We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talk of the Town=Walk to the Town!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   L.G. Smith Boulevard #2, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Oranjestad
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Talk of the Town=Walk to the Town!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel, built in 1943, is the oldest on the island, and it shows. The ambiance is very WW2, but it is clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. It is VERY close to the airport and you can hear every take-off and landing. Takes a long time for food you order to be ready. Drinks are good. Breakfast buffet is good, but simple. It is a 15-20 min hot walk to town, though a taxi is $9 and traffic can be heavy. There are good restaurants across the street, right on a lovely beach. Our room was clean, but, the bathroom was old fashioned and had black mold on the walls.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, ask for one of the newer section rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    38
    18
    5
    12
See reviews for
27
29
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This hotel is located very close to the airport, very convenient. The beach is across the street, it is small but nice and belongs to a club. There are nice sidewalks under construction parallel to the beach if you like to exercise.
To get downtown where the restaurants and shops are, it is a 15 minute walk.
We stayed there 2 nights. It was very noisy and dusty due to renovations. The pool was not usable due to renovation.
We had booked through Expedia and they could not find our reservation. It took a good 15 minutes of waiting until they were able to check us in. That particular receptionist was very serious, you could not get a smile out of her. Our room had no lamp at the night table, the ceiling fan was not working, the clock at the night table had no plug, just the wires hanging. We also requested hand towels (there were only 2 bath towels) She told us it was going to be taken care of, but the next day, when we returned, everything was the same.
Other receptionists were very friendly.
Had breakfast which was a good deal considering the prices of food in Aruba.
There was an ironing board but no iron.
At least it was clean and it is a good deal price wise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

For my Grandson's graduation from college he planned for 4 years to go with his Grandma to Aruba. I made that promise and kept it. We had the greatest expierence at Talk of the Town. The staff is so unbelievably friendly. He took his girlfriend, and I took my daughter. They were all amazed at the giant olympic size pool. They loved the breakfasts because there was so much to choose from. They could start out the day with full stomachs after a long night. The security was great because everyone got to know who you were and that you belonged. Hotel is walking distance to town and has an excellent water front walk where we exercised every morning early. Beach is accross the street, clean and Sundays has entertainment. Our rooms were cleanded everyday by such trustworthy staff. If you needed anything you just asked and they get it for you. If you left something by the pool it was picked up and put by your door. Great happy hour, the bartender Eteem, was most helpful and we enjoyed all the fancy drinks he suggested and he made to perfection. The entire staff was involved in making our vacation a memerable one. They were helpful taking pictures of us and listentening to our fun evenings. They catered to everyone! Such a friendly, family atmosphere. Another Excellent vacation! Fun for all ages!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I spent one night at this hotel since it is the closest hotel to airpot. I was in transit to Venezuela and had to spent on night in Aruba. Most of hotels are in the Noord and Palm Beach areas, or in Orangestaad downtown. This hotel is a very good choice, since location is very close to airport but far away from the hotel zone.

Hotel is a well maintained infrastructure, and offer a very familiar and cozy experience. Personnel is very friendly. Ladies at reception and boys at the bar are very polite. There is good food at restaurant and also an ATM at the main lobby.

PROs
Close to airport
Clean and comfortable
Very familiar and recommended for families with children
Good food

CONs
Price is higher if compared with other hotels with better infrastructure and services
Far away from the hotel zone and downtown
Food options are few ones

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Porte, Texas
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed here i think three times on business it almost in the middle of the island on the main road real close to the airport breakfast was great the Apartments were not as nice as the rooms but if you want a good place to stay lots of nice counter help parking a little tight but fun place to stay you wont get board here I had One small complaint or suggestion dont use the outside service to do the laundry other than that i will stay here again and enjoy every minute of it.

Room Tip: for quiter room dont get on east side by apts very load traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I was concerned after reading so many bad reviews, but we needed to stay over the night to catch a plane back to the U.S. the next day.
We were shown to a large clean room with 2 double beds. The bath was clean. The air conditioner worked well. The sandwiches at the restaurant were delicious. I would certainly stay here again gladly and I do need a clean room with a working air conditioner.
The room was clearly renovated so if there are still non-renovated rooms, request a renovated room and you will be very pleased.
The breakfast buffet did not have the sausages all you reviews spoke about, but was tasty with date beard and cream cheese.
One note- the bar and LOVELY pool area are in the center of the hotel. The music is LOUD and not turned down until 11pm. If you are not a partier and want to get up to dive early, this could be a deal-breaker. Also, bed is VERY hard with flat pillows. Some people may like this but it was too hard for me.

Room Tip: I do not see the problems mentioned in other reviews. I stayed in a clean renovated room and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazar-i-Sharif, Afghanistan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

reasonably priced hotel. friendly staff. nice pool. located near a nice beach.
Cuisine is really bad, so do not dine here.
Breakfast is pretty much inedible.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club

Address: L.G. Smith Boulevard #2, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talk Of The Town Hotel And Beach Club
Talk Of The Town Hotel & Beach Club Aruba/Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talk of the Town Hotel & Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.