We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ridiculously romantic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Restaurant

Barefoot Restaurant
L.G. Smith Boulevard 1, Oranjestad, Aruba
(+297) 588 9824
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 158 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Aruba is all about the fabulous beaches during the day, and the many great restaurants at night. It is only logical that these two unique things of Aruba are combined into one! Luc & Gerco found the perfect spot to synergize great food, and a beautiful setting to create an experience almost unique on our island. When listening to the ocean caressing the shore, while wiggling your toes through the pearly white sand, why not let yourself be pampered by a gourmet dinner? Chef Gerco & Maitre d' Luc had a shared dream of opening up a restaurant here, but wanted something in line with what they enjoy on Aruba: the nearly perfect climate, the possibility to always be outside, the tropical feel... When opening their restaurant, they had these ideas in their heads, and it worked like a charm! Tables under a large palapa on a wooden deck with a view of the ocean, or outside under the Aruban nights sky, on the pristine beach... An original menu was created by Gerco and Justin, with some of the old school favorites (sirloin with bearnaise, or tuna steak with teriyaki) as well as some original dishes not found anywhere, with unique combinations (smoked salmon & shrimp, grouper & mango or leg & rack of lamb) and wonderful vegetarian dishes. With the help of the local wine suppliers, Luc made an extensive wine list, with wines from all over the world, and is always ready to pair a wine with your dinner. The experienced service team is friendly yet professional, ready to wow you from the moment you walk in, to make a fabulous evening into a great memory on Aruba!
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ridiculously romantic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

It doesn't get more romantic than Barefoot. If you want to (pretty much) guarantee on the beach seating, make your reservation early in the evening. They know people are there for sunset so no one rushes you anyways. Sunset was absolutely gorgeous, and the wait staff are expert photographers!

The food was just as tasty as the atmosphere was romantic. The scallops app with vanilla bean skewers was so original and great tasting! We both ate fish and thought it was great. I REALLY enjoyed the banana-misu (combined two of my favorite things).

Tip: make reservations right when you arrive. They book up and may be closed if there's a festival in the park next door. Even if you don't go for dinner, stop by for a drink!

Double tip: if you want the romantic sunset but really don't want to eat at the restaurant, all of Aruba's beaches are public. A taxi can drop you off at the park and you can walk along/sit on the beach for sunset. There were several people swimming at dusk while we were there.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    993
    272
    78
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Truly Special Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Having spent 34 years visiting Aruba, I can say that our evening at Barefoot during our stay in February was one of the best. The location on the water, the sunset, the drinks and food, but most especially the warm welcome of the manager and staff made the experience memorable. I recommend dinner there highly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantiville, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“True to its name”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Go in flip flops and get there just before sunset for a remarkable culinary experience and superb waterfront dining. One of my favorite restaurants on Aruba!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westboro, MA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“On the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Last year we sat right next to the water but it was so windy we decided to sit indoors which is really outdoors under a huge palapa. The wait staff runs around making sure the service is perfect. The food was just as good as last year and the cocktails were huge. The grouper romano had two filets covered with cheese over linguini with tomato sauce, olives and capers. My wife's grouper with cream cheese mango sauce was light and delicious. Even though we were not on the beach we could see beautiful sailboats at anchor with lights on their masts. We can't wait to go back next year.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic views and excellent food and problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We dined during the beautiful sunset and enjoyed the lights of downtown- especially the cruise ship. The restaurant is off a dirt road right on the water. You can dine outside on the beach or under a huge palapa. A truly beautiful setting.

The food is prepared nicely and tasty. They have a 3 course prix fix - I believe $44. Very limited choices but delicious. The overall menu is extensive and not outrageously priced given the view and venue.

The service is ok. Right at the beginning, as the water was being poured I asked for lemon or lime. Five minutes pass, the server comes and goes and no lemon or lime. After another 5 minutes I asked the same server once more and she realized she forgot and brought it. BTW- this happens about 75% of the time. No excuse for this. The food was served at a good pace. No rush. The house wine we had, Malbec, was tasty and was amazingly only about $7.00.
We had an incident with dessert that was inexcusable but after speaking with three servers, the manager came over and rectified the situation. Should have never happened. The glass bowl was cracked and had a big chip that may have been in the dessert. It was quite visible but it appears that the person who put the dessert in the dish and the server never saw it or didn't think it would be a problem. It was. Very sloppy and negligent. Could have been a serious problem. When bought to the attention of the server, she simply said she would replace it. No sense of apology. The maître de (I believe) came by by chance to ask how our dinner was and we mentioned the broken dish and got an apology. The manager was making his rounds and we brought it his attention and he was sincerely apologetic and told us he would remove the cost of that desert from the bill. I believe should have offered after dinner drinks or remove cost of both deserts. Serving a food item in broken and chipped blow is a very serious slip of quality or judgement.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barefoot Restaurant also viewed

 
Oranjestad, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 

Been to Barefoot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.