We felt very out of place. An unwanted guest. But it was just my fiance and I Staying, I would never bring the whole family down. There are green towels you are suppose to receive at check-in. For security purposes i guess. But we did not know anything about them. So first day on beach we took our own towels. And then to the pool we go. But was defiantly not supposed to be there. We then learned about the towels. We stood by A shuttle stop and watched the shuttles(golf carts) just pass us right up. The first night there we actually starved. Didn't know where to go. We then rented A car the next day and started exploring our self's. It just did not feel like we belonged at all. We was not in the timeshare click or the all-inclusive click. We was offered A tour of Divi as we went to the flea market down the road. Even A supervisor from Divi came and met with us there. Scheduled the tour the next day. So we went to lobby. Know one new of us or about any tour. So they set us down to fill out this paper work and even then felt un-excepted by the staff. The gift wasn't A big deal. It was only $100. As they told us since we are staying at the Divi Dutch then we didn't qualify for that. But we already spent $3000 on room. We were really interested(at first) on getting A timeshare. But not at the Divi now. We checked in to others. We did check out the Mariot. The Divi will not get another dollar from our family or friends. They need to work on there people skills. Oh yea, I didn't mention I hardly slept there. The beds are very old and hard. Our air was pouring water from it and then supposedly been fixed. But next night poured on our suitcase. Looked like it was an ongoing problem. The wall was water damaged and peeling the plaster away. All and all VERY RUDE PEOPLE.... We stayed there January 12th through the 20th 2013 our room number was 66. My name is Brian Skidmore And Maryellen Evans.

Room Tip: Not at the DIVI
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    426
    154
    71
    49
See reviews for
331
480
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Convenient location on Eagle Beach. Excellent accommodations overlooking the golf course. Friendly staff. Well equipped unit suitable for preparing a great meal if you want to skip a night at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course are best in my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Aruba - fantastic place - beach was the best I've ever seen. great taking a dip in the company of pelicans.

Sun - I know people tell you its strong, but it really is - even if your a sun worshiper take some high factors and work your way down.

If your visiting the island, my first recommendation would be to hire a car. The roads are good and allowances are made for tourist, it will give you much more freedom and a break from sunbathing.

Accommodation-we had a one bedroom apartment, it was large but dated. Bathroom etc a bit worn and tired,, wires hanging from the ceiling as it work had be left half completed. Slight gap under the door mean we got the occasional lizard visitor.

Food - we were all inclusive -everyone likes different things - so some nights we really enjoyed it, others we didn't really fancy anything. We did go to the Divi but felt it wasn't much different. My partner loved the tepanyaki, however I wasn't so sure when I saw the food on trolleys being brush past and catching on clothes etc. We ate out a few times in the high rise area and enjoyed it.

The one thing that spoiled our stay in the apartments was...... the Americans, some were lovely, others saw you as an intruder. They camped out around the pools, moaning about kids using the pools when they weren't eligible too. Most of this group talked about how they had been coming for many years and had good deals on the timeshare with management wanted them out, due to great out of date contracts. The down side as I've said is they have built up a community and you are definitely seen as an outsider. We gave an iguana a banana one day and left some bread our for two beautiful love birds that visited our patio, only to receive a visit from security as out American neighbours had made a complaint.

If your staying here its not worth paying the extra for the apartment, go for the hotel rooms and get the fabulous see view. The Divi is a lot more plush but also more expensive.I think if we went again we would probably go to the Riu as there is a bit more going on.

I'm not anti American, far from it I havelots of American friends, but there were a lot of load brash americans in the bars getting very drunk (most of the day) - at the Divi it tended to be a bit more refined.

Given that this holiday costs us £4500 for two people I did have a slightly higher expectation of the accommodation.

Aruba - an amazing place and worth a visit - hotel great but don't bother with an apartment.

Room Tip: Hire a car, check out the fountain show, the shops in the capital are usually more expensive than at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I spent a week here in a one-bedroom corner unit. The balcony, because it was a corner unit, was spacious and private. The unit we were in could use some updating and some serious re-grouting in the bedroom and bathroom. The unit was kept very clean, however, and had daily towel and trash service--something not offered at many condo resorts. On Wednesday, a full cleaning service was offered with a change of bed linens--again, something not always customary at other condo resorts. The grounds were kept very well groomed and the pool and hot tub were maintained each day. The staff was consistently friendly and always willing to help. The check-in for this resort is located in the Divi Golf Resort on the other side of the road. There was no signage to indicate this so we ended up needing to consult a security worker on the premises. Our frustration at finding the check-in was tempered when we were offered a glass of rum punch in the lobby. We also experienced some confusion during our stay since some of the resorts are all-inclusive and some, like the Divi Dutch, are not. It is not at all clear which restaurants are part of the all-inclusive plan and which are open to anyone. We discovered, by trial and error, which restaurants were available to us. In typical Caribbean fashion, there were many rules to follow but nowhere were the rules indicated. We ended up having many good laughs over these rules throughout the week and just learned to roll with the punches. The next time around, we will know how to navigate ourselves through the system--if the rules don't change! The beaches are beautiful here and well worth the minor inconveniences that we experienced.

Room Tip: Choose a corner unit, if possible, since this gives you a bit of privacy, a larger balcony, and more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haledon, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

After all the hype was over on the evening of December 25th, we packed our bags and slipped out the door at 3:30 am to hop a flight to Aruba. We welcomed the 90 degree days, the hotel however has changed. We had the worst drinks possible at the pool bar, don't waste your money drinking there, bring your own and mix them in your room!! We went to the Tamarjin across the street thinking the drinks might be better - it was the same, lousy drinks and no Jack Daniels, no Seagrams 7. Went to Mulligans thinking it must be better there, no, same lousy drinks! And it was $8.00 per drink, way too much for soda!! Oh well, drinking was not the sole purpose of this trip - on to the hotel. Beautiful, everything about our room was perfect, clean, friendly staff, awesome!!! We went to the light house on New Years Eve to watch the fireworks that the whole island sets off at 12:00 - can't describe how incredible it was, however, I don't recommend doing this, people parked everywhere, everyone was blocked in, after the two plus hours of watching fireworks, we couldn't move our car for another 40 minutes. Lots of traffic, apparently a very hot spot to be on New Years Eve. Do go to the Divi, but go to Paddocks (downtown) if you want a good drink. Very friendly staff, awesome drinks and beautiful view of the water!!

Room Tip: don't shower in the late afternoon, no hot water left!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel N, Manager at Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Diane,

I am glad you enjoyed Aruba, the Beach, and of course the awesome Fireworks on New Years Eve.
But we definitely do stock Jack Daniel's and Seagram's 7 at all the bars at Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort! Including the Infininity pool bar.
The Mulligan's restaurant and Windows on Aruba also have these premium spirits available.
The serving size is 10 oz. and all liquor bottles have a auto-pour top serving 1 1/4 oz. of alcohol.
The price for the premium drinks is US $ 7.00, and sodas are US $ 2.00
Our house-brands are only US$ 5.50, and during our many Two-For-One Happy Hours you pay only that amount for 2 drinks, resulting in a cost of only US$ 2.75 per drink !

I do hope to welcome you in any of our bars on your next trip to Aruba.

Feel free to contact me if you need any assistance.

Best regards,

Marcel Nahr
Food & Beverage Manager
Divi & Dutch Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago il
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Divi has the best beach but not the best service. When we checked in they couldn't find a reservation. They were welcoming. The staff doesn't speak a lot of English. It's expensive for what you get. Our sheets were ripped. I can post a picture of that. then we didn't have hot water for 2 days. That was really hard with a 10 year old daughter loved riding the surf.they did give us a cheap bottle of wine and a consideration for our inconvenience. I would never give this hotel 4 stars.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We exchanged our Florida timeshare for 2 wonderful weeks at the Divi Golf Resort in Aruba. We couldn't get a two bedroom, two bath, so settled on 2 studios, one above the other. We're 4 adults so the space was great. The units are well equipped with gas stoves, micro waves, table for 4 etc. and very spacious. We found the furniture and linens fine and the king size bed really comfortable. The towel exchange every day was appreciated. The balconies were on the small side but adequate for the 4 of us to sit and have a drink etc..
The beach is beautiful and not crowded. The road that you cross to get to it is not a problem. The pools and grounds were well kept and we thoroughly enjoyed them for 2 weeks. There are bar-b-q's around the property that guests can make use of.
We made use of the restaurant at the pool for lunch some days and found it reasonable and good. Mulligans makes a great breakfast, and delicious wraps for lunch. We splurged at Windows on Aruba for Christmas Eve and it more than lived up to expectations. We also went to the new Fusion Restaurant and Ginger at the Alahambra Casino & Shops Plaza and really enjoyed both. The shuttle was a great way to get around the very spread out Divi Resorts. It was also an easy walk which we did often. There is also a Subway, Pizza, coffee shop, Icecream & Dunkin Doughnut shop and a market with prepared food that was very good at this plaza along with some shops.

The highrise section of the island is completely different and not where I'd want to stay. It's very congested and busy.

Jimmy's Bar on the Beach has Happy Hour twice a day and wonderful sunsets. On Thursday nights, Jimmy sings. Don't miss it. A really fun time.

Vanessa at the front desk who works very hard to book any tours, reservations etc. for you is excellent. She booked an all day jeep tour for us through DePalm Tours and it was one of the highlights of our stay. It was the Baby Beach Jeep Safari and our guide was James and our driver Ewald. They couldn't have been better. We saw the island from end to end.

We weren't ready for our two weeks to end. All four of us would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Address: Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful all-suite resort offers guests over-sized studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens perfect for both couples and families. Amenities include 9-hole golf course and clubhouse, 3 freshwater swimming pools, tennis courts, water sports center, 3 restaurants, fitness center, and complimentary transportation to the Alhambra Casino. A wide, white sand beach is just steps across the street. An all inclusive program is available sharing amenities with the neighboring Divi Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Village Golf And Beach Hotel Oranjestad
Divi Village Hotel And Beach
Divi Village Resort And Beach
Divi Village Aruba
Divi Village Golf And Beach Resort Aruba/Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.