We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wham tam thank you mam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive

Save Saved
You added Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd #41 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Oranjestad
manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wham tam thank you mam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here with my mrs and 2 kids for two weeks towards the end of may. Had a great time, stayed in room 1804, small bit away from the restaurants but not a problem at all. The beach is gorgeous, watch out for the little spikey things near the rocks. The staff are alright, some people moan on here, but i prefer them not being completely stuck up your ring piece, as long as they ain't ignorant. The front desk staff were always excellent. Joan, who serves in the buffet area in the mornings and afternoons was always very polite and warm, even without the tips. Had the kids so didn't take advantage of the alhambra casino which is a short golf cart ride from the hotel. If you have kids, id stay here rather than the divi, the divi is nicer, but i would say the tams better for kids. I ate at paparazzi and thought it was crap, id rather eat at the buffet. Evening entertainment so so but this didnt bother me. We relaxed and enjoyed the weather the beach, lovely!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    825
    916
    238
    103
    56
See reviews for
637
1012
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

we have been to many resorts in the Caribe . loved this place. stay clear of diamonds international on the divi resort. they will sell you fake costume jewelry.found out the hard way.every thing else was great.try the shipwreck submarine excursion

Room Tip: 1500 block 2nd floor was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is dirty. We switched to the divi the day after we reached. No extra charge! The rooms are so small! And the showers have no doors! The entire bathroom gets wet! Yuck! The pool area is old and need some tlc!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

arrived home this morning very tired after a fab 2 weeks staying at the tamarijn.We visited 2 years ago for the same dates and found it to be even better this time.The staff couldnt be more helpful especially marcilino and elvis in the main diner.I wonder that if the people who find the staff unhelpful maybe dont treat them with respect,use manners or maybe dont understand the Arubian ways.These people work very hard and if you take time to smile,talk to them and not at them they are wonderful.A little papiemento chat helps and as most countries we visit the locals really appreciate your effort.
Trips were great fun and the fishing trip on the Thaisa boat highly recommended.
Ponderosa horse riding again a lovely ride but i also rate rancho notorious.
Please do not be put off by any negative reviews if you havnt been yet ...you will love this hotel.
I am happy to advise on any issues

Room Tip: we stayed in room 1403 for the 2nd time-its close to diner,coffee machines and bars...there are iron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Spent a fantastic 2 weeks at the Tamarijn Aruba on an All Inclusive basis. After our 9.5hr flight from Gatwick, London we were swiftly transfered to the hotel and what was great is being checked-in on the coach including wrist bands and plenty of resort info. When we arrived we went straight to the bar for a drink as our cases were already dealt with and being delivered to our room.

The rooms were big enough for the two of us with great beach views (all the rooms are on the beach) - my only complaint is that the safe is too small and key operated - a pain to carry a key around unlike the digital coded ones and only really big enough for your documents/money/jewelery etc. - other than that really happy with room and always kept spotless by the daily maid visits.

I thought the food was great at all restaurants - the buffet for breakfast was superb, I'm a little fussy but always found plenty to eat and drink. The buffet for lunch was the same. For dinner if you choose the buffet they have different themes each night, Italian, Mexican, Caribean etc and again I always found plenty to eat.

You can also pre-book meals at their restaurants - Asian Fusion, Italian and the Red Parrot down the road at the sister site The Divi - all of these, espeicially the Asian superb.

As for drinks - no complaints at all, Okay, outside they are served in strong plastic cups but better that than broken glass everywhere - all brands available and most bar tenders were great especially the younger crew - the older guys came across a little miserable at times but no big deal really. Talking of miserable the front desk girls were the same at times but I always booked my reservations without problems it's just they never greeted you, said hello, said goodbye etc and were more engrossed in the mobile phones and texts - I know the job can be a little repeatative at times but it costs nothing to smile girls!!

Beach was great - no problem for us getting sun beds always plenty around (no getting up at the crack of dawn and putting towels on them!).

Superb weather, as always - this is out 5th trip to Aruba having also stayed at The Amsterdam Manor and The Westin but Thomson/First Choice no longer list these hotels which is why we decided on the Tamarijn and I believe a great choice.

I have read previous reviews on here that the evening entertainment wasn't much good - I beg to differ - there was something every night from dance groups, live bands, karaoke, dance schools, s surprising good circus act, Arubian dancing, Sax players, Disco - something for everyone really - again you can also visit the sister hotel The Divi for more of the same.

Aruba is a great place to chill-out - if you are a beach lover it's the place for you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went to the Tamarijn for our 40the anniversary. Food was very good. We particularly liked the self grilling restaurant. They initially booked us at the end of the resort room 2415 which was way too far from everything. After I spoke to the night manager we were moved the next morning to 1915. THis was much better.

Internet access is slow, weak and too expensive. Connections kept getting dropped. For what you pay here Internet should be free and better. Price was about $10 per night. THe Internet cafe has good equipment and works well but costs something ridiculous like $40 and hour.

As everyone says the beach and access are the best parts. You will find areas of good sand access but I would recommend water shoes because there are alot of rocks and coral. The current is steady and wind always blowing 10-25 mph.

Snorkeling was excellent if your expectations are correct. You can wade into 4-5 feet of water and then let the current drift you down the beach. I saw 50 varieties of fish within 50 yards of shore. Because it is so close the fish are small. It is almost a nursery area. On other beaches I saw these fishes parentsThe largest fish I saw was a 6" clown fish but tremendous colors and varieties of fish in the 1 to 5" category.

The room was adequate and well maintained pools were nice. Overall a good but not great facility.

Room Tip: Get a room umbered in the 1900 series or lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

At the outset, I would say that overall this property is amazing because of its location to the beach. Each room is immediately on the beach, steps away from the water (either through a sliding door or second floor deck with stairs down). The water is only separated by clean and beautiful sand, with rarely anyone around. This makes the resort an amazing value and recommendable alone. At the furthest point left, outside the newer beach bar, if you step out and snorkel you can see fish that are big and interesting.

In addition to the ocean, I would add that the food was adequate, and despite eating out dinner every night, we still saved money by having an adequate fresh breakfast, lunch and snack options, along with drinks. I also really appreciated the generous booze, multiple bars included in the all-inclusive package along the beach. The bartenders do take $1, and I would bring some and ask for stronger drinks. There are fun game options for the young at heart (large chess, full size shuffle board, pool, ping pong, and arcade room).

That said, I was unprepared for several things. First, the service at the front desk and "concierge" was unacceptable. We were told completely false information on multiple occasions - i.e., there was no snorkeling equipment (which the resort provides free to the back and right of the property), we were told we needed to walk 10 minutes on street given an unexpected closing of the main store (there is a second store near the snorkeling equipment with a great selection of sun tan lotion just steps away from the front desk). The front desk does not answer the phone. The demeanor of both the concierge and the front desk is unhelpful, annoyed, and uneducated. My thought is that because it appears that most people who go to the resort have been there before, the front desk just doesn't get questions about normal things (i.e., where is my room, can I get a cab, how does the towel service work, etc).

I would also be ready for an old room. The floor was dirty with sand when we checked in (which eventually got better with later cleanings). The room itself is older, the shower runs out of hot water, and the safe is archaic (it is under the sink by the way, no one will tell you that). The pool is filled with children and crowded / not clean. But with an ocean like they have, I did not care.

All that said, I hope to go back to the property next year. It is so much fun. I would just be prepared to ask others for information other than the front desk / concierge (try the bar tenders or even other guests, who were very warm), and do your research ahead of time. I also would recommend spending the extra $$$ to go outside the resort for dinners / drinks off the property to see how fun Aruba is.

Room Tip: Ask for the Divi side if you want super close access to more bars, food, drinks etc. That said, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd #41 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Hotel Oranjestad
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Hotel
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Resort
Hotel Tamarijn
Aruba Tamarijn
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.