We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Dutch Village Resort

Save Saved
You added Divi Dutch Village Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Divi Dutch Village Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   JE Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 hotels in Oranjestad
Muncie, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Love Aruba. Nice beaches, warm breeze. But the Divi Dutch Village was not A good experience. The only thing we liked was housekeeping. She was very nice and helpful. The rooms was in need of updates. The pool was nice. The staff was very unfriendly. The old timers(people who has timeshares for 20+ years) was unfriendly as well. We felt very out of place. An unwanted guest. But it was just my fiance and I Staying, I would never bring the whole family down. There are green towels you are suppose to receive at check-in. For security purposes i guess. But we did not know anything about them. So first day on beach we took our own towels. And then to the pool we go. But was defiantly not supposed to be there. We then learned about the towels. We stood by A shuttle stop and watched the shuttles(golf carts) just pass us right up. The first night there we actually starved. Didn't know where to go. We then rented A car the next day and started exploring our self's. It just did not feel like we belonged at all. We was not in the timeshare click or the all-inclusive click. We was offered A tour of Divi as we went to the flea market down the road. Even A supervisor from Divi came and met with us there. Scheduled the tour the next day. So we went to lobby. Know one new of us or about any tour. So they set us down to fill out this paper work and even then felt un-excepted by the staff. The gift wasn't A big deal. It was only $100. As they told us since we are staying at the Divi Dutch then we didn't qualify for that. But we already spent $3000 on room. We were really interested(at first) on getting A timeshare. But not at the Divi now. We checked in to others. We did check out the Mariot. The Divi will not get another dollar from our family or friends. They need to work on there people skills. Oh yea, I didn't mention I hardly slept there. The beds are very old and hard. Our air was pouring water from it and then supposedly been fixed. But next night poured on our suitcase. Looked like it was an ongoing problem. The wall was water damaged and peeling the plaster away. All and all VERY RUDE PEOPLE.... We stayed there January 12th through the 20th 2013 our room number was 66. My name is Brian Skidmore And Maryellen Evans.

Room Tip: Not at the DIVI
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    102
    50
    30
    15
See reviews for
79
112
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Aruba - fantastic place - beach was the best I've ever seen. great taking a dip in the company of pelicans.

Sun - I know people tell you its strong, but it really is - even if your a sun worshiper take some high factors and work your way down.

If your visiting the island, my first recommendation would be to hire a car. The roads are good and allowances are made for tourist, it will give you much more freedom and a break from sunbathing.

Accommodation-we had a one bedroom apartment, it was large but dated. Bathroom etc a bit worn and tired,, wires hanging from the ceiling as it work had be left half completed. Slight gap under the door mean we got the occasional lizard visitor.

Food - we were all inclusive -everyone likes different things - so some nights we really enjoyed it, others we didn't really fancy anything. We did go to the Divi but felt it wasn't much different. My partner loved the tepanyaki, however I wasn't so sure when I saw the food on trolleys being brush past and catching on clothes etc. We ate out a few times in the high rise area and enjoyed it.

The one thing that spoiled our stay in the apartments was...... the Americans, some were lovely, others saw you as an intruder. They camped out around the pools, moaning about kids using the pools when they weren't eligible too. Most of this group talked about how they had been coming for many years and had good deals on the timeshare with management wanted them out, due to great out of date contracts. The down side as I've said is they have built up a community and you are definitely seen as an outsider. We gave an iguana a banana one day and left some bread our for two beautiful love birds that visited our patio, only to receive a visit from security as out American neighbours had made a complaint.

If your staying here its not worth paying the extra for the apartment, go for the hotel rooms and get the fabulous see view. The Divi is a lot more plush but also more expensive.I think if we went again we would probably go to the Riu as there is a bit more going on.

I'm not anti American, far from it I havelots of American friends, but there were a lot of load brash americans in the bars getting very drunk (most of the day) - at the Divi it tended to be a bit more refined.

Given that this holiday costs us £4500 for two people I did have a slightly higher expectation of the accommodation.

Aruba - an amazing place and worth a visit - hotel great but don't bother with an apartment.

Room Tip: Hire a car, check out the fountain show, the shops in the capital are usually more expensive than at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I spent a week here in a one-bedroom corner unit. The balcony, because it was a corner unit, was spacious and private. The unit we were in could use some updating and some serious re-grouting in the bedroom and bathroom. The unit was kept very clean, however, and had daily towel and trash service--something not offered at many condo resorts. On Wednesday, a full cleaning service was offered with a change of bed linens--again, something not always customary at other condo resorts. The grounds were kept very well groomed and the pool and hot tub were maintained each day. The staff was consistently friendly and always willing to help. The check-in for this resort is located in the Divi Golf Resort on the other side of the road. There was no signage to indicate this so we ended up needing to consult a security worker on the premises. Our frustration at finding the check-in was tempered when we were offered a glass of rum punch in the lobby. We also experienced some confusion during our stay since some of the resorts are all-inclusive and some, like the Divi Dutch, are not. It is not at all clear which restaurants are part of the all-inclusive plan and which are open to anyone. We discovered, by trial and error, which restaurants were available to us. In typical Caribbean fashion, there were many rules to follow but nowhere were the rules indicated. We ended up having many good laughs over these rules throughout the week and just learned to roll with the punches. The next time around, we will know how to navigate ourselves through the system--if the rules don't change! The beaches are beautiful here and well worth the minor inconveniences that we experienced.

Room Tip: Choose a corner unit, if possible, since this gives you a bit of privacy, a larger balcony, and more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This review is actually for the Divi Dutch Village, not any of the sister resorts, as some other reviews have mistakenly posted here instead.

Travelled here the last week of November 2012, with 4 adults.

ROOMS
Rooms are tired and dated, but are kept very clean by staff. Compared to the other Divi properties on Aruba, this one is the oldest and least “pretty”. We stayed in a two bedroom unit, which has the two bedrooms each with ensuite bathrooms upstairs, and the living room, kitchen, and third bathroom downstairs on the main floor. A town-house style of accommodation, which was a really nice layout. The balcony door was broken and hard to slide, but it still worked. The fact that the 12 ft+ balcony door slid all the way open was awesome, it opened up the entire room. It rained quite a bit while we were in Aruba, but not to ruin our vacation. Due to the rain, we had a leak in the ceiling, right beside a light fixture. The water was literally dripping out of the fixture itself. All they did was fold a towel and put it on the floor underneath the drip. Overall, the rooms are nothing to get excited about, but they did the trick.

GROUNDS
Very well kept grounds. Pools are nice. There are a ton of iguanas and other lizards around the pools. Some of them are quite friendly and will let you scratch their heads. They love lettuce and cabbage.

LOCATION
Good location, with an amazing beach. You can walk for miles on the white sand beach, from one hotel to another. Never a shortage of chairs while we were there. No need to “save” your chair with a towel at 7am. OK snorkeling off the beach, but nothing spectacular. The hotel is within walking distance to a grocery store, or a short drive to the bigger brand new grocery store which makes it easier for stocking up for the week. The bus stop is right outside the hotel too, so if you don’t rent a car, this is an easy way to get around the island.

Aruba is very “Americanized”. Not as quaint and unique as other islands we’ve been to, but it’s still a lovely island.

FOOD / DRINK
Since we stayed here as a time share, we were not All Inclusive. We ate at the buffet restaurant at the Divi Tamarijn next door one evening (paying $30 per person), and it was a severe disappointment. We specifically picked the night to go based on the pre-determined menu, and when we arrived to eat, half the things that were supposed to be on the menu were not. The host blamed it on the chef calling in sick. It was a really gross dinner. The pizza / snack bar also at the Tamarijn was nothing special either. I wouldn’t recommend the food at the Divi properties, based on what we tried while we were here. 

The absolute best meal of the week was at Aqua Grill seafood restaurant. It was amazing. We’re still talking about it. Highly recommended. http://www.aqua-grill.com/

Busters Garage Sports Bar was a good spot for watching sports, and the casino inside was small but we actually won big here.

Casa Tua - A little Italian place in Palm Beach and Oranjestad had amazing pizzas, risotta, pasta, you name it. It’s a chain with restaurants around the island. Also highly recommended.

STAFF
Friendly, but not overtly so. No one went above and beyond, but really no complaints either.

ACTIVITIES
Absolutely no night entertainment, or daily activities. It's a fairly quiet resort, which was just fine with us. Next door at the Tamarijn was a little more lively, but not huge either. Down the beach a ways more was the Divi Aruba, and they had a nice live band and what seemed to be some really nice restaurants.

Rent a car; you won't be disappointed. This island has so much to offer.

Arikok National Park; make sure you wear good footwear. There’s tons of little cacti which are like razor blades in the park. There are some amazing caves on the far side of the park. Either rent a Jeep or get ATV/4x4 vehicles for this trip. Not for small vehicles. Oh, and there are no bathrooms.
Arashi Beach (north west tip); a great snorkeling spot
Palm Beach; shopping, restaurants, casinos
Oranjestad; shopping, restaurants

OTHER HOTELS
The Riu was amazing. Go check it out, even just to look around or check out their casino.

The Divi Aruba Phoenix was also really nice with amazing pools. We tried to book here in the first place, but it was completely booked up.

OVERALL
I wouldn’t stay at the Divi Dutch Village again, but I would definitely go back to Aruba. An amazing island.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed 12 days at Dutch Village. The studio room was near the end, 2nd floor. Clean, with small kitchen, balcony. Not new, but still in good shape. Room service was good but sometimes late. Great beach, and yes, if you want one of the huts you should reserve before 8 AM.

I would recommend a car, if you want to see more than the beach and the resort restaurants. Traffic can be terrible, though. Grocery shopping is possible without car with a 5 min walk.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floor rooms have a bit of ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We got a deal on one of these rooms and they upgraded us to a larger room when we got there for free! The beach is beautiful. The room was very nice. The shuttle system worked great for us to get around the large resort.

We didn't do all-inclusive, but there was a grocery story right across from the Dutch Village, which we got all our beer and lunch food from. We ate dinner at the Promenade across the street as well. Very good. W

We also enjoyed the Tamarijn entertainment, which is right beside the Dutch Village.

Room Tip: We were in 95, which was very close to a pool and the bunker bar. Look on their website for a map, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boardman
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We booked a week at Divi Dutch in December.The rooms are spacious and clean and a few
steps from a beautiful beach.The beaches in Aruba are absolutely beautiful.
The Divi Dutch is a great play to stay if you like to have a beach vacation.
We traveled a lot to different Caribbean islands but Aruba has no Caribbean/Latin vibe.
It's to americanized , expensive , and we met some arrogant Arubans complaining about
Curacao.

We traveled many times to sister island Curacao and this beautiful island has so much more to offer than Aruba
Friendly locals,
Historic buildings
Willemstad with their authentic colorful houses
Excellent restaurants
Beautiful Bays
Great for snorkeling
Much more things to do than only casinos.

Curacao = Latin = Carribean = Pure.
More relaxation

We were very disappointed in Aruba and next time we go back to Curacao ,Bonaire or St croix


Overall the stay at Divi Dutch was pretty good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Divi Dutch Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Dutch Village Resort

Also Known As:
Divi Dutch Village Hotel Oranjestad
Divi Dutch Village Hotel
Divi Dutch Village Oranjestad
Divi Dutch Village Aruba
Dutch Village Aruba
Divi Dutch Village
Divi Dutch Village Resort Aruba/Oranjestad
Address: JE Irausquin Blvd 93, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Divi Dutch Village Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Divi Dutch Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Dutch Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.