We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Divi Aruba All Inclusive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Divi Aruba All Inclusive to your Saves list
Divi Aruba All Inclusive
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd #45 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Oranjestad
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just returned from a two week holiday to this beautiful paradise Island. Having read some previous negative reviews we were a bit apprehensive. WOW!! from start to finish it was amazing. We checked in on the coach so there was no queing at reception, Sandra the rep was brilliant, the room was ready and our luggage was delivered to our rooms within 5 minutes. The rooms were large, clean and cool, a welcome refuge from the heat if needed. The bathroom was fine, ok might need some updating but everything worked well, the plug got stuck, we reported it at reception and it was fixed within half an hour. The bed was very comfortable, there is a fridge to keep water cold, this is all we used it for, the balcony had a lovely sea view. The only downside of the room was there were no tea or coffee making facilities, we had to go to a machine outside which was often out of order. The housekeeping was good, the rooms were cleaned everyday. The Pelican Terrace restaraunt was brilliant, for breakfast there was everything you could think of, I have never been to a restaurant with so much choice, lunch was the same, dinner was themed most nights, but there was always something for everybody. There was a hot station where you could have your food cooked in front of you, all food if it was supposed to be hot then it was, which made a real change, we've been to plenty of places where hot food was supposed to be hot and it's lukewarm. The only downside of the meals was the lack of choice for desserts, it was just the same small cakes every day, considering the vast choice for everything else, this was disappointing. There was no queing, no waiting for tables, drinks were topped up without having to ask, never rushed to finish a meal, music was played while you ate, either live or DJ, very relaxing atmosphere. We never went to the Red Parrot as we were happy at the Pelican, so can't comment on that. The bar was good too, loads of cocktails and different drinks right on the beach, you could always walk up and get a drink without waiting long. There was a icecream machine which had some lovely flavours in it, could have been topped up a bit more often as this was very popular and often either run out of icecream or cones, Pool area was good, plenty of places to go if you wanted shade. Then we have the beach, this was the most fantastic beach I have ever seen, almost like talcom powder it was so soft and white, this was spoilt however by people throwing their disgusting cigarette ends down by the sun beds. Oh the sun beds! people actually got up at 3am to put towels on the umbrellas, my partner got up one night for a walk as he couldn't sleep, and saw them doing it, half the time no one came to them till the afternoon. Two days before we left they replaced all the sun beds with new ones and chained them all together at night, not unlocking them till 6am when most people got up, so that put a stop to that, not many places where you can start sunbathing that early in the morning, so people made the most of their day. This is a lovely quiet relaxing resort, a big beach just dotted with people. Water sports are futher down the beach if you want them, and the motorised ones are round the other side where they can't be seen from the Divi. The trips were good too, we went on the submarine140 ft down, saw some lovely fish all colours and sizes, all in their own environment. De Palm Island was good, the Blue Parrot fish were amazing, you could go snorkling, an underwater sea trek where you can walk under water with a helmet on 20 ft down. A jeep safari round the island was fun, the tour guide for that was funny, Ivo I think his name was, shake and bake he called it!! Baby Beach was ok but spoiled by the big oil refinery close by. We also went horseriding through the countryside, saw a different side to Aruba and they were very calm horses and friendly tour guides. The sunsets were amazing too, quite a few couples got married at sunset, very romantic place to get married. Aruba is just amazing, quiet if you want it at the Divi, and lively at the high rise ie Palm Beach if you want that too, something for everybody, hot every day with a warm wind, no sign of rain, white sand, turquoise sea, lovely hotel, what more could you ask for, we loved this place, looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    633
    213
    93
    64
See reviews for
369
845
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery Village, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I traveled to the Divi all-inclusive resort in June 2012 for eight days. I decided to write a review after having a crazy day at work and immediately wished for an escape back to Aruba. My review is based on 4 things: the beach, customer service, food, and amenities. The beach located at the Divi is absolutely gorgeous. It reminded me of the Corona commercials. My boyfriend and I felt like we had the entire beach to ourselves. I would definitely return just for the beach! Secondly, the staff was very friendly and helpful. After the second day, I didn't have to tell the bartender what to make. As soon as I approached the bar he immediately started making my margarita. I also noticed that a lot of the guests and staff knew each other by name, which is very nice. If I needed anything the staff was quick to assist. However, the food was pretty average for my palate. The buffet selection was great on certain nights and mediocre on others. I liked the Red Parrot and Ginger restaurants. The remaining restaurants were okay. Lastly, the amenities such as the Internet cafe, resort shuttle, and activities concierge were great. The only issues concerning amenities are the bikes and location of the gym. The bikes are really old and need to be replaced. If I were any smaller I would have used the youth bikes. Also, there isn't a gym on the Divi resort. We had to travel to the Tamarijin side every time we wanted to work out. Overall, I would return. The resort met my expectation of providing a place for me to checkout and relax in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I will preface this review by stating that this was our 8th trip to Aruba in 7 years, and our 7th trip to the Divi AI!! That alone should tell you that we enjoy the Divi! Due to us being stingy on the time away from work this year, we went for only 5 nights. Man, does 5 nights go by fast!

Our flights to and fro via JetBlue were fantastic out of JFK. Over the past few years, we have started to skip over AA as a contender due to prior issues, mainly involving customer service. It has been a fantastic choice.

Over the years we have also learned to skip the transfer option from our Travel Agent, and put the money towards taxi fare instead. This has proven to be much quicker on both legs of the journey. Giving you a bit more time on resort... As we arrived to the resort, the bellhop greeted us with cold bottles of water, and check-in went fairly smooth. We ended up paying a slight upgrade fee to be moved to an ocean view room in vista 1. Much of vista 1 has been rebranded as ocean view.... The Divi has finally caught on here :) .

The room was clean and modestly appointed as usual. A couple years back they had spruced up the rooms with new linens, curtain, flat screen tv's, etc. Nothing new has really transpired in these rooms otherwise. They are a BIT dated, and will likely need a remodel in the next few years or so. However, they were clean and certainly good enough for us! I would rate the room as a very clean 3 star room. Housekeeping was spot on as usual. These girls certainly take their time and do things right.

The beach was in terrific shape this year. The best we had seen it since the fall storm came through a couple years back. It looks as many palapas had been added recently, which made the fight for shade much easier than prior years. Nice move. In addition, the beach was well groomed, and graded each morning. The surf was pretty intense a couple of days, which made it a bit of an adventure, but fun nonetheless!

They continue to nicely maintain the property (along with the Tam) and make modest upgrades where needed. Trees were constantly being trimmed along with general landscaping constantly being performed. They have permanently installed an ice cream machine near the Divi lobby, and have built a glass room off the Divi lobby (as you head to the vista buildings) for internet usage. This is a nice touch, as you used to have to voyage to the Tam to use the internet. Internet cards are sold at the lobby desk for a modest fee... I think $5 bought us 30 min or so. Computers worked well and were relatively new machines.

We arrived to the Divi at about 230pm and were easily able to secure reservations for the Red Parrot ala carte restaurant that evening for 600pm! In addition, we were able to get reservations for ala carte restaurants for every night as needed. You need to be a bit flexible with times, however they always had some availability! We never were in line to make reservations at 730am either... Perhaps this is an issue if you need to eat at 530pm nightly, but if you are a bit flexible, sleep in and relax a bit! The Red Parrot was great this time around... The service here was absolutely great. Ate there twice. Paparazzi was also good as usual. No issues at either location. Ginger was a shocker this year... It seems either we ordered much better than usual, or the food got better! We had a great meal here! The sushi was a little on the 'cheap' side with only two pieces out of 4 containing fish, but that was a minor issue! Ginger definitely gets the ‘Most Improved’ award!!!
The breakfast buffet was pretty much the same as any other year... Dependable and delicious. There are a ton of options, so if you have a hard time finding something you like... You are likely a bit picky to begin with! We never ate at the buffet for lunch or dinner. We ate at the Coco Grill/bar almost daily for lunch. They have the best pizzas and sandwiches there! This bar also served as a quick snack stop before bedtime! We had pasta for lunch one day at the Sandpiper Bar. This is a great little bar that likely doesn’t get the attention it deserves! Give it a shot! Pizza per Tutti over at the Tam also provided us with a couple snacks here and there during our stay. Typical bar food, but it hit the spot! Speaking of bars, the bartenders were great as usual (90% of them have been there for years!), and the drinks were also terrific. They seemed to have made the Pink Panther consistent once again! BOUT TIME!! Our favorite drink by far, so we’re glad they got it right... And the Balashi (local beer) was as delicious as always!!

As Aruba has FANTASTIC restaurants, we are a big advocate of staying at the Divi, but making sure you eat off resort once or twice... This year, we headed back to Madame Janettes, as we had not been there for a couple years. It was awesome. Steak, lobster tails, creamed spinach. All fantastic. Couldnt even finish our meals (which is a feat for me!!). This is likely our favorite restaurant of all time. Glad we made it back! For lunch or a quick snack, we highly recommend stopping at the Pastechi House in downtown Oranjestad. It's on one of the back streets (follow the construction), and certainyl worth the walk. A pasetechi is like an empanada, but better! Give it a try! Given our short and lazy stay this year, we really didn’t venture anywhere else for off resort cuisine. Like I said, don’t be afraid to eat off resort. GREAT options all over the island!

Speaking of downtown Oranjestad... They are still working to build a tourist rail system that will provide transportation from the pier (cruise ship area) to the heart of the town. For those of you that have been there before, you know that this is NOT a long walk. But... That's their plan. Arubans find it to be hilarious and foolish, but lazy tourists will likely enjoy it :)

Though this had nothing to do with the Divi, this was the first year that we experienced some fairly decent wait time on the public bus system. Though it remains very safe and easy to use (and cheap!); this year it seemed to be VERY full. I think people have caught on that it's a great alternative over expensive cab fare. We had gone to the supermarkets one day, and found ourselves waiting for a bus that wasn’t 100% full, for over 40 minutes. This seemed a bit excessive as about 4-5 buses had passed. Another note on buses, don’t be afraid to use the smaller van style buses! They really saved us this trip. We used them about 5 out of 6 times over the AruBus. Much more frequent, with seemingly more open spots.

The Alhambra casino was finally nearing renovation completion. I believe they mentioned December as the likely due date... Only putting it behind by nearly a year! It's nice inside, but will be even nicer once finished and the final floor plan is in place. The new mall/plaza behind the casino is so much nicer than it used to be... There are a couple gift shops, a mini grocer, dunkin donuts, baskin robbins, aruba aloe store, and a couple of bars and restaurants. Hopefully it takes off, because it could certainly energize that area.

Areas of improvement... Well no review is complete with a bit of suggestion, right? We honestly feel that the shuttle service could improve a bit. It seems there are more shuttles after 7-8pm... But they should start to step up the frequency at 530pm, when the restaurants open. You will sometimes go 15-20 min without seeing a shuttle, then they all seem to come at once. It's likely the luck of the draw, and nothing is really far enough to make the walk out of the question... But if your lady is wearing heals, it's kind of a pain.

Also, they had bingo scheduled a couple of times around the pool... But it never happened. Not sure why. No announcements... Staff appeared to be watching people gathering around the pool bar area too... Eh, minor detail, but it was something.
That’s pretty much it. It was a lazy vacation for us, and just what the doctor ordered! The Divi isn’t a 4-5 star hotel. It’s a 3 star room, with a 4 star resort vibe. The restaurants are good to very good. The beach is near perfect as is the setting. This location is THE best on the island in our opinion. The beach is huge, and it actually has a Caribbean vibe to it, which you have a hard time getting in the high rise hotels. If you prefer to be pampered a bit, and like high end accommodations – head towards the high rise section of the island. Perhaps the Hyatt… Otherwise, give the Divi a shot. It’s won our hearts over several times!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Arrived back last Sunday from a wonderful week at this resort. Love the low rise development and shared facilities with the Tamarijn along Eagle Beach but much preferred the Divi if you want to get away from it all and really chill. Our room looked straight onto white sand and the stunning turquoise sea beyond with no other bathers in view. We were worried about the food after having read some reviews but it was excellent. Great selection in the buffet and the other restaurants were easy to book (I guess being out of the height of the season helped). We would definitely visit again for a relaxing holiday. If you want more action then the Tamarijn or high rise hotels would be a better option.

Room Tip: Sea or partial sea view best rather than at the back of the hotel away from the beach which is a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I recently came back from my 2 week stay at the Divi All-Inclusive in Aruba that was very disappointing; especially in comparison to other cheaper all-inclusive resorts worldwide!

OVERALL
We chose to visit this all-inclusive resort to be able to pay once, and then relax and enjoy the amenities for the rest of our holiday. However, we had to deal with numerous hassles built into the day-to-day procedures and felt hustled from the moment of our arrival. Additionally, nearly all of the amenities were at the next resort over, The Tamarijn (Butlins holiday Camp) as it was known. Some of the staff were rude, the manager at the Red Parrot for one! Food at the main restaurant was overcooked and flavourless, and the accommodation at the Divi are old and dilapidated and not to the level of 4* plus. The only redeeming quality was the gorgeous beach. The general housekeeping needs to rethink its strategy as well as most mornings there where empty cups strewn everywhere, broken glass near eco stations and phones and generally dirty inside and out, I don’t quite see the point of moping the floor using dirty cold water but hey maybe that is the Aruba way! The hotel is very out-of-date, worn out and run down. This hotel is merely a 3* trying to be a 4* plus but charging 5* prices! I feel utterly conned. I and other British guests were made feel like second class citizens. I have paid less to go to top resorts in Antigua, St Lucia Egypt and Europe!!
Aruba might be a "One Happy Island" but after visiting it, this sounds more like a selling trick for tourists. This specific hotel by far did not live up to any of my expectations.

EXTRA HASSLES AND CHARGES
Aside from the spa, and one a la carte restaurant all of the Divi All-Inclusive amenities are located at the Tamarijin, making them inconvenient from our location at the Divi. To attend any of the reservation-only restaurants, you can only reserve two days in advance by waiting in a queue that forms at 7:30am for the 8:00am opening time of the reservation desk. During our first week I found out from other guests that there was a party of 100 and another of 40 of which received preferential treatment when it came to booking any of the a la carte restaurants and hence we couldn’t get in any during our first week!!!!! Absolutely disgusted as we were paying guests too, the only times available were 6pm or 9pm for dinner!
At check-in, we were informed that to get a key for the safe in the room was an extra charge of $2 per day which was a joke. It wasn’t even electronic; you had to keep the key with you at all times! God forbid if you lost it!! When taking out a raft for lounging by the very small pool, you have to sign a waiver saying that you will pay if it is not returned by 5 pm (a charge that cannot be reversed, even if you return it first thing the next morning). I thought that that non-motorised water sports were free as a guest staying at the Divi however, you had to provide a credit card and fill out an additional waiver to use these items. If you wanted to print your boarding pass or anything, the machine in the lobby charges a $5 fee! And an automatic donation to the local YMCA is added to each night of the stay, and must be contested at check-out to remove it from the bill!

STAFF
Some of the staff were nice and helpful, however the larger majority of staff were unwelcoming and rude. They also do not seem to take pride in their jobs or have any sense of customer service. Staff were often late or absent for scheduled activities and they all had a generally laid back attitude to everything and everyone .
ACTIVITIES / ENTERTAINMENT
Not much to say on this other than both were pretty much non-existent albeit Lenny Lake entertained us 1 day in the fortnight, which I have to say was the highlight of all.

FOOD
The buffet restaurant is the only option for meals on the first two days after arrival, since the reservations for the sit-down dinner restaurants must be made two days in advance. The buffet offers few options for meals; I cannot tell you how disappointed I was in this. There is only a buffet for breakfast and it was not impressive at all. I ate an English muffin every day (not quite all as some days they were stale!) The sanitation of the buffets is awful, there are flies everywhere and most of the food is all uncovered so the flies and a field day! Lunch is only the buffet again (or the 3 bars had bar food) and again not impressive, just leftovers from all the restaurants. Very bland and very boring, no customisation at all. The 3 bars that provide food all have different options. The one at the Tamarijn had better options. Fries, onion rings, chicken fingers and at the others just Pizza or Burgers. One evening we ate at the Red Parrot and was not impressed, I asked for the steak option and was appalled when I started to eat it as the meat was rotten and then sipped the beer that had also been given to me to find out that was OFF to! When we called the waiter over there was no remorse or apology just can I get you another one, to which the reply was NO! The only restaurant with consistently good food and service was Ginger, the Asian-themed restaurant as at all the others the meat and fish are typically overcooked and not the type of food I would expect at a "luxury" Platinum Resort. We also dined at the Paparazzi-Italian, which was awful, the food terrible and if your unlucky enough to be sat underneath the aircon vents extremely cold!!!!

ACCOMMODATION
The accommodation was ok I would classify as a mere 3* though, definitely not a 4* Plus . The air-conditioner was very noisy and leaked; the wall directly underneath was pouress and so it must have been leaking for some time. Upon arrival there was no water or anything left in the room, the mini-fridge was empty and was never filled throughout the duration of our stay. The bathroom was low grade, the fittings loose and tiles and bath area grubby and quite mouldy in places. (see enclosed photos)the wardrobe, if you can call it that just had sliding doors some of the runners where missing and it was therefore hard to open and close, overall the room was sub-standard and other than the view of the sea not worth the additional cost for the upgrade that I had to pay.

BEACH
Funny how the only thing that wasn't under their control was the best part our trip! The beach was great, a nice long stretch to walk on. The water was beautiful. We didn't have a problem getting shade where our room was located but again we are at the VERY END and we got up early to reserve the beds, however trying to find a sunbed that was not broken was very difficult. The only down sides of the beach were that some days the speedboats would come very close to shore which creates danger for swimmers as they belt along there and also there are no lifeguards on patrol so I wouldn’t really call it a blue flag beach as it is not really safe for children as the sea can be very rough most times with high swells and very strong currents.

CONCLUSION
I would never go to another Divi resort and would never recommend to others, unless the beach is the only priority and you do not mind mediocre to poor food and rundown accommodation! I cannot believe how this hotel has received so many positive reviews! I would have much rather of gone to another destination spent less money and got much much more for my money. I am incredibly upset, disappointed and feel that I have been conned out of my money. Not to mention that this was supposed to be my honeymoon that we had waited to take and were looking forward too for nearly a year! (All you Honeymooners BEWARE)!!!!

Room Tip: I would strongly suggest you - PICK ANOTHER HOTEL!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The staff was very nice, beaches were great and not crowded at all. the restaurants were great, the buffet was pretty good as well. the rooms were slightly outdated compared to other places i've been to. We were there for our honeymoon and we had a great time. shows to watch every night, plenty of excursions to choose from if you wanted to leave the resort. weather was phenominal all week. great place to stay, and you can drink the water. i would go back there again. the only problem i did have was that you had to stock the fridge in your room yourself. they didn't stock it, you had to buy what you wanted to put in there.

Room Tip: the ocean view room have a first and second floor, more privacy on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I had booked the honeymoon for me and my new wife, and kept it from her. So when I revealed it, it had to blow anything else out the water...and it did...by miles.

The Divi AI is a beautiful apartment-based hotel. Two storey, no high buildings casting shadows.

The rooms - Some on here say outdated, I don't know how that is. Nice large LCD tv, extremely good air-con, large ceiling fan, his & hers sinks, decent fridge (for your own water - which you need), loads of big wardrobe space, loads of drawers, couch. The king size bed was a dream to relax in...even with sunburnt skin. The bathroom was big enough for us to both get ready in at the same time. The balcony had impressive views over the beach. The walk from the room to the beach was about 1 min 15 secs - so if you needed the loo whilst on the beach you could even use your own one!! As for cleanliness of the rooms it was really impressive. The cleaners worked every bit. They cleaned up all grains of sand brought back into the room, even the ones on the balcony. One day I returned to the room to find the cleaner on hands and knees literally scrubbing the bathroom floor. Nothing had been spilled, it was spotless. Everything about the room was perfect.

Things to do - The Divi AI is not a hotel if you want to be doing stuff on the site. This is a "feet up and relax hotel". You go there to get away from our stressful lives and be lazy on the beach. You can take day trip here and there. And there's fantastic evening entertainment every single night. Evening entertainment goes from 7pm-ish (or soon after sunset) to 10:30pm. There's no late night partying, just making friends and chatting to them around the bar after 10:30pm. This is a honeymooners paradise. A large percentage of their guests are honeymooners, those celebrating anniversaries, those celebrating birthdays etc. I could see exactly why. If you are reading this and planning a honeymoon, book the Divi, you will not be disappointed. I spoke to many guests there on honeymoon, from many countries, and every single one loved it.

Staff - The hotel staff were fantastic. Every one had a smile. From the time the bellboy took our cases off the coach and to our room without and involvement from us (ie we went for a 10 min walk and found the cases in our room), we felt we were fully looked after. The waitresses during the meals went to find out what ingredients and what type of fish was used and came back with translations for me. The bar staff were funny and kept your drinks topped up without the need to ask.

Food - Simply amazing. We were going to go to some of the more "fancy" restaurants, but the food in the buffet was spot on. Cooked on small pans by the chef right in front of you. A few times I went back for a second main...and I'm a fussy eater. They cooked with nice Caribbean spices etc. Ok, if you went to the standard buffet then it was...well...bland, boring buffet. But why would you want to do that when you can have a chef in front of you cooking for you? I found the best meals came when I told the chef what meat I wanted and then asked him to put on the sauce and veg of his choosing...after all he should know best, and we are there to try their foods!

Top Tips - 1) Get the towels for the beach/pool asap and keep hold of them. You'll need to get up at 6am to get the towels on the sun loungers before anyone else. Don't worry, your room is a quick walk away, so you can be back in bed in just a few minutes. 2) Do not miss the sunset. Yeah you may want to go somewhere in the evening, but miss the sunset and you'll be gutted. 3) Take a snorkel to the beach. You'll see loads of fish just a couple of meters from the shore. 4) Do the snorkelling trip on Palm Island. Just half a day will be enough, and you can buy a waterproof camera on the island. 5) Enjoy the evening entertainment at Divi AI. If you plan it right, you'll see the sunset around 18:30, then dinner (where you'll hear the early evening entertainment (such a a solo steel drummer), then the evening entertainment. They had different dancing, from Mexican, Latino, Caribbean, Carnival. Then there was brilliant live bands.

Our rep - Sandra, was fantastic. Nuff said. She was always there if you had a question, if you didn't have one she would have a good chat or joke.

Safety - Never have I felt so safe on holiday. We were able to leave a bag with phones, Kindle, keys, my wedding ring (as I was worried about it falling off in the sea) and all the other things you'll put in a bag, and go for an hour snorkelling...without any worry.

Overall - Simply the best holiday we have ever had. You'll meet other people enjoying their honeymoons, birthdays, anniversaries, return visits.

We have already arranged meeting and returning to Divi AI with friends we made there. I'd recommend this to anyone, especially those planning their honeymoon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Divi Aruba All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divi Aruba All Inclusive

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd #45 | Druif Beach, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#3 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Divi Aruba All Inclusive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Divi Aruba All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divi Aruba All Inclusive Hotel Oranjestad
Aruba All Inclusive Resort
Aruba Divi Divi
Divi Aruba Beach Resort
Divi Aruba All Inclusive Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Divi Aruba All Inclusive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.