We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and quiet stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in Oranjestad
phila. pa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and quiet stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This past May, we stayed at Divi Village Golf with another couple. We stayed in two 1 bedroom timeshare units that were connected....that's why the value for us is rated "excellent." We were a short distance (2 minute golf cart ride) from the lobby. The resort was quiet and peaceful. It was advantageous that the property is across the street from a supermarket. We bought food and ate in a couple of times; no complaints about the kitchenette area. The beds were comfortable. The units were a nice size and clean. I liked that each of our units had two bathrooms. The pool adjacent to our units had a jacuzzi, but it didn't work. The golf course was nice. We enjoyed the tennis clinic that we attended. I'd recommend taking the bus into town....there's a bus stop close to the property and its a short ride. Dinner at The Promenade restaurant across the street from the property had very tasty food. Vanessa and the other concierge (whose name escapes me) were very kind, helpful and friendly. There was a fee (had to pay for minutes) to use the computer in the lobby when we wanted to check in on our departing flight. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    335
    386
    148
    68
    44
See reviews for
307
445
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hicksville, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Across from the beach which ws pristine. Suite was clean and everyone was very helpful.
Vanessa, the concierge, recommended great restaurants.
Only minus - no computer to check in for airlines was available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sand Lake, New York, United States
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful resort and golf course. Rooms are clean and huge. Infinity pool and bar is a lot of fun. Friendly and helpful staff. Good restaurants. Sadly, it's a long walk to the beach, and the beach is not nearly as nice as beaches at adjacent resorts. There is certainly not enough shade (palapas) on the beach to get out of the blazing sun, again compared to other resorts. For timeshare trades, this a great place, as long as you don't mind hopping on the bus (or driving) to better beaches and restaurants. Golf course is very nice, but only somewhat challenging.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We just finished 9 days here and i have to say we were very pleasantly surprised. We had a large studio with a nice kitchen, full balcony, nice sized living room and large bathroom. Everything was very clean and updated and the service was very good. This resort has many pools, our favorite was the infinity pool. The beach is directly across the street which was great. They also have many restaurants, our favorite being Windows on Aruba which we dined at twice. The staff is helpful especially Rene Wilson at the front desk who was kind enough to walk us through many different aspects of the resort and Aruba.
If i had to nitpick the very slight negatives are The Sea Breeze restaurant is difficult to eat in because it is outside and you battle birds, flies and iguanas so we only had breakfast there once and cooked the rest of the time. Also they have a golf cart shuttle which gets you close to the supermarket but there is no set schedule for return and one time we were left waiting with our groceries for a very long time. Finally there is no free Wifi in the resort and the internet access that you have to purchase by the minute goes by a lot faster than the actual time you purchase. Like i said this is all nitpicking and overall the experience was great and we would definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Staying on the links is one fabulous place, the pool area is nice, view of golf course and the beach area is across street, easy to get to. Noise level is low, a very nice place to relax at. There is no bad spot, each has its own rewards based on location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a week in Aruba at the Divi Village non all inclusive. My first impression at check in was the person behind the desk was not very informative or helpful acclimating us to the resort. We took our own bags and found our room ourselves as no one seemed available to do it for us. My first impression of the room w/kitchen is that it looked worn out and in some areas in disrepair. Now mind you we are Grand Mayan members in Mexico and used to newer facilities and bigger rooms and better service. We traded a week in to RCI and paid a booking fee to come here which amounted to more than a week at the Mayan is why I felt let down at the room quality. Many people we spoke to found it grand accomadations but they may not have stayed at better. My feeling is Divi puts there money into their all-inclusive properities
Now that we have settled in we go looking to eat siince we are starving and it is now 7pm since the airline got us in late. This is the part where normally we go buy groceries but in Aruba stores are either not open on Sunday or close at 1pm. Not we are stuck as a previous review said there are not many choices either pay at the over priced Mulligans dinner menu or pay
$ 25 a person for the all you can eat prime rib at the sea side. I was not very happy to spend
$60 off the bat ( 15% is added in for tip ) when a burger would of done that late at night.

The next day we went to the market they are in walking distance or the resort will shuttle you most of the way and you can walk across the street. There are 2 markets side by side go to hong king it has a larger selection they open at 8am. Later than morning we went to the resort orientation unlike other resorts they don,t jam down your throat a timeshare presentation. You do have the ability to book one later in the day or week but beware unlike other timeshare deals they don,t offer you money or excersions to attend and frankly the resort had nothing to offer me.
As for excersions we went on the see Aruba tour by bus because my wife won one free ticket at the resort ( $ 59 for the other ticket ). It takes you around town seeing the sights you get a lunch with that and spend an hour at baby beach to snorkel which the bus provides. It was OK but my feeling was thank god I didn,t have to pay for both tickets. I would suggest for the experience either do the jeep tour or the ATV tour.
Our third day we did the Depalm island $ 119 each for 8 hours or you do 4 hrs for $ 99 for us it was a no brainer $ 20 bucks more for 4 more hours. For that the bus gets you at your resort takes you to the ferry which takes you to the island you get all you can eat and drink all day long. They have several beaches with lounge chairs and speacial area to snorkel which they provide equipment for. They also have water slides and banana boat rides if you don,t think you would do all these things then you may not feel value for what you paid. For additional cost they offer snuba or helmet dives.
Our forth day we did the MI Dushi snorkel tour on an 80 foot sailing boat $ 55 each if you book online the best value excersion we did. I thought it was a better bang for the buck than Depalm tours offer for a similar tour. It is offered by Aruba adventours I found them online at aruba.com under activities and saved money booking it online before we left for vacation. The tour takes you to 3 different spots including a ship wreck and lasted about 5 hours we aslo got all you can drink and lunch they even had a rope swing going into the water. We aslo got lucky and there were only 18 people in the tour so people weren,t on top of each other all the
time.
As for shopping there are several choices and if you have your own car you can find more. We shopped in the high rise area first because our tour on the Mi Dushi was out of that area and although we didn,t buy anyhting there are several goods shops. If you want a better shopping experience go to Oranjestad there are a ton of shops and peddlers to choose from even Coach, Victoria secrets, jewlery to inexpensive items. One place I suggest is Monkey Joes not only do they have some great t-shirts and other items but you get a free beer and he lets you call home for free. Later we ate at Iguana Joes and had good food and drinks and were seated overlooking the water.There are also several casinos if that is your thing.

Although my initial impression was poor when we first got to the Divi Village I did fall in love with Aruba and can,t wait to return. I like the location where we stayed because we were in between the high rise areas and Oranjestad. Although the Divi has over 5 different resorts in Aruba only one is not all inclusive the Divi village the rest are. We don,t choose all inclusive because we don,t want to feel we have to eat and drink our moneys worth but if you get a good deal go for it.
Some things I did really like at the Divi village was that the resort section we were in low rise had just a coule of rooms around us and on top so you didn,t have to worry about many guests. We also had our own pool which hardly ever had anyone there plus the beach is just a 5 minute walk and it too was hardly crowded. At our pool you could also find several Iguanas lying around or under your chair or on the corner of the pool it was really cool and we even fed out of our hand they don,t bother anyone.
We go to Mexico alot but I found Aruba to feel much safer almost everyone speaks english along with other languages. Prices on cabs and other things are set no haggling like in Mexico and american money is all you need.Although people were nice on the island I wasn,t impressed with the customer service at the DIVI village We will be back to Aruba for sure !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Learn all you can from reviews or calling the resorts or websites some that offer all-inclusive stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

First time I stayed at Dutch Village. Condos are a little out dated. close to the beach. Seems like mostly older people there. No resurants or bar to get food or drinks, big downfall. Within walkin distance to the Tamarijn for the shops and Divi village for the resurant.

Room Tip: Get a 1 bedroom, lots of space for the money. Stay closer to the Tamarijn for easier shuttle service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Address: Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful all-suite resort offers guests over-sized studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens perfect for both couples and families. Amenities include 9-hole golf course and clubhouse, 3 freshwater swimming pools, tennis courts, water sports center, 3 restaurants, fitness center, and complimentary transportation to the Alhambra Casino. A wide, white sand beach is just steps across the street. An all inclusive program is available sharing amenities with the neighboring Divi Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Village Golf And Beach Hotel Oranjestad
Divi Village Hotel And Beach
Divi Village Resort And Beach
Divi Village Aruba
Divi Village Golf And Beach Resort Aruba/Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.