We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stretch of beach on island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Aruba All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Divi Aruba All Inclusive to your Saves list
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd #45 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oranjestad
Paradise, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best stretch of beach on island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had a great time in Aruba, thanks mostly to the friendly staff at the Divi All-Inclusive. Everyone seemed sincerely nice, and many of the staff had been working there for a number of years. We witnessed quite a few visitors embracing staff they had obviously met on previous stays, talking like old friends. While this was our first stay on the island, we talked to many people on their nth stay, including one guy on his 17th year!

The buildings were old, but clean. We never heard our neighbors or really anyone in the hallways. The shower pressure was poor, and the bed was a tad uncomfortable for our taste. But we weren't there to stay in the room, and the rest of the resort was wonderful.

The restaurants had really good food, so there was no need to eat outside the resort. We discovered meals off the resort were quite pricey, so were glad to eat within. A wide selection of seafood was offered at each restaurant; our favorites were Ginger and the Red Parrot.

This resort is in the "low-rise" area of Oranjestad. After visiting the "high-rise" area, we were glad we stayed in the low-rise. The hotels/resorts were not as packed in, and we could walk the beach for at least 2 miles toward the high-rise area.

The bars in the resort would serve just about anything you could ask for. Not top-shelf liquor, but you could ask for an alcohol by name if you are more choosy about your booze. For example, you would need to specify "Captain and diet", otherwise you would get some low-end rum. The drinks were strong, and unlimited, so there was no excuse for not having a good time!

Initially we were disappointed that the majority of the activities and restaurants were at the Tamarijn side, but later realized that was OK because our side had less kids/families. Plus it was a 10-minute walk along the beach to get to the Tamarijn, or a quick golf-cart ride if we felt lazy.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are great; you can keep slider open and no lizards come in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    633
    213
    93
    64
See reviews for
369
844
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at the Divi AI the last week of November 2012 and enjoyed every minute of my trip.

While I have stayed at nicer/newer hotels, I think anyone booking the Divi has done their research to know what to expect from the age of the buildings, however at no point did we feel we were having to deal with any serious issues. Walls are very thin, so expect that going in. We loved our room and the beach is one of the best you can ask for on any vacation anywhere.

The food was average to above average for an AI and the music/entertainment was good also. The resort is quieter than most AI's and we enjoyed it that way. I will come back here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

First impression was so so, the hallways are old as are the doors, the room was nice,apart from the tub being old but generally as expected from reading other reviews. Once you spend some time on the beautiful beach it really doesn't matter anymore. We were happy to have picked the low rise area as hearing from others on our trip the high rise area was very busy and noisy with jet skis.
The food was fine at the buffet, a little repetitive but as expected for all inclusives. Went to the red parrott and the italian restaurant and both were quite good.
I would go back but make sure to go when it is the slower season.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This resort is a lovely place to stay at, and the added benefit of having two resorts to visit for the price of one was nice. However... the liquor is almost none existent...When we arrived, some guest suggested to us" if we really want to get a buzz - order the Long Island Iced Tea...." Even though the bartenders fill your glass half full of vodka - you can not taste it or feel it... I am not a drinker but even I couldn't feel anything after 3 drinks..hence a reason to buy a bottle of your favorite alcohol right there at the airport when you arrive! ! ! ! If you tip the bartenders a dollar per drink they will remember you and make your drinks abit stronger. ....( I know it is all inclusive but we went with $60.00 in $1.00 bills and used all of them in 6 days - we did not tip for beer or sodas) Most of their daily specials were too sweet for me and just added calorie...The rum has the strongest flavor... Beer is on draft only and only Aruba beer. Drinking water was placed strategically around the pool and bar areas. Bring your own insulated glasses or mugs to keep your drinks cold..otherwise you can go to the Dunkin Donut near the property to purchase those dark maroon DD coffee thermal mugs...AND donuts! ! ! ! ! !

In our room - the soap dispensers in the showers were nice - I used the body wash and it was not drying at all. I never used the shampoo and there was no conditioner. There is a night light in the bathroom which was quite gentle and a large citronella candle for use on the patio. We were in 7208 which had a private pool for our area..with a jacuzzi emptying into the pool - not very warm....... and the jets are pointed upward...so not sure about that one???

The pathway behind our building was always very busy with golfcarts for employees and shuttle service to the Tandarjn running back and forth. If you plan on using your patio this could be annoying. Several sand toys, swimmies and floats were left behind by other guest. Just look around the buildings and you'll find some.

The food was great but you do need to make reservations for dinner..The staff was very pleasant in the dinner restaurants and the selection intriguing.. We always tried something different- thinking if we didn't like it we would just order something else..(I know this sounds wasteful - but where and when else could you think this way except at an all-inclusive or on a cruise ship. Which is actually where we were told to do this. we tried escargot ! ! ! ! ). We learned that in the buffet dining room - look for the area that has a server already working in it. Not all areas have servers working all the time. The servers do not like to move away from their area as they may loose a tip - so if you need hot water,etc - and are in an area where no server is working in - the servers tend to ignore you. I needed decaf tea - there was none at the resort..luckily I brought my own from home. If I forgot to bring my tea bags with me down to breakfast.. like the first few times, I asked for two pots of hot water. I then used one pot to remove most of the caffine from the regular tea bag then used the same tea bag in the second pot..(Not good if you like strong tea!) I was also able to make decaf ice tea this way, as I don't drink alcohol alot...We thought about taking juices in the insulated mugs to drink later in the day, but they were watered down also. Yes you have a refrigerator - we keep fresh fruit and water in it..

Other than these points I agree with the other reviews - it is a lovely place to stay- they use american currency, speak english, are very friendly. The beach is white sand - devoit of shells- seaweed etc. very clean always..They did mark off "sea turtle egg" areas.... If you leave the DiviDivi around 10:40 am and leisurly walk to the Tandarijn you will arrive just in time for the bar to open at 11:00 am. ( All Bars open at 11:00 am..)

You will see cruiseships coming into Aruba and tankers waiting for their call to port in Venezuala on the horizon...not great for animal watching.

When we went in April - it was very, very windy on this side of the island. ( SO windy when on the beach the sand blew and ititated you legs...Ther ewas no parasailing or windsurfing becaus eof the wind. We did not know the other side was less windy until we talked to a man on the return trip home - he mentioned he had used a "jet pack" in the air and had great time - it was so windy on our side of the island the 2 man scramble was cancelled at the golf course! ! ! ! !

All in all, we had a great time. I used sunscreen number 15 at first then switched to an 8. Got a medium tan in 5 days...Probably won't go back to this resort...maybe try the other side of the island..

Room Tip: Go to Dunkin Donuts for a change of pace for breakfast or good coffee...and insulated mugs for your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have just spent one week @ Divi, and we think it is a solid 3.5* Aruba AI resort, a bit overpriced but perfect when it goes on sale. This was our second stay, and nothing really has changed in the last 2 years. The beach is still amazing and the ocean is nice, warm and friendly!
The rooms and the resort grounds are clean and well-maintained; the service is good, the food is well-prepared and of good quality -- though the selection is mostly repetitive and not as wide as it is at bigger resorts. However, a-la-carte restaurants compensate for that with really special and outstanding menus. Several times, I thought to myself that the fruit and veggie choices are quite limited for a tropical island (same applies to fresh-squeezed juices), but the home-made strawberry preserves and desserts help a lot to cope with this. Also, you have to ask for water or refills at the buffet, which is unusual.
Most of the time, you can find free beach-chairs and palapas on the beach, but the bad habits die hard, and at 8 AM the beach-chair wars start. Looks like people never learn - it's a pain to look at the reserved chairs being empty for hours.
The bars open only at 11 AM and drinks there are usually watered down and not strong enough, but the service is fast. They also serve pizza, ice-cream and popcorn, which is good when you have kids, but do not expect any milk shakes or low-sugar juices for children during the day – so the sugary frozen drinks or sodas are the only choice.
Water sports are almost non-existent at Divi. I’ve gotten the impression that they are trying to keep them in low profile in a hope that nobody will ask for them. Smells of laziness to me. They do not advertise any activity and nobody even knows what they have in stock unless you ask them. And even after that, the equipment they offer is outdated and limited.
A few words about night entertainment. We are not big fans of it because usually we are worn out by 8 PM; but a few times we observed performers with heavy speakers, amplifiers and instruments, playing pretty good ‘live’ music for several minutes and then they would become bored or want a drink or two from the bar – so they leave, and the music would still play on and on…
For those who are brave enough, I would recommend the Jeep Tour to Natural Pool/Bridge with De Palm Tours. Scuba divers should ask about Unique Sports of Aruba Dive shop.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here with my family back in March of 2012. We had a great time. The beach is gorgeous.

It is not a 5 Star Resort but the value is fantastic. Some of the rooms need updating but we loved ours. They have a different theme night every night for food in the cafeteria or you can choose to eat at one of the resturants they have between the two resorts. They even have Pizza and Burger stands/bars to eat at if you dont want to go to he cafeteria The bartenders are fantastic and made great drinks.

We will go back again for sure

Room Tip: Get an Oceanfront Lanai Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vire, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our first visit to Aruba having been to other islands in the caribbean. We reallly enjoyed our stay there. The staff and people of Aruba always seem to be smiling abd friendly. The food in all the restaurants we visited was always good to excellent. you can get to others in the group by a small trolley bus. The beach is just gorgeous, The swimming pool was well maintained and clean. There was never any problems getting sunbeds.The drinks flowed well.

The accomodation was comfortable but slightly dated. There is a strong need to either replace or repaint the doors into the accomodation.

We would definately stay there again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Aruba All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Aruba All Inclusive

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd #45 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Aruba All Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Divi Aruba All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Aruba All Inclusive Hotel Oranjestad
Aruba All Inclusive Resort
Aruba Divi Divi
Divi Aruba Beach Resort
Divi Aruba All Inclusive Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Aruba All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.