We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Aruba All Inclusive

Save Saved
You added Divi Aruba All Inclusive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd #45 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 hotels in Oranjestad
Ravenna, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Extremely positive experience. The beach is fantastic, the room was simple but clean and confortable, the food was good also at the buffet (and my little son was a regular for 11 am pizza). All beverages were included (Pinot Grigio italiano..). The perfect location for a family vacation. So, why not 5 stars?? Well, the attitude of the maid cleaning our room and of some waiters was not exactly friendly.. just a little stain on this fantastic experience.

Room Tip: If you have kids go for Ocean View at ground floor, they will be able to rush out of the room into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    540
    547
    187
    86
    55
See reviews for
315
715
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We just came back from a 10 day stay at the Divi and it was absolutely perfect. Because it was our honeymoon, we were upgraded to a beach view room which was wonderful. The rooms aren't luxury, but they are very nice and, really, who cares when you're in the most wonderful location.
The food at all the restaurants was really great! We didn't know what to expect after reading some of the bad food reviews here, but now we know that those people either had bad luck or are just plain crazy.
The service was great. Everyone is so nice and friendly. We booked a couple of excursions at their registration desk and had no problems.
It was exactly what we wanted - total relaxation without a care in the world, other than which drink we'll order next.
We would go back there in a second if we could!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife and I spent 2 weeks at the Divi with 5 other couples to celebrate one of our friend's 60th birthday. We had a great time and the resort certainly catered well for a larger group.

The resort is quite old but that means it is low rise. It is right on Druif beach, the first decent beach outside Oranjestad and our rooms were 10 yards from the fine white sand. We had 6 ground floor rooms in a row at the Oranjestad end of the resort. The rooms are a little tired and the recent refurbishment to the bathrooms will not be to everyone's liking as they have effectively become wet rooms. The water pressure and temperature could be better, too.

The beach and water were superb and we had them virtually to ourselves. We swam many times everyday in the beautiful clear, blue water which we shared with fish and seabirds. It was wonderful watching pelicans dive bombing fish just yards away from where we swam. The colourful sunsets were amazing most evenings.

We were quite far away from the resort centre but there was a resort beach bar just 200 yards away and this became a second home, not just because we were on all-inclusive, but because they showed all of the Euro 2012 games live. Given the time difference the games kicked off around lunch time or early afternoon. Great to watch England win at any time, but especially with a cold beer in your hand looking out over the blue, blue sea in a blissfully warm 30C.

The food was good and plentiful. The speciality dining in the evening was usually a cut above the buffet style main restaurant. However, they do appear to repeat the menus and the entertainment on a weekly cycle so our second week was a bit repetitive. There are several bars and restaurants across the resort which stretches for about a mile. The inclusive wine, beer and spirits were good quality and you can pay extra in the speciality restaurants if you want a better wine.

As we were at one end of the resort we made good use of the resort shuttle service but service was a bit hit and miss at times.

We had an added bonus of waking one morning to find a turtle had come ashore to lay its eggs just yards from our room. These nests are protected by local volunteers and if you are lucky to be there when they hatch, you can watch them emerge from the sand and struggle into the sea from your patio!

Overall for the price we paid, this holiday would be hard to beat for a group of friends looking to enjoy the sun, sea and sand without spending a fortune.

Room Tip: Caution: some rooms were quite close to the resort storm drains which were flushed each week leaving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Divi divi in Aruba is the most beautiful place on the earth!! LOVE this place!!!! My Hubbs and I are going back in May 2013 to celebrate our 7th anniversary! We got married on the beach at the Divi divi. There is no better way to celebrate our love than going back to where we were married.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have a better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The number one best thing at the Divi Tamarijn is that you are steps from the beach once you open your patio doors!
Great sun, great beach, great staff and guests! Our 20 mo. daughter made many friends from far-away places! And none of the kids were annoying.
Restaurants had great food and once you figured out the buffet, you could find good eats. The pool was small (compared too huge) but very enjoyable and not crowded. AC in room worked perfectly and our daughter really enjoyed her Divi-provided crib. Only downside on the room was the shower was open style and water got everywhere-although I was not sure our room was for Wheelchair-accessible or not). That being said, Housekeeping cleaned and provided enough towels to manage the situation.
Drinks were very good and wisely got stronger as the day / night went on. Special orders did not upset drink staff. Good Entertainment / Djs too.(not shows)
Great housekeeping too!
Bottom line: Great place to go for couples AND families! Hit downtown and hi-rise and enjoy.

Room Tip: Room in Block 12-13 are best. Close but within walking distance to main areas. But not too close so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

OVERALL
We chose to go to Aruba as all recommendations on Trip Advisor were very good. However, as soon as we arrived we were very disappointed, we were given our room key on the transfer bus to the hotel and on arrival to our room we were totally shocked at what we were expected to stay in – all I can say is filth (pedestal of the toilet had urine/hairs and I hate to think what else it was, the bath was disgusting – no mastic around the bath edge and grout missing from the tiles, my husband went to reception and explained that we wanted to be moved and to their credit they said that they could move us but not until the following day (hence we lost a day and a half of our holiday) as we were in limbo as we could not unpack etc.
The accommodation at the Divi is very tired and dilapidated and not a 4* plus Hotel but in our opinion a 3* and charging 5* prices.
To make a reservation for dinner at any of the restaurants other than the buffet you can only reserve two days . At check-in, if you want a safe for your personal possession there is a charge of $2 per day. If you want to use the non-motorised water sports facility you have to provide a credit card and fill out an additional waiver to use these items.
STAFF
One the whole mainly polite, especially at reception, but there are a few members of staff that are quite rude.
ACTIVITIES / ENTERTAINMENT
If you are there for one week you have seen it all. Trying to get a seat in the evening by the bar is ridiculous unless you eat at 6 pm, otherwise you had to sit on sun loungers.
FOOD
The buffet restaurant is the only option for meals on the first two days after arrival, since the reservations for the sit-down dinner restaurants must be made two days in advance. In our opinion the Red Parrot is the best restaurant on the resort. The only restaurant with consistently good food and service was Ginger, the Asian-themed restaurant as at all the others the meat and fish are typically overcooked and not the type of food I would expect at a "luxury" Platinum Resort. We also dined at the Paparazzi-Italian, the first week and I thought I had been presented with a plate of vomit, it was disgusting and we left the restaurant promptly, but we did try the second week and that was even worse, I ordered the pork dish, it was as if I had put a spoon into a bowl of salt, had I not been in a restaurant I would have been able to dispose of it – hence for the second time we walked out.
ACCOMMODATION
Our room after we moved was ok for a 3* hotel but not 4* plus. The air-conditioning unit was very noisy, the room was average. The room have a fridge but are not stocked, not even water, you either have to buy your water at the shop or use the water fountain near reception. The bathrooms was definitely below standard, the fittings loose and tiles dirty and in places without grout and mouldy. overall the room was sub-standard the only consultation was the beautiful view of the beach.
CONCLUSION
We will never book a Divi Resort holiday again and would not recommend it, we only booked the Divi simply because we read the reviews and were very impressed with what people were saying, obviously some people are afraid to tell the truth

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here in May/June 2012.
Firstly the Cons , of which there are very few. Aruba airport is a nightmare on arrival.Two large American planes and our Thomson one arrive within minutes of each other. The immigration hall was far to small to cope with the number of passengers arriving and people were stuck on the stairway/corridor from the plane. There seemed to be little in the way of air conditioning. Luckily we were in Thomson Premier class and got of our plane early, but we could hear lots of miserable little children in the background- not surprising after a 9 hour flight.
The Divi is definately not the place for anyone phobic about reptiles ( luckily we aren't and found them facinating). They appear all over the place from mid morning till late afternoon, and in spite of the restaurant's precautions a few little ones and the occasional iguana find their way in there at lunch time!
Though the beach and the sea are wonderful I wouldn't recommend the sea for very small children.Depending on the tide , there can be quite a current and the beach can shelve quite quickly.
Our only other "con" is the lack of privacy on our balcony. We were in Block Vista 2 -room 505, on the first floor. We loved the room and the view from it , but there are only 3ft high metal railings with glass inserts between the balconies (there are solid ones on the ground floor).Not good for security , though the area around the block was regularly patrolled by security. As we were close to the sea , we would have like to leave our balcony doors open at night to hear the waves.
The Pros. There are just so many. The staff are so friendly and helpful especially if you treat them as hard working individuals and show them your appreciation.Some guests were unbelievely rude to them and wondered why they didn't get the service they expected..The food in the restaurants that we visited, was excellent. We particularly like the Red Parrot and went there several times (must be booked in advance). We had a couple of meals in the Ginger Asian Restaurant at the Tamarijn. Again the food was excellent. We were a little disappointed with the Palm Grill there. We were inside and it was very hot. We shared our "cooking table " with a delightful local couple but unfortunately the wife didn't speak English so we felt she must have felt a liitle out of things as her husband spoke fluent English.We took most of our meals at the Pelican Terrace. There was a good variety of food at all meals and some excellent "live cooking"- the chefs often cooking something especially for you. Unlike many AI hotels we have stayed at , there was a choice of named wines,both red and white, in both the restaurants and the bar.
The bar at the Pelican Terrace was a wonderful place to sit for a "sundowner", right beside the beach. The bar staff were great fun and introduced us to "Brown Lady" cocktails -defenitely worth a try! The bar staff got to know what our "tipple" was at various times of day and often had it rea, if they weren't too busy.dy for us as they saw us approaching
As many people have said the hotel could do with a face lift in places. Our room had been refurbished and we had no complaints about it and it was always kept very clean. The chambermaids were always very friendly and cheery and couldn't do enough for us. We had a lovely side sea view from our room in Vista 2 across the grass and through the palm trees to the beach .The view from rooms 509 onwards would have had a better view.
There are not a lot of loungers around the pool (as usual people booking them from early morning and not using tham till lunchtime!), but as we like to be on the beach, this was not a problem - lots of loungers there and plent of palappas, though a few more would be useful.
The evening entertainment is low key, which suited us.Some excellent musicians on the liitle stage at the pelican bar- nice thlisten to while we are at the Red parrot or The Pelican terrace. The entertainment at the Tamarijn seemed livlier as they have more space.
There is a bus stop at the entrance to the complex -great for trips to the livlier and more frenetic Palm Beach and Oranjestad.
Would we go again-Definately. Great for getting away from the rat race and just chilling out

Room Tip: Block Vista 2 sea view 1st floor Rooms 509 onwards. Block Vista 1 has nice sea views but as the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Divi Aruba All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Aruba All Inclusive

Also Known As:
Divi Aruba All Inclusive Hotel
Divi Aruba All Inclusive Hotel Oranjestad
Divi Aruba
Aruba All Inclusive Resort
Aruba Divi Divi
Divi Aruba Beach Resort
Aruba All Inclusive
Divi Aruba All Inclusive Oranjestad
Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd #45 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Aruba All Inclusive 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Divi Aruba All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Aruba All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.