We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most amazing Vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Oranjestad
Newfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Most amazing Vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at the Divi Golf Resort (time share). We were right across the street from the beach, a very short walk from our suite. The people who work at the Divi were so accomodating, pleasant, friendly and overall just a pleasure to run into. Always with a "good morning" or hello. We ate and drank at Mulligans several times during our stay and the food was great! Can't wait to go back. The weather was beautiful, concierge (Vanessa) very helpful, and the attendant on the beach always ran up to us to get our chairs set up. Thank you Divi!

Room Tip: The whole Divi Golf Resort is in a quieter location so any room would be nice. We were in Birdies I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    389
    148
    69
    44
See reviews for
297
441
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My family has a 2 bedroom time share at this property. This was the first year that I could go. The "2 bedroom" is actually a one bedroom unit with the 2nd bedroom being a second unit that can be locked out. Once we were able to get inside, the main unit was clean but the lock out unit was covered in dust. In fairness to the housekeeper...The previous tenants refused to leave at noon, which is checkout time, and they had trashed the place so we couldn't occupy the unit until housekeeping had cleaned and she had to do a rush job. Our units looked nothing like what you see in the property's "professional photos". The term "dated" springs to mind at first glance. The ceiling fan in the living room had two speeds...high and off...as it operated from a standard On and Off switch. The AC unit in the lock out bedroom did not work but the ceiling fan allowed us to get some sleep. The hose in the toilet in the half bath blew out and flooded the room. Housekeeping came every day and replaced what towels were on the floor but they did nothing else...not even make the beds. And they NEVER knocked so they got quite a show on a couple days of our stay. :-(

Since this property is at the end, you have to walk right far to get to anything. If you don't have an all-inclusive deal (which we don't) there is no place to get food or drink unless you go to the grocery store, buy the stuff and take it back to the unit. If you don't have a car, remember that you have to carry your groceries from the store to the unit.

The beaches are beautiful and the water indescribable but we had to get up at 5 AM, run out to the beach and get a palapa. Otherwise, they would all be taken, leaving us to fry in the hot sun.

If you like to be spoiled and catered to while on vacation, this is not the place for you!

Room Tip: Rent a car so you can get groceries in one trip! Take an insulated cooler bag that you can use on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Let’s get this out of the way – Divi Dutch Village is a clean and completely serviceable hotel choice for Aruba. But bargain hunters may soon realize that spending a bit more on other accommodations may save hassle and nickel-and-diming down the road.

Firstly, Divi Dutch Village is primarily time-shares. The upside of this is that most rooms have full kitchens. The downside is that normal hotel service is almost non-existent. For example, while housekeeping keeps an acceptable level of cleanliness, be prepared for your room to be made up late – as in 3pm. And also be prepared for your sheets to have holes in them (seriously).

Because of the odd arrangement of the Divi complex (Divi Corp seems to own half of Aruba), be ready to drag your suitcases across Irasquin Boulevard to check in at Divi Beach Resort.

Competition for palapas (beachside huts) is fierce due to the small number of huts available for all of Divi Dutch Village’s rooms. Best get up by 6am to secure a hut…and try to avoid the huts near the highway, unless you enjoy hearing trucks downshift as you sip your mai tai.

Also be advised that the less-than-friendly beach staff will kick you off the beach before the sun has set.

Happy Hour at Divi Dutch is anything but. In fact, the Bunker Bar – the closest bar on the beach – doesn’t even have a happy hour. Well drinks are $7.50. Instead, pick up a couple bottles of Palmera Rum at the supermarket and make your own cocktails.

There’s also no free wi-fi. Instead it’ll cost you $15 for 1.5 hours. In fact, it seems that Divi Dutch Village finds a way to charge its customers for almost anything. Need your in-room safe reset? $100, please.

Ultimately, what was most distressing about staying at Divi Dutch Village is how none of the hotel staff seemed to care about our stay. The only time anyone asked how our stay was going was when I received a sales call at 9:30am, as part of an unsolicited pitch to purchase a time-share.

The bottom line: While Divi Dutch Village may seem like a deal, you’ll pay for it in the end.

Room Tip: Be aware that there are 3 floors and lots of stairs. Plan accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We got a one bedroom with kitchen which were clean and nicely kept. This resort seems to be generally quiet and away from everyday noise, no clubs or loud music. The lobby staff were very nice, but it was somewhat difficult to get a taxi at night time and the concierge staff seemed to be hard to find in the evening. (this was not a problem during the day time)
The beach is across the street and it's wide and uncrowded :) Jimmy the bartender at Ocean View Bar is really nice and plays good music!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROME,NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed at this resort November 2012 for 10 nights. The room,second floor, was beautiful complete with seperate bedroom ,living room and kitchen area and balcony. Have been travelling to the Carribean for 10 years and this is the best room we have had to date.Booked thru WIOL.COM and got a great rate. The resort is very well maintained, quiet and has a great infinity pool and swim up bar -usually we go to the beach but spent majority of the time at the pool.We also cooked in for 7 of the 10 nights-room was so lovely we did not feel like going out to restaurants. Supermarket is about a 30 minute walk and prices are very reasonable-we did not use the free shuttles since the walk was very pleasant. Staff were terrific and Windows restaurant and Mulligans restaurant at the resort were superb. Aruba is not really Carribean (always spell this wrong) but the island is clean and kind of modern. Would definately return to this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila. pa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This past May, we stayed at Divi Village Golf with another couple. We stayed in two 1 bedroom timeshare units that were connected....that's why the value for us is rated "excellent." We were a short distance (2 minute golf cart ride) from the lobby. The resort was quiet and peaceful. It was advantageous that the property is across the street from a supermarket. We bought food and ate in a couple of times; no complaints about the kitchenette area. The beds were comfortable. The units were a nice size and clean. I liked that each of our units had two bathrooms. The pool adjacent to our units had a jacuzzi, but it didn't work. The golf course was nice. We enjoyed the tennis clinic that we attended. I'd recommend taking the bus into town....there's a bus stop close to the property and its a short ride. Dinner at The Promenade restaurant across the street from the property had very tasty food. Vanessa and the other concierge (whose name escapes me) were very kind, helpful and friendly. There was a fee (had to pay for minutes) to use the computer in the lobby when we wanted to check in on our departing flight. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Across from the beach which ws pristine. Suite was clean and everyone was very helpful.
Vanessa, the concierge, recommended great restaurants.
Only minus - no computer to check in for airlines was available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Address: Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful all-suite resort offers guests over-sized studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens perfect for both couples and families. Amenities include 9-hole golf course and clubhouse, 3 freshwater swimming pools, tennis courts, water sports center, 3 restaurants, fitness center, and complimentary transportation to the Alhambra Casino. A wide, white sand beach is just steps across the street. An all inclusive program is available sharing amenities with the neighboring Divi Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Village Golf And Beach Hotel Oranjestad
Divi Village Hotel And Beach
Divi Village Resort And Beach
Divi Village Aruba
Divi Village Golf And Beach Resort Aruba/Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.