We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first trip to Aruba” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive to your Saves list
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd #41 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oranjestad
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our first trip to Aruba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I went on our Honeymoon here in Aug 2013 and we will most likely be back! I researched over 20 different islands and locations and landed on the Tamarijn; we weren't disappointed.

Our loves: The location….Beautiful beach. Every single room is on the beach. Real all inclusiveness (towels, cabanas, snorkeling gear, sunfish sailboats, kayaks, pool floats, bikes and food and drink), Entertainment every night, Friendly friendly staff, daily activities (swim aerobics, pool volleyball, bingo, gym, Zumba, climbing wall)

The low parts of our stay- getting up early to make sure we could actually have access to all the free stuff (we are not early birds), empty dirty glasses left everywhere all along the common areas and not cleaned up until late in the day, the shower in our bedroom ENTIRELY soaked the entire bathroom b/c the shower floor was flush w/ bathroom floor and the glass didn't shield the water enough, and then the overall caliber of the food (it was sort of jack-of-all trade master of none scenario. Nothing was BAD, but nothing was great either at Tamarjin. The best place we ate was the Red Parrot at the Divi). Lastly, internet was pretty poor quality (which probably is a good thing b/c its better to be present while you are there).

All in all we really enjoyed ourselves. This is def. not a 4 star resort but it never claimed to be. It is a perfectly comfortable fun friendly place with lots of great things going on. We were never bored. We never felt like anyone was rude or even short with us. We met lots of really nice people from all over the world. And in addition to the free activities, they were able to hook us up with outside paid vendors as well, right there in the lobby area.

As newlyweds, we took advantage of the Aruban "one happy honeymoon" package which included a bottle of champagne, free dinner on the beach down the beach at another Divi Resort, free tshirts and free champagne flutes.

We loved our time in Aruba, we want to bring family back with us next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    988
    263
    116
    61
See reviews for
686
1,112
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (659)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maple, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The hotel is clean. The staff is friendly and courteous. The rooms are small but they do the job. Request bottom floor over 2nd floor is you don't want to walk up stairs going back and forth to the room. On the bottom floor rooms at night the security routinely checks that your sliding door is locked.

The BEACH needs some TLC........ they need to do a better job of keeping the beautiful sand clean from debris such as seaweed, cigarette butts, straws and cups that people leave by the palapas. I found this to be a big turn off and I think it should be addressed immediately by the hotel.

The food and nightlife was good. Divi Buffet dinner and atmosphere was better than Tamarijn . But not to say Tamarijn was bad but Divi was just nicer and seemed fresher and more selection.

Overall for our first time in Aruba we enjoyed our stay. Everyone has their own opinions and advice and I think its good to read reviews but ultimately you will have to go make your own decision while you are there. If you ask if i would go back to Aruba the answer is YES .

Room Tip: Stay near 1400 to 1700 block if possible to be close to restaurant and lobby. If you want quiet go t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We (two seniors) enjoyed a beautiful all-inclusive holiday at this hotel (Tamarijn) in March 2014
It was our first time to Aruba and we found that many people return many times.
The climate is wonderful--it never seems to rain and the high temperatures are mitigated by the trade winds which blow constantly.
All the rooms are right on the beach which is perfect with lovely white sand and calm water--(Try to book one close to the main lobby).
There is one very nice pool about 75 ft long
The service was excellent and the restaurants good
There is a very good bus service into the capital Oranjestad about one mile away.
The hotel is quiet at night
Guests are also welcome at the affiliated hotel next door--the Divi
There is not a lot to see in the island as it is quite small but tours and rental cars are available
We will not hesitate to return

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Based on other reviews, we had asked for a first floor room in the 1700 or 1800 buildings. Those were unfortunately booked and we received a room in the 1600 building, 1601 to be precise. The room itself was pretty standard, but unfortunately it is right next to a service road, and every morning there was a truck backing up around 6 AM. Even though this woke us up, on the plus side I was then able to go out and grab a couple chairs to reserve a palampa hut on the beach -- the chairs are typically unchained each morning around 6:15 AM, plus or minus a few. Since we were on the first floor, towards the end of our stay I just started taking a couple back to our patio in the evening so I wouldn't have to wait for them to be unlocked in the morning. Also, with respect to the overflowing shower, our shower did have a door with a stopper installed and it looked like this was in process for the rest of the rooms as well. That said, we still had an issue our first shower, but I think that was more due to the drain than anything else.

With regard to the food, we thought the Divi's buffets were a bit better in quality, variety and presentation. That said, there was nothing really outstanding in either one. The Red Parrot was good food, but the best we had was actually at the Sandpiper bar -- that gal can cook! The Palm Grill was also a fun experience, and our food actually ended up pretty tasty as well. We also had a bad experience at Ginger; the service was very, very poor.

Service at the various bars was generally quite good, but the liquor selection was somewhat limited; for example, the only scotch available was Dewar's white label. The drinks were all strong, though, as one would expect at an all-inclusive. Several people had their own mugs that the bartenders would make drinks to fill, or fill with beer.

The nightly entertainment was overall better than average. One handy tip: turn the lounge chairs next to the performance around; good view and few people think to do it.

The beaches at the resort were excellent, cool white sand and chairs always available, though the palampas were often full. We never had a problem getting floats to go on in the ocean and those were a lot of fun to ride the waves.

Room Tip: Probably avoid the 1500 and 1600 buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Not so sure about the great reviews above.

We ordered an airport transfer - they forgot us at the airport - after a 14 hour trip - not a great start.

Food was 'meh'! Drinks were good and beach is nice.

There are better places to try out.

Sam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I will try to keep the review short. if you have any specific questions, do not hesitate to contact me directly.
We arrived to the hotel around 12ish so our room wasn't available, which is not a problem since you have full access to the resort amenities once they put on that beautiful wrist band.
We had requested a king size bed, but only available king was a 2nd floor room so we took a double bed room as we wanted a room walk out to the beach.
All the rooms in Tamarijn are ocean view, only option is ground level where you must keep your back door closed when sleeping/not in the room or 2nd level where you can leave it open to hear ocean waves at night. Overall the entire property does show some wear and tear, but its well maintained. Rooms do feel dated and tiny but sufficient, equipped with updated bathrooms, small flat screen TV, and comfortable bedding.
There is a mini fridge in the room but is not stocked.
Food were fresh and you do have variety & options. Overall above average considering it is an all-inclusive resort.
We ate at a la carte restaurants (reservations required) all nights except the last where we tried the buffet at both of the resorts.
We ate at Palm Grill twice.
Breakfast at the buffet restaurant is just perfect with everything breakfast you can think of.
We had lunch at the Pizza Per Tutti place.....must try is the chicken nuggets - more like chicken strips.
I would rate Palm Grill was #1, Ginger #2, Buffet restaurants # 3, Red Parrot # 4, and Paparazzi is pretentious waste of space like those fake "Italians" roaming the Jersey shore.
There is no swim up bar at Tamarijn. Divi might have...I am not sure.
Guests staying at Tamarijn have access to some amenities at Divi which is a short 5 mins walk on the beach or sidewalk or 2 min golf card shuttle away.
Cleaning lady could do a better job. We confirmed that they do not change sheets every day. If you want towels changed, just put them on the floor.
Beach towels are worn out and have a not very noticeable pungent smell. Need to be replaced soon.
Bars do not skimp on alcohol when making drinks and you do not need to tip them for that. Tips are very appreciated by the workers but not expected.
They pool the tips which is a good sign.
The fact that bars do not water down drinks like you would expect in an all-inclusive is good for some people and bad for others...if you don't take it slow, after 2 or 3 drinks you will be drunk.
Do the right thing and do not drink Miller, Corona, Chill...all of which are available ..you get that everywhere. Drink the local beer "Balashi" which is brewed on the Island and help the local economy.
Balashi is a great beer available in light and regular, taste similar to Heineken...
Resort workers are hardworking, pleasant, efficient and simply wonderful people. Talk to them with respect and you will be treated with respect and courtesy. .
The constant trade wind keep you cool and comfortable but do not be fooled & forget to put on sunscreen protection, if you do you will regret it.
Buy souvenirs from resort stores if you do - they are priced better. We priced on a few things and noticed the vendors who come to sell as well as the vendors in Downtown Aruba have higher prices.
Resort adds $1 I think per night automatically to the bill for YMCA...which I thought was a bit forceful...wouldn't it be better to ask during check out instead of making me feel bad into paying?
Another small complaint is the safe deposit box: its an actual key which is not convenient and they charge $2 per night for using it. Safe deposit box should be free and they should be digital like everywhere else!
Over all Resort condition: 4 stars
Check in Check out: 4 stars - check in could be expedited.
Room: 3 starts
Food 3 ½ stars
Bar Drinks 5 stars
Beach 4 stars - only reason I deducted 1 star because the beach was unreasonably rocky and was rough due to high wind.
Will we return? Absolutely. If we can afford, maybe every year... preferably the same room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

My wife and I went there for our 20th anniversary and had a great time . We stayed in the 1400 block and loved it . The 1400 block is right next to all of the action and it was nice to be able to pop back to our room without a long walk . The food and drinks were excellent . My favorite was the Red parrot and my wife liked the Paparazzi. While we were there we went up to the high rise hotels and for us we liked it at the Tam so much better. The beaches weren't so crowded and it just felt more laid back. We took the bikes into town a couple of times it was like a 10 minute ride and was able to book a couple of excursions right at the front desk. We loved it so we are planning on going back next year but with the kids this time.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms in the 1400 to 1600 block if you want to be a little more private go for somethi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd #41 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#2 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Hotel Oranjestad
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Hotel
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Resort
Hotel Tamarijn
Aruba Tamarijn
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.