We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average at best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Fisherman

The Old Fisherman
Havenstraat 36 | Downtown, Oranjestad, Aruba
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 159 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“average at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The fish at old fisherman was a little disappointing, while the portions are nice and come with many sides. The fish itself was bland and dry. There are better choices in Orjanestad.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    109
    44
    23
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Slow”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Service was horribly slow, and the food was OK, but still below-average for Aruba. I would recommend Driftwood over this place.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Really good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had good service and good food here. The fried corn bread was wonderful! Our dinners were fresh and tasty. This was a nice local place we enjoyed.

We didn't have any issues with our bill, but they do have the 2 prices listed, one in Aruban currency and one USA dollars.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Decent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

The service we received was very good for Aruba. We were there late, so maybe that helped. A local recommened it. The best calamari on the island (at least of the ones we tried). My linguini and fish/seafood dish was very good. For the money, it was a pretty good choice. Again, our service was the best part. We were welcomed and treated nicely. I think we were in and out in less than an hour.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tourist SCAM--DO NOT GO HERE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Do not go to this restaurant that used every trick in the book to scam a tourist. We were off our cruise ship Westerdam and had a great visit to Aruba, only to end up in this restaurant which turned us totally off of Aruba !!! They did a bait and switch on our order, of course the order delivered was more expensive and then waitress insisited it was our original order, until we got the bill. We tried to point out (very nicely) the error on our bill. Only to be met with a very mean manager and cocky. You could tell by their reaction that they did this all the time to tourist. They also charged us $7 for a $3 beer. We didn't even argue about that price, just the error in our bill. They refused to correct it and then I had to start getting loud and told them exactly what I would pay minus their $8 upcharge on the bait and switch. I will NEVER go back to Aruba after this experience. The food was NOT even good either and way over priced.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Fisherman also viewed

 
Oranjestad, Aruba
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to The Old Fisherman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Fisherman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.