We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay; worth every penny!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hidden Eden to your Saves list
Hidden Eden
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bushiri 12, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Oranjestad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pleasant Hill, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay; worth every penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

My friend and I spent four nights at this great little B&B. Roy; his wife, Grace; and their son, were the most hospitable owners! Roy was able to drive us to the beach and occasionally to downtown due to our not having a rental car. The room was relatively big and clean and had an A/C, a fridge, and a sink. Roy was even amenable to people using the kitchen to cook their dinners.

The only downside for us was that, without a rental car, it was hard to get around without having to pay a $9 cab fare to go anywhere. But this wasn't a downside to the B&B, just make sure you have a lot of cab fare, or rent a car.

We had a great time, met great people there, and we highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    18
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
44
10
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I had a wonderful few days staying at Hidden Eden. Roy was super helpful in sorting out my reservation (and was also able to help me with some research I was doing on the island), and when I finally arrived I was delighted at how lovely and peaceful the B&B was. My room was spotless and had cold A/C, a fridge, and a sink. Hidden Eden is not far from the beach or the city centre. Evenings were spent chatting on the plant-lined patio with Grace (Roy was out town when I arrived though he was in contact via email to make sure everything was all right with my stay) and other family members who happened to be visiting. It was one of the most relaxing places I have been in the Caribbean, and I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I chose this B&B based on excellent reviews on this website and I can only agree with everything that has been written here so far. Roy responded very quickly to my inquiry and I was impressed by the excellent service already before my arrival. I have been to many beautiful places incl. Maldives or French Polynesia before so I was not sure what to expect from Aruba, but my expectations were exceeded and I felt being treated like in a five star hotel. The service which you get for the price is really stunning. The place is not situated right on the beach, but you can easily reach the Druif beach and if you continue walking alongside the coast you will see the nicest beaches on Aruba (Manchebo beach, Eagle beach). Once we rented the bikes and went to the Palm beach, but I would say that Eagle or Manchebo are far more nicer. The city of Oranjestad is within walking distance as well. I would absolutely recommend the place to everyone who does not like crowded hotels and wants to enjoy a relaxing stay with the friendliest people ever!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

i travel very often to aruba i always stay in a hotel, but since i found the hidden eden bed and breakfat i dont want to go any hotel in aruba. i highly recommend it. grace, roy and their son and daughter are very warm. the price is very good, i think they have this b.b more for fun than for business. room are very clean, breakfast is also good. thank all of you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I had a great time, the rooms were spacious and clean. The staff was friendly and the owners made the stay very enjoyable. They provided transportation to and from the airport. The breakfast was great, ask for the "Michael Nescafe Coffee Special" , which was probably the best coffee drink one can have in Aruba. The stay here was very affordable and pleasant. Looking to go back one day, hopefully soon.

Room Tip: Ask for the Hidden Eden room with the king size bed and try the "Michael Nescafe Coffee Special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I highly recommend this b&b if you do not stay at an all inclusive resort. Roy is very gracious and will help you out with anything.. from recommendations to a ride somewhere to settling into your room. I definitely would stay here again if I went back to Aruba!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I spent 5 days at Hidden Eden at the end of February. The owner, Roy, and I emailed each other in the weeks prior to my visit. He was happy to answer any questions that I had and offered lots of information about Aruba. Roy provided round trip transportation to and from the airport. Rental cars are expensive, so I relied on taxis to get me around. The ride to/from Palm Beach was less than 10 minutes and $9 each way (for 1 person). Fantastic Gardens is Roy's other business next door and is the best landmark when telling your taxi driver where you're headed. I stayed in one of the brand new rooms which was very large, had 2 twin beds, a safe, VERY cold AC, and was equipped with a mini fridge. My evenings were spent out on the patio with Roy and his family and friends, other guests, and usually a glass of wine. I was even invited to have dinner with them one night. As a solo traveler, I simply couldn't afford to stay at the overpriced resorts. The price here was just right and staying in a residential neighborhood and interacting with locals just added to my Aruba experience. I hope to come to Aruba again in the future, and the only place I would consider staying would be Hidden Eden.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hidden Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Eden

Address: Bushiri 12, Oranjestad, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Eden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful location for those travelers not wanting the hustle of a hotel, located 5 minutes drive from the beach and town. We are next to the Caribbean's most beautiful garden center and a new botanical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hidden Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Eden Aruba/Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.