We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed at Divi Village - we LOVE Aruba!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Oranjestad
ct
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Stayed at Divi Village - we LOVE Aruba!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

1st trip to Aruba and we are def. going back! I gave the Divi Village a 4 rating bc there is really no where to eat when you are out by the Divi Golf pool except a cold prepackaged sandwich even the bartender said not to get or a hotdog that was ok. If you want food you have to go up to Mulligan's and wait on their delayed service. However, the food at Mulligan's was very good, with the exception that the turkey club lacked a turkey. Divi Golf pool was great with a swim up bar, water slide and plenty of lounge chairs.

The first day we arrived we were put in a room that was close to the front desk but had a bad mildew odor. Went to the front desk and we were moved to a beautifully updated room a few buildings behind. Our room was on the top floor (3rd) with no elevator so you had to lug your luggage, not a big deal for us but can see the issue for elders.

Hotel compound is across the street from the beach but not a big deal. About a 10 minute walk to the grocery store only issue is if you buy too much then a taxi back is best.

Not really much around the Divi Village and Divi Golf (same resort) which is considered the low rise section but a 3 mile bus or taxi ride into the hi-rise section is nice. Bus is a lil over a $2 pp or $9 taxi ride. Taxi prices are regulated on the island so no surprises there. Hi-rise section is nice, plenty of little hut like shops, great restaurants and bars. Soprano's bar has a piano night. We ate at Gianni's Italian one night. Food was good except the fried calamari. Another night we ate at Daniel's steak house behind Gianni's, both outside which was really nice. Both expensive and gratuity is already included, pay attention to the bill as most restaurants on the island include it but suggest more as they share it amongst the entire staff.

Visited most hotels as its custom to walk through and check out the high-rise resorts. All seemed to be really nice, esp Riu and Hyatt. Radisson was our favorite casino (visited them all, even downtown where Renaissance is). Marriott was a bit of a disappointment from the location to the casino, however, inside hotel area seemed to be nice. Had a few drinks at Senior Frogs, nothing special expect $$$. Not impressed with the shopping on the island at all as it was the normal nick knack souvenirs and they would not negotiate. Jewelry stores were nice but not what we expected compared to other islands, save your $$$. Downtown area (where the cruise ships come in) was busy but closed on the earlier side around 6 except for a few restaurants and the casinos (there were 2). We had lunch at Iguana Joe's and the food was really good as were the drinks - i.e... Lazy Lizard. The Renaissance is located down here and is across from the pier, etc. Shopping is nice (Louis V., Coach, etc.) if you can afford it, but again no real deals that we noticed on the 'flea market' like huts.

Best part of the trip was the ATV attraction we went on. $120 for two ppl on the same quad from Patricio on the main strip area in front of the mall, $95 pp to ride single. We drove to the natural pool, natural bridge, Alto Vista chapel and the ruins. Got to spend time at each, swim in the natural pool if you like and there were refreshment carts at all of the locations, bathroom at the natural bridge for 50 cents.

Island seemed very friendly and safe. We will def. go back and when we do we will try and stay at the Divi Phoenix which is the first hotel at the high rise section.

Room Tip: At Divi Village as for a newer room at Divi Golf, 3rd floor has a hot tub on the roof and a grill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    406
    152
    71
    47
See reviews for
322
459
31
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A great place to stay at while in Aruba. Clean, renovated (most rooms), friendly, great service, golf, pools, wonderful big beach, a variety of great restaurants & bars, almost complete & new gym (dumbbells, not enough free weights). Great "kind of secluded" location. You would need a vehicle or taxi to go around the island to shop for food and stuff. The highrise hotel area has all the shopping, but each hotel has a little crowded beach in front. This resort has a huge private stretch of beach, yes across the little road, but private!
Beware!!! The larger studio and bedroom accommodations will have washer/dryer and dishwasher, but most have not been fully renovated. They tend to look and feel a bit dated inside, but very clean! The smaller studio ones, oceanfront, are renovated & updated to the fullest extend. They are absolutely beautiful, and that's what I got after I simply explained that I was not 100% happy with the dated studio they first offered me.
NOTICE! several upstairs studio units actually offer something very unique. Example: unit 5303 not only has everything I mentioned earlier, but it also has the completer upstairs/rooftop! There you'll have your own 4 person jacuzzi tub, gas grill, and outdoor seating area! Oh the unit has 2 balconies in addition to the rooftop. Mind you, the rooftop has no good view! Also, the noise from the gas golf cars running all day can be annoying! 5303 is next to the area where all the golf cars park.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a fully renovated room. Otherwise you'll get a semi renovated one, but will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the Divi Village Golf in August in an ocean view one bedroom suite. The suite was large and had two modern bathrooms and a kitchen. In addition, there was a roomy balcony where we ate lunch more than once. The view was great! Since it was August, the pools were warmer than I would have liked, but the resort was well kept and if you didn't want to walk, you could hop on one of the ubiquitous golf carts to hitch a ride either to another location within the resort, or to a nearby supermarket. To reach the beautiful white sandy beach, you do have to cross a fairly busy road. There are lounge chairs under some umbrellas at the beach, but there is no service there.
We ate at Mulligans and enjoyed the food.
Overall, we had a great stay with two teenage girls.

Room Tip: For a great ocean view and view of the pool ask for a room in the building with the garden suites. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great bedroom, modern + nicely decorated. Great pool and surrounding gardens with resident iguanas! Good bar at the pool area. Dinner at Mulligans was fantastic and the restaurant has a great view over the golf course to the beach. The white sand beach is across the main road and has plenty of sunbeds, it's just a shame it's across the road! There's a shuttle bus to the supermarket but it's only a 10 minute walk. We had a great breakfast at the Divi hotel on the beachside, more choice than in Divi Village. We also took a taxi to the Divi Phoenix for dinner in their beach restaurant, food was OK but the setting is fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First of all, we were assigned a penthouse for our weeklong stay. We were treated with royalty fromt he time we arrived until the day we left. Towel service was awesome as we required and received tons of towels for each day of our stay. We had 3 restrooms, 2 balconies, a full living room, diningroom and kitchen with a 2 bedroom unit that sleeps about 7 or 8. The weather was beautiful as well as Baby Beach, downtown, the Saturday/Sunday Market Place. I will visit again and very soon! Resorts generally are not that clean because guests are in and out which does not provide staff enough time to complete a thorough cleaning. If you want daily service, you must pay for it.

Room Tip: Request a suite or penthouse and not just a 1 or 2 bedroom. I would request a room on the same side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Our room was newly decorated. It was very nice and well equipped. The place was quiet. The staff is very friendly. However that being said, their follow through on requests was horrible. A small example was the request for extra wash cloths. The house keeper told me she didn't have any extra but would bring them to the room later. We paid for their wireless connection but could not obtain out in our room. We had to go outside across from our room and place the laptop on the top of a garbage can. You will need to either rent a car or take the public bus to get to the hi rise section of the island or downtown. We have been to Aruba a few times before. This resort would not be put first choice.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I had a wonderful time at the Divi Dutch Village. My stay was a timeshare exchange through RCI. It was me and a few of my girl friends. We had a two bedroom villa; it was more like a town home. The unit was nice and clean. The only issue I had is that you had to keep the air at a certain temperature or the gas stove would make a noise. Other than that, I had no issues with the unit. The staff was excellent. We arrived a day late and I called the resort to let them know that and to ensure my room would still be available. The staff was super friendly and understanding. When we arrived, check-in took approx 10 min once I got in the desk. They brought us some juice to drink while we waited. The concierge was there to take us to our room and gave us a tour of the resort during our brief golf cart ride. It was nice.

The grounds were lovely. The staff did an excellent job keeping it clean. The beach was warm and or so beautiful. The bartender's were friendly and made excellent drinks. I just explained the taste I was looking for and they had no problems making something to fit my taste buds.

I did say I stayed in the timeshare resort. Divi has many resorts and since we weren't in an ll inclusive resort, we had to pay for a bike rise (6miles). It was $10 and included snorkeling, the snorkeling gear was $10 as well. I believe if you were in an AI, it would have been free. The Divi Dutch had its own activities going on. They had a BBQ for the guests by the pool. It was fun.

The locals were nice and helpful. In just about ever cab we got in the driver gave us a brief history of the island and told us of all the fun things to do. We went downtown, to the high rise area, and on a De Palm sightseeing tour. The entire experience was just wonderful. Aruba will never fail you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort

Address: Juancho E. Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful all-suite resort offers guests over-sized studio, one- and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens perfect for both couples and families. Amenities include 9-hole golf course and clubhouse, 3 freshwater swimming pools, tennis courts, water sports center, 3 restaurants, fitness center, and complimentary transportation to the Alhambra Casino. A wide, white sand beach is just steps across the street. An all inclusive program is available sharing amenities with the neighboring Divi Resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Village Golf And Beach Hotel Oranjestad
Divi Village Hotel And Beach
Divi Village Resort And Beach
Divi Village Aruba
Divi Village Golf And Beach Resort Aruba/Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Village Golf and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.