We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent New Years Eve in Aruba” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oranjestad
North Haledon, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Spent New Years Eve in Aruba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

After all the hype was over on the evening of December 25th, we packed our bags and slipped out the door at 3:30 am to hop a flight to Aruba. We welcomed the 90 degree days, the hotel however has changed. We had the worst drinks possible at the pool bar, don't waste your money drinking there, bring your own and mix them in your room!! We went to the Tamarjin across the street thinking the drinks might be better - it was the same, lousy drinks and no Jack Daniels, no Seagrams 7. Went to Mulligans thinking it must be better there, no, same lousy drinks! And it was $8.00 per drink, way too much for soda!! Oh well, drinking was not the sole purpose of this trip - on to the hotel. Beautiful, everything about our room was perfect, clean, friendly staff, awesome!!! We went to the light house on New Years Eve to watch the fireworks that the whole island sets off at 12:00 - can't describe how incredible it was, however, I don't recommend doing this, people parked everywhere, everyone was blocked in, after the two plus hours of watching fireworks, we couldn't move our car for another 40 minutes. Lots of traffic, apparently a very hot spot to be on New Years Eve. Do go to the Divi, but go to Paddocks (downtown) if you want a good drink. Very friendly staff, awesome drinks and beautiful view of the water!!

Room Tip: don't shower in the late afternoon, no hot water left!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcel N, Manager at Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Diane,

I am glad you enjoyed Aruba, the Beach, and of course the awesome Fireworks on New Years Eve.
But we definitely do stock Jack Daniel's and Seagram's 7 at all the bars at Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort! Including the Infininity pool bar.
The Mulligan's restaurant and Windows on Aruba also have these premium spirits available.
The serving size is 10 oz. and all liquor bottles have a auto-pour top serving 1 1/4 oz. of alcohol.
The price for the premium drinks is US $ 7.00, and sodas are US $ 2.00
Our house-brands are only US$ 5.50, and during our many Two-For-One Happy Hours you pay only that amount for 2 drinks, resulting in a cost of only US$ 2.75 per drink !

I do hope to welcome you in any of our bars on your next trip to Aruba.

Feel free to contact me if you need any assistance.

Best regards,

Marcel Nahr
Food & Beverage Manager
Divi & Dutch Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    423
    154
    71
    49
See reviews for
330
478
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago il
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Divi has the best beach but not the best service. When we checked in they couldn't find a reservation. They were welcoming. The staff doesn't speak a lot of English. It's expensive for what you get. Our sheets were ripped. I can post a picture of that. then we didn't have hot water for 2 days. That was really hard with a 10 year old daughter loved riding the surf.they did give us a cheap bottle of wine and a consideration for our inconvenience. I would never give this hotel 4 stars.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We exchanged our Florida timeshare for 2 wonderful weeks at the Divi Golf Resort in Aruba. We couldn't get a two bedroom, two bath, so settled on 2 studios, one above the other. We're 4 adults so the space was great. The units are well equipped with gas stoves, micro waves, table for 4 etc. and very spacious. We found the furniture and linens fine and the king size bed really comfortable. The towel exchange every day was appreciated. The balconies were on the small side but adequate for the 4 of us to sit and have a drink etc..
The beach is beautiful and not crowded. The road that you cross to get to it is not a problem. The pools and grounds were well kept and we thoroughly enjoyed them for 2 weeks. There are bar-b-q's around the property that guests can make use of.
We made use of the restaurant at the pool for lunch some days and found it reasonable and good. Mulligans makes a great breakfast, and delicious wraps for lunch. We splurged at Windows on Aruba for Christmas Eve and it more than lived up to expectations. We also went to the new Fusion Restaurant and Ginger at the Alahambra Casino & Shops Plaza and really enjoyed both. The shuttle was a great way to get around the very spread out Divi Resorts. It was also an easy walk which we did often. There is also a Subway, Pizza, coffee shop, Icecream & Dunkin Doughnut shop and a market with prepared food that was very good at this plaza along with some shops.

The highrise section of the island is completely different and not where I'd want to stay. It's very congested and busy.

Jimmy's Bar on the Beach has Happy Hour twice a day and wonderful sunsets. On Thursday nights, Jimmy sings. Don't miss it. A really fun time.

Vanessa at the front desk who works very hard to book any tours, reservations etc. for you is excellent. She booked an all day jeep tour for us through DePalm Tours and it was one of the highlights of our stay. It was the Baby Beach Jeep Safari and our guide was James and our driver Ewald. They couldn't have been better. We saw the island from end to end.

We weren't ready for our two weeks to end. All four of us would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This review is actually for the Divi Dutch Village, not any of the sister resorts, as some other reviews have mistakenly posted here instead.

Travelled here the last week of November 2012, with 4 adults.

ROOMS
Rooms are tired and dated, but are kept very clean by staff. Compared to the other Divi properties on Aruba, this one is the oldest and least “pretty”. We stayed in a two bedroom unit, which has the two bedrooms each with ensuite bathrooms upstairs, and the living room, kitchen, and third bathroom downstairs on the main floor. A town-house style of accommodation, which was a really nice layout. The balcony door was broken and hard to slide, but it still worked. The fact that the 12 ft+ balcony door slid all the way open was awesome, it opened up the entire room. It rained quite a bit while we were in Aruba, but not to ruin our vacation. Due to the rain, we had a leak in the ceiling, right beside a light fixture. The water was literally dripping out of the fixture itself. All they did was fold a towel and put it on the floor underneath the drip. Overall, the rooms are nothing to get excited about, but they did the trick.

GROUNDS
Very well kept grounds. Pools are nice. There are a ton of iguanas and other lizards around the pools. Some of them are quite friendly and will let you scratch their heads. They love lettuce and cabbage.

LOCATION
Good location, with an amazing beach. You can walk for miles on the white sand beach, from one hotel to another. Never a shortage of chairs while we were there. No need to “save” your chair with a towel at 7am. OK snorkeling off the beach, but nothing spectacular. The hotel is within walking distance to a grocery store, or a short drive to the bigger brand new grocery store which makes it easier for stocking up for the week. The bus stop is right outside the hotel too, so if you don’t rent a car, this is an easy way to get around the island.

Aruba is very “Americanized”. Not as quaint and unique as other islands we’ve been to, but it’s still a lovely island.

FOOD / DRINK
Since we stayed here as a time share, we were not All Inclusive. We ate at the buffet restaurant at the Divi Tamarijn next door one evening (paying $30 per person), and it was a severe disappointment. We specifically picked the night to go based on the pre-determined menu, and when we arrived to eat, half the things that were supposed to be on the menu were not. The host blamed it on the chef calling in sick. It was a really gross dinner. The pizza / snack bar also at the Tamarijn was nothing special either. I wouldn’t recommend the food at the Divi properties, based on what we tried while we were here. 

The absolute best meal of the week was at Aqua Grill seafood restaurant. It was amazing. We’re still talking about it. Highly recommended. http://www.aqua-grill.com/

Busters Garage Sports Bar was a good spot for watching sports, and the casino inside was small but we actually won big here.

Casa Tua - A little Italian place in Palm Beach and Oranjestad had amazing pizzas, risotta, pasta, you name it. It’s a chain with restaurants around the island. Also highly recommended.

STAFF
Friendly, but not overtly so. No one went above and beyond, but really no complaints either.

ACTIVITIES
Absolutely no night entertainment, or daily activities. It's a fairly quiet resort, which was just fine with us. Next door at the Tamarijn was a little more lively, but not huge either. Down the beach a ways more was the Divi Aruba, and they had a nice live band and what seemed to be some really nice restaurants.

Rent a car; you won't be disappointed. This island has so much to offer.

Arikok National Park; make sure you wear good footwear. There’s tons of little cacti which are like razor blades in the park. There are some amazing caves on the far side of the park. Either rent a Jeep or get ATV/4x4 vehicles for this trip. Not for small vehicles. Oh, and there are no bathrooms.
Arashi Beach (north west tip); a great snorkeling spot
Palm Beach; shopping, restaurants, casinos
Oranjestad; shopping, restaurants

OTHER HOTELS
The Riu was amazing. Go check it out, even just to look around or check out their casino.

The Divi Aruba Phoenix was also really nice with amazing pools. We tried to book here in the first place, but it was completely booked up.

OVERALL
I wouldn’t stay at the Divi Dutch Village again, but I would definitely go back to Aruba. An amazing island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Having been to Aruba before, we knew that we wanted to stay in the Eagle Beach area this time. Why? Because ugly high-rise hotels strung along Palm Beach just don't fit our image of the Caribbean ( and one of them really is ugly. What were they thinking?) We knew that Eagle, Manchebo and Druif beaches were not only spectacular, but the low-rise hotels were unobtrusive and would never fill with people. We studied the Trip Advisor reviews and concluded that Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort would be one of our top choices if we could get a timeshare exchange. Having secured the exchange, we found we could only get a flight on the day before the start of our week, so I booked an extra night at Divi online and then called the resort to make them aware of the two concurrent bookings and to ask for the same unit for both.

We had read the reviews and were concerned about being put in an unrenovated suite, so I made a point of asking for a renovated one. I have to admit that the polite non-answer did not inspire me with confidence.

So when we arrived, it was no surprise to learn that we had to stay in one unit for the first night and move to another for our week. A nuisance, but not a huge issue until our second fear came true - we found our first night studio suite in a dark damp corner on the first floor looking out onto tennis court screens and netting. And yes, if you've read many other reviews of this resort, you've guessed right - it was a smelly, mouldy 1990s tired unit. OK, it's just for one night, but now we were spooked and concerned about what we might be allocated for the next seven nights. So back to the desk and we start the long process of battling for a renovated unit overlooking the golf course. We're not golfers, but we like the views and the wildlife that can be seen from the balcony.

I must emphasize that at all times the staff were courteous and respectful, but it was just a tiresome and time-wasting exercise negotiating for an acceptable studio. In the end we got a large, renovated studio suite overlooking the golf course and we thoroughly enjoyed our week at this resort. If we had been and given that suite in the first place ( and never been aware of the unrenovated ones), we would have given this resort five stars.

With regard to the resort itself, it was spotlessly clean, like Aruba in general, and we found it well located. It really was no distance from the furthest units on the golf course to the resort centre and the beach. We were surprised to see so many young people using the golf cart shuttle just to go a couple of hundred yards, but we were happy strolling to the resort centre and the extra 100 yards or so along the drive and across the road to the huge, white, beautiful beach.

Our only other comment would be on Mulligans, one of the on-site restaurants. It was OK and convenient, but nothing special. If you like food and regard dining as part of your vacation experience, read the reviews of restaurants and make your choices. There are some truly excellent and memorable restaurants and food to be enjoyed in Aruba.

We like to be mobile, so we rented a car for the week, but there are plenty of taxis and public transport to take you to those great restaurants just minutes away.

We would be happy to return to this Divi, but only with a guarantee of a renovated room with a view.

Room Tip: It looked as though all the "Golf" buildings would be good and the units around the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Rented a 1 bedroom suite in ground level for family vaca. Sliders opened up to a great pool... walk in shallow end, fountains, slide, swim up bar, and infinity view of golf course.

Room was very good. Some wear, but in good shape and clean. There was a slight musty smell on arrival, but that went away with some fresh air (and turning down the AC - we adjusted it from 72F to 76F).

Beach is great. Not crowded, even in the peak week, with permanent tiki umberlla stations to use as home base. Shuttles loop constantly, so it's a 4 or 5 min walk or a 1 minute shuttle ride to the beach at the furthest point in the resort. I saw a comment about shuttles not stopping. We just put our hand out with a smile and we were always picked up. Staff was very friendly.

We did not have all-inclusive. Buy as you go seemed a better deal for us.

Kitchen had stove top and a microwave/convection. And full size fridge and dishwasher.

Shuttle dropped us at the property edge for a 2 minute walk to a full grocery store. Pretty good selection (IGA Ling). So we had breakfast, lunch, and apps in the unit, and dinner out. Perfect for the pool, work-out, beach, pool, happy hour at the pool, dinner out routine.

Work-out facilities were inspiring... On the beach, treadmills facing the beach and ocean. Friendly staff / trainers.

Golf course looked very nice - decided not to play with the other enticements. Well groomed though, and carts were in good shape and rental clubs (titlest and ping) new. (I looked around a bit).

Casino was small and friendly. $3 and $5 tables.

The best part of this resort is location. The ocean and beach are first rate. Aruba has clean water and good infrastructure. I felt it was very safe, even travelling as a family. Both inside the resort and out. I think we could stay a month. Family friendly.

Service was very friendly, but not always very efficient. Front desk lines, concierge lines, mis-information about what was going on, what was open, maid service, etc. I chalked it up to Island Charm. I tipped often and well. Bar service was good.

Dinner at Tartuga's, outside under the patio roof, with waves crashing nearby, was nice. Night-life and dinner on the strip (high rise area) was also fun and family friendly. Jolly Pirates sailing cruise was fun for all ages... snorkeling, including a shipwreck, swimming, open bar start to finish, rope swing off the ship, BBQ lunch. Book it at the concierge.

We used RCI points, but do not own at Divi. The Divi time-share deal looks to be pretty good though. We will be back...

Room Tip: Some say that the bottom floors have more of a musty smell. We did not have a problem after checkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just returned from our first trip to Aruba where we stayed at the Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort. We opted for the all-inclusive package which gave us unlimited food, drinks, access to sports equipment, and golf (after 3pm). We travelled as a family of 4 (teenage kids) and are regular all-inclusive vacationers.

The Golf and Beach resort is much newer and more spread out than the sister resorts, the Divi Divi and the Divi Tamarijn. We stayed in a 1 BR villa on the ground level. The room was spacious with a bedroom and bathroom and a large fmily room suite with large pullout and room for an extra bed that the resort provided. There was a separate bathroom for the kids and a full kitchen. A nice extra was a washer and dryer and we loved the 2 large patios. The furnishings were a little tired and the bathrooms needed a little TLC, but overall the room was clean and spacious.

The resort ran a shuttle which arrived withing minutes of a call to the front desk and brought us anywhere in Divi family of resorts. The pools were well maintained and we never had an issue securing a lounge chair or tiki umbrella. Eagle Beach was beautiful...by far the best we found in Aruba and much less crowded and larger than Pearl Beach where all the high rise hotels are.

The food and drinks were good, but relative to other all-inclusives where we have stayed the selection was limited and the service was inefficient. More specifically, the Divi Divi and the Divi Tamarijn are all-inclusive resorts, so all the restaurants and bars see your bracelet and provide service. The Divi Golf Resort is NOT an all inclusive resort. Its a large number of time share units that are rented out to visitors or ocupied by owners. To draw people to this resort, the Divi has created an all-inclusive package. The problem is that the restaurants, bars and golf course are not set up for all-inclusive service. So, every time you want something, you need to sign receipts and the service people are aggravated if you don't tip them. Not a big deal, but it has a much different feel than a typical all-inclusive.

The golf course was well maintained, bermuda grass, windy, but fair. Pace of play was good at ~1:45 for 9 holes on average. We brought clubs but the rentals were new Titlist AP1s...nice. Carts in good shape and the staff was pleasant.

Overall the resort was very good...we would consider returning.

Room Tip: Divi Golf & Beach Resort rooms are large. 1 BR was fine for family of 4. Includes laundry which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Address: Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful all-suite resort offers guests over-sized studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens perfect for both couples and families. Amenities include 9-hole golf course and clubhouse, 3 freshwater swimming pools, tennis courts, water sports center, 3 restaurants, fitness center, and complimentary transportation to the Alhambra Casino. A wide, white sand beach is just steps across the street. An all inclusive program is available sharing amenities with the neighboring Divi Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Village Golf And Beach Hotel Oranjestad
Divi Village Hotel And Beach
Divi Village Resort And Beach
Divi Village Aruba
Divi Village Golf And Beach Resort Aruba/Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.