We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing 'Beach' location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive

Save Saved
You added Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd #41 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Oranjestad
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Amazing 'Beach' location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I previously stayed at the Tamarijn in 2005 for our honeymoon. Loved it then for the 'beach' location. We returned beginning of November 2012 for the hotels location on the beach and length of the low rise property along the beach, all rooms being oceanfront which cannot be beaten.

Our room this time was at the far end of the property (Oranjestad/Bushiri beach end) in room block 25xx. Though a lengthy walk to the main resort area it was actually appreciated as we always walked along the beach or boardwalk, a beautiful walk in itself.
Rooms are average but the views of the beach/ocean/sunset are amazing. Most rooms have been refurbished...complete overhaul in bathrooms, new paint in bedrooms, new air conditioners. Bathrooms have large dispensers of Aruba Aloe soap, shampoo and body wash. Shower design is not great as the water pools onto the bathroom floor. Like others have said the supply of towels is good so always a spare towel for mopping up! New air conditioners are effective though quite loud, they have low, medium and high settings. After several nights trying to sleep with the AC on we turned it off and slept with the ceiling fan on. The fan was all that we needed as we had cranked up the AC before turning it off to sleep.

We didn't notice any mosquitoes the first 5 days, but we sure noticed them on days 6 and 7 just after sunset but were only out for an hour or so.

You do have to be up early to get your choice of Palapa! By 9am there are usually only a few available. Crazy as it may be I did count up all the Palapas along the beach at the Tamarijn, there were about 100. With so many for a 236 room property you are never on top of others and to be honest often feel like you have the entire beach to yourselves.

We recommend the Red Parrot and Italian a la carte restaurants. Both had fantastic service and very good food. Upon request of some meal modifications the staff were only too happy to help and my request was attended to without trouble. The buffet restaurant choices for lunch and dinner were limited.

Ocean is a little rougher on Druif beach (by the Tamarijn) when compared to Eagle and Palm beach and it gets deep pretty quickly. Ocean is warm. Hotel provides floats and noodles for guest use, you just have to check them out/in with your room number.
Sunsets by the hotel are stunning. The boat sunset trips view the sunset from the Tam/Divi area which is a better viewing location than anywhere else on the island.

My husband and I went off property a few times. Cab fares are set, minimum fare is $7 and this will get you anywhere in the low rise hotel area. To get to the lighthouse the fare is $16.

Food and drinks on the island are not cheap. Had dinner at 'Carambola' (seafood) restaurant. Food was cooked to perfection, though pricey. At 'Waves' bar by the Sheraton drinks range from $8.50 (beer) to $11 (frozen cocktails). Lunch food ranged up to $20.

Do not attempt to walk to the lighthouse from the end of the high rise area. The locals thought it would be 20 minutes, it turned out to be 1.5 hours! We were rewarded however with fantastic views of the island and a wonderful restaurant, 'La Trattoria El Faro Blanco'. The restaurant is very popular for sunset and we could see why. We were there late lunch/mid afternoon and were the only ones eating. A few tourists were wondering the property taking pictures. Food here was on the higher end of average but certainly worth it for the ambience and views.

Parasailing is available from the water sports center between the Tam and Divi. It is $60 cash per person (+5% if paying by cc). They take you by minibus to the main low rise hotel area. From there you get on a small boat which collects people from other hotels and then transfers you onto the parasail boat. Tip: if you want to be dropped off anywhere along the Palm/Eagle beach they can accommodate this. We asked to be dropped off by the Marriott (currently the northern most high rise hotel).

There is a go-kart track located very close to the Tamarijn, a 12 minute walk from the end of the hotel. Bushiri Karting Speedway. Outdoor track about a mile long. Adult karts go up to 50mph. Nice track. $18 for about 10 minutes. If you go out again the price is $15. Great group of guys that run the track.

There is a large supermarket (Ling & Sons, IGA supercenter) just round the corner from the Tamarijn.

Took the De Palm Island trip. Originally booked to go by catamaran but the boat was cancelled the night before. Went via bus instead. Island very busy with cruise ship passengers (there were 2 ships in port), it was a Wednesday. Snorkeling was fantastic. I was a first time snorkeler and appreciated the initial waist deep water to get comfortable. My husband snorkeled here on our previous trip 7 years ago and commented that the reef is certainly not as live as it was. It has certainly degraded with the constant influx of tourists. I saw several people stepping on the coral. Though you are not supposed to feed the fish, we saw one guy who had filled his pocket with french fries. The fish went crazy for them and it was an amazing view of so many fish in one area.

There is a snorkeling spot which some of the boat trips visit at the northern end of Palm beach (on the way to the lighthouse). You could take a local bus or cab to this area and snorkel right from the beach. No cost other than getting there.

Our trip was booked with tour operator Sunquest. Rosita our rep is a very happy, bubbly and charming lady who totally takes care of you right from your arrival at the airport to your departure lining up at the airport check-in desks. Though we didn't require Rosita's services during our stay she made our vacation even more memorable just from the brief encounter we had with her during our arrival and departure.

Would recommend this hotel to others. It is well worth it for its location and closeness to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    954
    250
    110
    59
See reviews for
676
1060
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I spent a week at the Tamarijn for our 1 year anniversary. Our building (22) had been renovated somewhat recently, because it was very clean and up-to-date and not anything like what some of the others have posted. We saw the beach being raked several times over the course of the week, not just once, but even when they didn't, these beaches are NOT dirty and full of debris and seaweed. The white, soft sand was awesome, and the beach was never crowded at all. The restaurants were all very good, and the buffet exceeded our expectations. We ate at the Red Parrot twice, the Paparazzi and Ginger once, as well as tried the pizza bar, the buffet for daily breakfast and also lunch and dinner a few times. We had no complaints about anything at the Tamarijn with exception of the wifi service being pretty useless inside our room. Otherwise it worked fine, but for $50 a week, and only limited to 1 device, we would probably think twice about getting it next time. The safe in the room worked just perfectly, storing our valuables (including an iPad) nicely. $2/day well spent. We borrowed bicycles a couple times and rode the short distance to downtown and were glad those were available for free use. We also borrowed a kayak once and snorkeling gear a couple times. All in all we loved the Tamarijn, and this was confirmed each time we visited other parts of the island (including the high-rise "uptown" area). Less crowded and more relaxing, yet provided everything we needed for a wonderful stay. Having free use of the Divi was also a plus, but even though it seemed a little "nicer", we actually were glad to be right on the beach at the Tamarijn, away from some of the commotion of the main areas. We would definitely go back and we will choose the Tamarijn when we do.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The reviews prior said how this is definatly a 3 star and if you're expecting the Marriot, then be very dissapointed. Keep reading and you'll find out why.... My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon from Oct. 29-Nov 5. The taxi from the airport to the Tam was $22. When we arrived the lobby was pretty, however if you're expecting marble floors or marble statues, you wont find it here. You don't get the "WOW" feel that you get at a 5 star. The Tamarijn has a "rustic" look. If you've been to the Florida Keys, its kind of what it seems like. It has a very "secluded, beachy feel." My husband said the place looks very weathered and needs remodeling. If you can get past the "Holiday Inn" rooms then the rest of it is remarkable. We stayed in 2301 and honestly it was the closest to the beach/ water I have ever stayed at. It gives the saying "ocean front" a whole other meaning. Our back patio was 25 feet from the Carribean. The sand and water were beautiful and you immediatly forget about anything else. When we checked in we booked the Honeymoon package and they gave us two double beds??? we called the front desk immediatly and they changed our room within minutes to a King size. With the honeymoon package we received 2 tshirts, a bottle of champagne, 2 champagne glasses, a picture frame, $100 towards a restaurant downtown and a discounted meal at the Windows on Aruba Restaurant (highly recommended!!).
We asked for the room safe which is $2 per day. However they give you a key to open and close the safe and who wants to hold onto a key all day on vacation?? They need to upgrade to a keypad safe.
The Tamarijn is a short 10 minute walk to its sister hotel The Divi, or the shuttle comes every few minutes as well. With the all inclusive you can use all of The Divi's bars and restaurants. The best restaurant is the Red Parrot (Carribean). Ginger (Asian) was really good as well and so was The Palm Grill (where you cook your own food on the grill at your own table) was a really neat experience. We didnt eat at the Italian Restaurant, The Paparazzi, because we ate at the Red Parrot twice and we went downtown to eat one night and went across the street to the Golf course to eat at Windows on Aruba (not all inclusive but worth it!!). We never ate at the buffets for dinner, but the breakfast buffet was just bad and the lunch buffet was not much better. We usually grabbed a pizza or a snack at the Pizza per Tutti snack bar or ate a late breakfast and saved our appetites for the amazing restaurants at night. The staff were usually nice but not as willing to go out of their way as the staff in Mexico. But we are in another part of the world!! The women in the gift shops were kind of moody at times and didnt want us to unfold anything to see the sizes because they would have to fold it again. The taxi cab rides were affordable usually $9 downtown or $9 to the high rise section. The taxi cab drivers were Very nice and informative. We had no problems going off the resort to site see or just walk around downtown. The entire island is 19 miles long so it is very easy to see most of the island in just a few days. We took a 4 hour snorkel tour which we booked through the hotel and it was a blast. Booking tours and reservations for the restaurants were easy and we had no problems. Overall, if you can get over the dated rooms then this is the place to stay. The beach, water, surroundings and restaurants are amazing and this is Paradise !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Me and my wife stayed at the Tamarijn in December and was incredibly happy with it.
The view is just amazing with the ocean just outside the windows and 5 short meters and you can be swimming.
Service was great and rooms were clean and nice and of good standard. They also have car rental and all kinds of excursions in the reception area.
Restaurants was very good, could be some waiting time at the more popular ones so you need to be in time with the reservations.
Aruba itself was amazing, warm water and white beaches everywhere, we are definitely going back there.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the city (24, 25 block) were newly renovated when we were there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a 12day stay. I loved being right on the beach!

The rooms r 10steps to the beach! U had to step down about 2feet from the little board walk to the beach, there were many little rocks that u could not c so some times u would hurt your feet stepping down. Lots of seaweed would wash up daily and the beach was somewhat cleaned 1x a week. They realy need to rake around the huts to get rid of those little rocks.

Last year we stayed 15days next door and the divi and I walked over there on most days. The divi beach was cleaned daily and the ocean was much nicer.

also the rooms were very small and not to clean, we had to switch rooms due to bugs in the drawers!

Next time I will pay more and stay @ the divi which is cleaner and more upscale.

I did have a great time, but I was a bit sad I opted to stay here to save a few bucks, the main reason I picked here was for the beach view, but a dirty beach kinda ruins that! The resort needs to clean the seaweed daily and realy rake around the hunts

The food was good and all places

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south coast
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here in August but am only just writing the review as I didn't want the few negatives felt at the time to prejudice what I wrote. Overall loved Aruba and will definately return.....the people and the Island were lovely. Wish we had taken a driving licence so we could have explored more.

Positives:
Loved Ginger, Red Parrot and Windows....food was very good in all of them, and a good atmosphere. There is a slight charge for Windows (on top of A/I) but the food was well worth it and we went twice. Also ate at Passions on the Beach down the road....the food and the experience were fantastic, although quite expensive.
Really enjoyed the Jeep Safari to the Natural Pool and Palm Island day trip with De Palm Tours.
Found most of the staff at the hotel really lovely and the concierge team by reception were really nice too.
View from our room in 1900 block was super....I woke quite early and it was lovely to see the sea and the beach when it was quiet.
Gardens were nice and generally kept clean....found the Divi end much cleaner overall.
Divi - we spent alot of our time at the Divi pool and also when we were using the buffets (other than breakfast) the atmosphere was much nicer.
Had a great evening watching the water fountain display at the Paseo Herencia Mall in the High Rise area.....dancing fountains to Elvis was a first!!!! Great little bar one end of the fountains for good drinks...had a good happy hour too.
Arubus, late at night....really good, fun experience - didn't know you could get so many people on a bus!!! Thought the buses were excellent value for money.
Room cleanliness was very good (very nice cleaners....really deserved their tips) and shower did not really cause a problem as we were given so many towels to mop up.

Negatives:
The pool area at the Tam was not kept very tidy.....this is mostly due to the people staying at the hotel -how difficult is it to take your glasses back to the bar and put your snack bar plates into the bin!!!! Glasses were not tidied up on the beach either.....this was down to staff and visitors alike.
The pool - I know this is predominately a beach holiday but sometimes it's nice to use the pool (our 12 year old and his 9 year old friend really wanted to play there at times) however, on most days it was taken over at different times by a group of teenagers playing with a small, very hard ball which impacted on alot of other people.
Tam buffet - good for breakfast, ok for lunch - especially the earlier you went...not good at all in the evenings, once was enough and as said Divi buffet much nicer, especially early on.

So overall I really enjoyed my holiday.....it was just marred at times by some inconsiderate people. It is an expensive holiday when travelling from the UK as only First Choice/Thomsons travel to Aruba so they have no desire/competition to lower prices. I really hope to travel back to Aruba soon, maybe just not to the Tam.....it is always nice to try other hotels too for a different experience, although will miss many of the kind and friendly staff at the Tam.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My daughter, my teenage grandson and myself went to the Tam in August. Could not fault the checkin procedure and welcome we received. The room was clean and newly decorated and the view from the balcony was to die for (would have liked a ground floor but how often do you spend in your room). The whole experience of being able to help yourself to tea, coffee and water and soft drinks 24 hours a day was novel, more all inclusives should go down this route. My daighter and I ate in the buffet only at breakfast and lunchtime and then only had fruit and salad but could not fault the choice. The grandson made lots of friends and they all preferred the snack bar which was open from 11am (about the time teenagers get up) to midnight. In the evenings we tried all the restaurants but our favourites were the Red Parrott and Gingers (Gingers being our number one). Yes you have to queue to book them but we took it in turns to get up and go and do this so it was not a problem and you get to talk to other guests and find out all about the resort. The toilet area by the pool was always spotless. The only complaint I have is the lack of entertainment and having nowhere to sit in the evenings after your meal. There were a few seats at one bar and the usual bar stools but apart from the receiption area (where there was no bar) the only other seats were the sun loungers and quite frankly when I get dressed in the evening I don't want to sit on a sun lounger that someone has been lying on all day covered in sun tan lotion! We also found the trips excessively expensive and I really regretted not taking my driving licence with me - the roads were really quiet and it would have been really good value to hire a car and go round the island independently. The beach was good and the best rooms were probably the ones behind the snack bar, numbers 1300 I think. There are buggies to take you round the resort but quite frankly you have to be extremely fat, lazy or American to want to use them as nothing is that far away from the pool, restaurants and bars. I would recommend this as a 3 star holiday resort - it is very casual and we met some nice people, English and American. One thing I would say they desparately need is more sun shades round the pool, apart from a wooden gazebo on one side there is no shade at all only on the beach and you have to be very lucky to get that after 7am (or should that be midnight as quite a few people put towels out on their way back to the rooms at night). We spent most days round the pool as it is only a hop skip and jump to the beach from there (no buggies needed just about 20 paces at the most!). By the way the cocktails are amazing as are all the staff at the hotel - didn't some across one grumpy one the whole fortnight. Look out for the Aloe Man he comes round daily selling his own bottled aloe vera, he's a real character.

All in all a good holiday but I think I still prefer Cuba.

Room Tip: Take your driving licence with you. Rooms 1300 are the closest to the action but anything up to 1700...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd #41 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#2 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Hotel Oranjestad
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Hotel
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Resort
Hotel Tamarijn
Aruba Tamarijn
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.