We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Average, But Not Ready For Five Stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Oranjestad
Aurora
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Better Than Average, But Not Ready For Five Stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Having been to Aruba before, we knew that we wanted to stay in the Eagle Beach area this time. Why? Because ugly high-rise hotels strung along Palm Beach just don't fit our image of the Caribbean ( and one of them really is ugly. What were they thinking?) We knew that Eagle, Manchebo and Druif beaches were not only spectacular, but the low-rise hotels were unobtrusive and would never fill with people. We studied the Trip Advisor reviews and concluded that Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort would be one of our top choices if we could get a timeshare exchange. Having secured the exchange, we found we could only get a flight on the day before the start of our week, so I booked an extra night at Divi online and then called the resort to make them aware of the two concurrent bookings and to ask for the same unit for both.

We had read the reviews and were concerned about being put in an unrenovated suite, so I made a point of asking for a renovated one. I have to admit that the polite non-answer did not inspire me with confidence.

So when we arrived, it was no surprise to learn that we had to stay in one unit for the first night and move to another for our week. A nuisance, but not a huge issue until our second fear came true - we found our first night studio suite in a dark damp corner on the first floor looking out onto tennis court screens and netting. And yes, if you've read many other reviews of this resort, you've guessed right - it was a smelly, mouldy 1990s tired unit. OK, it's just for one night, but now we were spooked and concerned about what we might be allocated for the next seven nights. So back to the desk and we start the long process of battling for a renovated unit overlooking the golf course. We're not golfers, but we like the views and the wildlife that can be seen from the balcony.

I must emphasize that at all times the staff were courteous and respectful, but it was just a tiresome and time-wasting exercise negotiating for an acceptable studio. In the end we got a large, renovated studio suite overlooking the golf course and we thoroughly enjoyed our week at this resort. If we had been and given that suite in the first place ( and never been aware of the unrenovated ones), we would have given this resort five stars.

With regard to the resort itself, it was spotlessly clean, like Aruba in general, and we found it well located. It really was no distance from the furthest units on the golf course to the resort centre and the beach. We were surprised to see so many young people using the golf cart shuttle just to go a couple of hundred yards, but we were happy strolling to the resort centre and the extra 100 yards or so along the drive and across the road to the huge, white, beautiful beach.

Our only other comment would be on Mulligans, one of the on-site restaurants. It was OK and convenient, but nothing special. If you like food and regard dining as part of your vacation experience, read the reviews of restaurants and make your choices. There are some truly excellent and memorable restaurants and food to be enjoyed in Aruba.

We like to be mobile, so we rented a car for the week, but there are plenty of taxis and public transport to take you to those great restaurants just minutes away.

We would be happy to return to this Divi, but only with a guarantee of a renovated room with a view.

Room Tip: It looked as though all the "Golf" buildings would be good and the units around the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    335
    386
    147
    68
    44
See reviews for
306
445
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Rented a 1 bedroom suite in ground level for family vaca. Sliders opened up to a great pool... walk in shallow end, fountains, slide, swim up bar, and infinity view of golf course.

Room was very good. Some wear, but in good shape and clean. There was a slight musty smell on arrival, but that went away with some fresh air (and turning down the AC - we adjusted it from 72F to 76F).

Beach is great. Not crowded, even in the peak week, with permanent tiki umberlla stations to use as home base. Shuttles loop constantly, so it's a 4 or 5 min walk or a 1 minute shuttle ride to the beach at the furthest point in the resort. I saw a comment about shuttles not stopping. We just put our hand out with a smile and we were always picked up. Staff was very friendly.

We did not have all-inclusive. Buy as you go seemed a better deal for us.

Kitchen had stove top and a microwave/convection. And full size fridge and dishwasher.

Shuttle dropped us at the property edge for a 2 minute walk to a full grocery store. Pretty good selection (IGA Ling). So we had breakfast, lunch, and apps in the unit, and dinner out. Perfect for the pool, work-out, beach, pool, happy hour at the pool, dinner out routine.

Work-out facilities were inspiring... On the beach, treadmills facing the beach and ocean. Friendly staff / trainers.

Golf course looked very nice - decided not to play with the other enticements. Well groomed though, and carts were in good shape and rental clubs (titlest and ping) new. (I looked around a bit).

Casino was small and friendly. $3 and $5 tables.

The best part of this resort is location. The ocean and beach are first rate. Aruba has clean water and good infrastructure. I felt it was very safe, even travelling as a family. Both inside the resort and out. I think we could stay a month. Family friendly.

Service was very friendly, but not always very efficient. Front desk lines, concierge lines, mis-information about what was going on, what was open, maid service, etc. I chalked it up to Island Charm. I tipped often and well. Bar service was good.

Dinner at Tartuga's, outside under the patio roof, with waves crashing nearby, was nice. Night-life and dinner on the strip (high rise area) was also fun and family friendly. Jolly Pirates sailing cruise was fun for all ages... snorkeling, including a shipwreck, swimming, open bar start to finish, rope swing off the ship, BBQ lunch. Book it at the concierge.

We used RCI points, but do not own at Divi. The Divi time-share deal looks to be pretty good though. We will be back...

Room Tip: Some say that the bottom floors have more of a musty smell. We did not have a problem after checkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Just returned from our first trip to Aruba where we stayed at the Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort. We opted for the all-inclusive package which gave us unlimited food, drinks, access to sports equipment, and golf (after 3pm). We travelled as a family of 4 (teenage kids) and are regular all-inclusive vacationers.

The Golf and Beach resort is much newer and more spread out than the sister resorts, the Divi Divi and the Divi Tamarijn. We stayed in a 1 BR villa on the ground level. The room was spacious with a bedroom and bathroom and a large fmily room suite with large pullout and room for an extra bed that the resort provided. There was a separate bathroom for the kids and a full kitchen. A nice extra was a washer and dryer and we loved the 2 large patios. The furnishings were a little tired and the bathrooms needed a little TLC, but overall the room was clean and spacious.

The resort ran a shuttle which arrived withing minutes of a call to the front desk and brought us anywhere in Divi family of resorts. The pools were well maintained and we never had an issue securing a lounge chair or tiki umbrella. Eagle Beach was beautiful...by far the best we found in Aruba and much less crowded and larger than Pearl Beach where all the high rise hotels are.

The food and drinks were good, but relative to other all-inclusives where we have stayed the selection was limited and the service was inefficient. More specifically, the Divi Divi and the Divi Tamarijn are all-inclusive resorts, so all the restaurants and bars see your bracelet and provide service. The Divi Golf Resort is NOT an all inclusive resort. Its a large number of time share units that are rented out to visitors or ocupied by owners. To draw people to this resort, the Divi has created an all-inclusive package. The problem is that the restaurants, bars and golf course are not set up for all-inclusive service. So, every time you want something, you need to sign receipts and the service people are aggravated if you don't tip them. Not a big deal, but it has a much different feel than a typical all-inclusive.

The golf course was well maintained, bermuda grass, windy, but fair. Pace of play was good at ~1:45 for 9 holes on average. We brought clubs but the rentals were new Titlist AP1s...nice. Carts in good shape and the staff was pleasant.

Overall the resort was very good...we would consider returning.

Room Tip: Divi Golf & Beach Resort rooms are large. 1 BR was fine for family of 4. Includes laundry which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

...if you can afford it ,that is. The resort is old, dated, not well maintained. The room given to us upon check in was so moldy we immediately asked for another one. It took several calls and another hour before that happened. The new room was only slightly better. It still smelled like someone forgot an old, wet towel in a corner...at least there were no mold spots on the ceiling. Yikes. The bathroom was ok, but I've stayed in nicer looking Garden Inns.
The beach is great, but it is across the busy street...the umbrella huts are right along that same busy street, so you get to "enjoy" the traffic sounds all day long.
The service is just average. Nobody went out of their way for anything, just the bare minimum. Not once did we get picked up by a shuttle although they were passing us by on our long walk to the front desk and/or tennis courts. Speaking of tennis courts, they are also in a meagre shape, with a lot of dirt, weed, cracks, but at least they had them and they were free(not many free "perks").
We love Aruba, it's awesome, I'm sure we'll go again, but most certainly elsewhere. My advice is - book well ahead and get into one of the nicer hotels in a high-rise hotel zone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiviResorts, General Manager at Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Having reviewed your commentary on your recent stay with us, we’d like to take this opportunity to thank you for notifying us of your observations. As a resort dedicated to providing superior customer service, we continually strive to best serve our customers during their stay with us. When our efforts fail to meet expectations, it is important that the matter to be brought to our attention so that it can be corrected as soon as possible. Keep in mind we have maps showing the various designated areas throughout the properties where the shuttles can pick you up. By walking through our properties they merely thought you had chosen to walk.

As far as DVG being ran down, apart from the VIllas that only get booked when we're completely full, the rest of DVG has been totally renovated as of 2012 with some of those building renovations being completed by the end of 2011.

We apologize for the inconvenience and frustration that you experienced while with us and despite not being pleased with our resort, we do hope that the remainder of your stay on island was pleasant enough and that you were able to return home with favorable memories of your stay on Aruba.

Sincerely,

Marc Nooren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed 12 days at Dutch Village. The studio room was near the end, 2nd floor. Clean, with small kitchen, balcony. Not new, but still in good shape. Room service was good but sometimes late. Great beach, and yes, if you want one of the huts you should reserve before 8 AM.

I would recommend a car, if you want to see more than the beach and the resort restaurants. Traffic can be terrible, though. Grocery shopping is possible without car with a 5 min walk.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor rooms have a bit of ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here with a friend and we had a room on the top floor facing the beach with a balcony.
Room was recently renovated and very nice. Front desk was helpfull when I had questions (although the concierge gets overwhelmed so try to do your research and reservations for activities in advance).

Will stay here again.

Room Tip: High Floor room across the street from beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

It was our 3rd time in Aruba and all in all the best accomodation.
Nice and spacious rooms, friendly staff and nice environment.
you have to cross the street to get to the beach which is wide and gives you all the privacy you need (no comparison with the high rise hotel).
Plenty of sunbeds, no need to fight at dawn for them :-)
The golf course gives a touch of atmosphere and I must say, room rates are acceptable.

The best sea/beach is at a 5 min walk on the right side (north), unless you don't drive to baby beach (45 min)

We might come back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Address: Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful all-suite resort offers guests over-sized studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens perfect for both couples and families. Amenities include 9-hole golf course and clubhouse, 3 freshwater swimming pools, tennis courts, water sports center, 3 restaurants, fitness center, and complimentary transportation to the Alhambra Casino. A wide, white sand beach is just steps across the street. An all inclusive program is available sharing amenities with the neighboring Divi Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Village Golf And Beach Hotel Oranjestad
Divi Village Hotel And Beach
Divi Village Resort And Beach
Divi Village Aruba
Divi Village Golf And Beach Resort Aruba/Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.