We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful island - too commercial” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive

Save Saved
You added Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd #41 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Oranjestad
Wethersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful island - too commercial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

My daughter, my teenage grandson and myself went to the Tam in August. Could not fault the checkin procedure and welcome we received. The room was clean and newly decorated and the view from the balcony was to die for (would have liked a ground floor but how often do you spend in your room). The whole experience of being able to help yourself to tea, coffee and water and soft drinks 24 hours a day was novel, more all inclusives should go down this route. My daighter and I ate in the buffet only at breakfast and lunchtime and then only had fruit and salad but could not fault the choice. The grandson made lots of friends and they all preferred the snack bar which was open from 11am (about the time teenagers get up) to midnight. In the evenings we tried all the restaurants but our favourites were the Red Parrott and Gingers (Gingers being our number one). Yes you have to queue to book them but we took it in turns to get up and go and do this so it was not a problem and you get to talk to other guests and find out all about the resort. The toilet area by the pool was always spotless. The only complaint I have is the lack of entertainment and having nowhere to sit in the evenings after your meal. There were a few seats at one bar and the usual bar stools but apart from the receiption area (where there was no bar) the only other seats were the sun loungers and quite frankly when I get dressed in the evening I don't want to sit on a sun lounger that someone has been lying on all day covered in sun tan lotion! We also found the trips excessively expensive and I really regretted not taking my driving licence with me - the roads were really quiet and it would have been really good value to hire a car and go round the island independently. The beach was good and the best rooms were probably the ones behind the snack bar, numbers 1300 I think. There are buggies to take you round the resort but quite frankly you have to be extremely fat, lazy or American to want to use them as nothing is that far away from the pool, restaurants and bars. I would recommend this as a 3 star holiday resort - it is very casual and we met some nice people, English and American. One thing I would say they desparately need is more sun shades round the pool, apart from a wooden gazebo on one side there is no shade at all only on the beach and you have to be very lucky to get that after 7am (or should that be midnight as quite a few people put towels out on their way back to the rooms at night). We spent most days round the pool as it is only a hop skip and jump to the beach from there (no buggies needed just about 20 paces at the most!). By the way the cocktails are amazing as are all the staff at the hotel - didn't some across one grumpy one the whole fortnight. Look out for the Aloe Man he comes round daily selling his own bottled aloe vera, he's a real character.

All in all a good holiday but I think I still prefer Cuba.

Room Tip: Take your driving licence with you. Rooms 1300 are the closest to the action but anything up to 1700...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    824
    917
    238
    103
    56
See reviews for
638
1011
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rego Park, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife was four months pregnant when we stayed at the Tamarijn, so it was a couples vacation, but certainly more subdued given her physical limitations. We heard some bad reviews, so we were a bit wary going in, but I can safely say they were grossly exaggerated. This place is perfect if you're a couple on a budget. Where else can you get a great price for an ocean view room that you just walk out of, straight onto the beach?? Every room is ocean view, so you can't lose. That really turned the scales in favor of this place,

The rooms themselves are not terribly impressive. They are small and don't look ravishingly new like some of the other big-name Caribbean resorts. But it really gives you a sweet, quaint feeling. And the place is pretty large, too. So it's not like you're crammed in. The pool was small and pretty far from us - we were the last complex at the end of the hotel neighborhood. But it was still awesome to dip into and it was rarely full. They had great MCs, nice music and entertainment, and a nice market once a week at night with lovely, small local items to purchase. The restaurants are also delicious. And doing stuff on the island is easy because it's so tiny. We did a tour of the whole island and go to see the main attractions all in one day. And we did a sunset cruise which was terribly romantic.

I can also say that the Aruban beaches are breathtaking. Go to this place - you won't regret waking up right next to the beautiful sea.

Just one note of caution - I did leave my sandals outside of our room, in the porch area, overnight, and they were not found the next morning. They were likely stolen by some wanderer into the hotel area, which is not a surprise considering we were literally at the end of the hotel, and the end of the hotel neighborhood, next to the actual town with local residents. Can't blame the hotel for this, though, nor Aruba. It was my fault for leaving my stuff out. So definitely take care of your things and leave all valuables in the safe.

Room Tip: All rooms are ocean view - you can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I spent a wk., here, with my sister. (we are both "young" 50's). Basically, we knew what to expect, ..but, hoped to maybe, find, more "single" people. Didn't happen. Lots of couple's (all ages), newlyweds, and, few kids. Our beach front room had it's ups and downs. We were too close to the bar/pool...that we never had "quiet", until 11:30pm. Someone?? even stole my bathing suit bottoms off my patio. (it was clipped on a drying line) . Our room (possible section) ran out of water, one night (12am to 3am)..the night I was "sick"!!!!! Yuck. No one at the front desk had any explanation, of course. I would have loved a small broom in the room, to sweep up the sand, we kept dragging in on our feet. Otherwise, the beds were amazingly comfy!!!! The ac and ceiling fan were good, and, being so close to the main area...we could easily run back and forth. (I'd be happier running further!!) We really enjoyed the choice of restaurants, great food at all, ...but, we prefered the Red Parrot at the Divi, for the island ambience overlooking the beach/ocean. We loved eating outside, there. We were told the "outside" is mostly for smokers, and, they moved us to another table one night, when the smoke blew our way. (we are non-smokers)...and, it amazes me that people still eat and smoke. We took the bus into the high rise area, 3 evenings, just to walk around, shop, and try to find a dancing place(???). The bus is $1.25 each way to this area. Taxi is $9.00. We decided, maybe, we'd like to be in the high rise area, for the ease of evening acivities; but, we liked the idea of no elevators, at the low rise, and, the all inclusive. We borrowed the bikes, twice...and, joined the bike snorkel tour , which turned into a 20 mile bike ride in a thunderstorm!! (our choice, to continue to the lighthouse in the storm)
We booked a half day tour with Tiger Safari, got rained out in am, but, we changed to the afternoon departure...lots of fun and laughs. Rough ride over terrain in hummer style jeeps!
Our weather was iffy by the end of the week...later to be called Hurricane Sandy !!!!
I felt the ladies at the reservation desk were fabulous, and, most of the waiters at the restaurants, and the bartenders. The main desk, and, kayak people need a pep talk.
(we inadvertently had to stay an extra night in Aruba, due to our planes engine problem, and, were "put up" at the Renaissance. We decided we were delighted with our Tamarijn choice, after this night.)

Room Tip: we were in 1300 block?? ...too close to main area....maybe, try closer to the Bunker Bar. We enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We also started our vacay at the Tam - we then headed to the Renaissance downtown bc of hurricane Sandy. The pros for us was the ocean front location was great. The all inclusive for drinks and food was good too. The Red Parrot was the best dining and they had the best server too. Most of the waitstaff there was not overly friendly. It seemed like they were just going thru the motions. That was the con for me but overall great experience. The bikes were good to grab bc the Divi location was a hike and in the heat - not so fun walk. They do have carts going back and forth which they said run every 15 mins but there was def no set schedule for them and even the cart drivers wouldn't go out of their way to assist you, I think it was 2 times that we were told by someone in an empty cart someone else was coming by in 10. But other than that the amenities were great, the food was good and the atmosphere was nice. Not much to do at night if you like to eat a little later like 8 pm. Most events were held at that early time so by the time dinner was over we were only able to enjoy the tail end of the music.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We started our vacation in Tamarijn but due to Hurricane Sandy we continued our prolonged stay at the Holiday Inn, so this review will be pretty well rounded. The pros: the hotel is located at druiff beach so it's not as crowded and as rocky as palm beach where holiday inn is located. The hotel offers free bikes and shuttles to and from the Divi. The Divi has the fantastic Red Parrot with delicious grouper and ice cream. The cons: the other restaurants were just OK. My bf and are both Asian so Ginger was disappointing. It was a fusion of thai, chinese, japanese and korean but it was bland and muddled. Compared to the holiday inn, the Tam employees seemed not as friendly or as helpful. We were so upset at the reception for giving us the run-around with the gift certificates from travelocity and it seemed fishy that they gave us some person's gcs because he didn't claim them. Room service and a mini bar is not included in the all inclusive unlike those in the Dominican Republic.

Room Tip: Pick a room close to the divi for better access to their restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just got back in the house after returning from a two week stay at the Tam. We went with First Choice and everything went smooth. Our room number was 1108 and to us this was the perfect location, there was plenty of unspoilt beach litterally on our doorstep, not crowded at all, plenty of sun loungers available any time of the day, at little more scarce if you wanted one under the shade though but this didn't concern us. As commented before, the room was slightly tired looking, but it was kept spotless and had everything we needed, a great shower and comfortable beds, we did notice that further down the blocks some rooms were being refurbished, so maybe they were working their way up to our block. The food in the buffet restaurant was adequate, plus you had all the a la carte restaurants which were all very good and could be booked as many times as you wanted during your stay, our favourite was the Red Parrot. The nightly entertainment was mainly live bands and singers and not all shows as we have had previously in other all inclusive resorts, but we enjoyed this type of entertainment more. There is a short distance between the Tam and the Divi wich is easy enough to walk or use the shuttle bus, all the facilities of both hotels can be used and they are both as good as one another.
One day I decided to walk the length of the beach from the Tam all the way up past the high rise area it was a good walk and by far the best part of the beach is down at the Tam and Divi, (Druif Beach), that is unless you don't mind being packed in tight next to other people on the beaches in the high rise areas.
Getting around the area is easy by bus taxi or walking, at no time did I feel unsafe. Oranjestad is 20 minutes walk from the Tam and is a nice place to visit.
All in all we had a great holiday and would definately consider going back again, to the same hotel and area.

Room Tip: Rooms in blocks 11 to 13 have a quieter and larger area of beach right outside your patio door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed,forn two weeks,from the 29th Sept, travelled with first choice, and could'nt fault them. The cheak in on the coach is just perfect why other resorts don't do this is beyond me. On arrival we were given the room that i requested prior to arrival, we had room1113 which was a ground floor, opening our patio doors straight onto the most amazing beach we have ever seen. The room is a little tied , but spotless clean, and had everything you needed (apart from coffee making facilaties) but having read other reviews we came prepared, with our own. The rooms are cleaned daily with fresh bedding and towels,every day, we put one of our towels by patio door to wipe our feet on after coming in from beach, it just helped from bringing in the sand.
We tried all the resturants, our favourite was Gingers and the Red Parrot, we had no problem booking them, and only ate in the buffet 3 times. The breakfast, and lunch are really good you certainly wont go hungry here. We also tried the Windows Resturant which is well worth a visit.
We did a trip to Palm Island which we really enjoyed, the boat trip ther is great, we went with some friends we met there and had such a laugh going on the bannana boat ride (well done Tracey ).We went to the high rise area, lots of nice shops and bars, well worth a visit.
We met some great people while we were there, Tracey and Frank especially.
Entertainment at night is quite low key, the bars serve all branded drinks and are very very genorous with there measures, mud slide was my favourite!!
We would go back there in a flash, one little negative , they could do with more parasols especially down between blocks 13 to 11, fingers crossed were be going back in the next few years,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd #41 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Hotel Oranjestad
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Hotel
Tamarijn Aruba Beach Resort
Hotel Tamarijn
Aruba Tamarijn
Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarijn Aruba All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.