We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is only for the Double Down bar and grill located inside!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd. #248 | Aruba, Oranjestad Aruba, Aruba   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oranjestad
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“This is only for the Double Down bar and grill located inside!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at La Cabana next door and were looking for some quick and easy food... this place is terrible ... there was only one other group of people in the restaurant so there should have been no problems but there were so many... I asked for a side salad but the waitress insisted on bringing me a poached pear salad... which was gross... my mom ordered the ribs... cold and no meat all bones .. huge bones... meanwhile I never received my meal and when I asked about it I was told could I wait 15 more minutes because the chef was busy... this was the worst place I have ever been and it really needs to shut down if they can't handle 2 tables.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    265
    117
    46
    48
See reviews for
249
228
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I went to Aruba for the very first time to celebrate my birthday with my boyfriend. We chose the Tropicana, resort and casino because we wanted to be close to the beach but still with enough privacy for this special occasion.
Unfortunately the hotel didn't live to my expectations. Even though I sent an email with time in advance to let them know we choose them among others, it seemed that they didn't care. I also let them know I was celebrating my birthday and I asked them to send me information about special activities of what to do during my visit, they just sent me an email saying I should email their concierge directly.
The room was spacious but not really clean. It smelled like chemicals. The ventilation system in the room was really bad and the AC was way too noisy.
Our room (1416) was right in front of one of the pools, so at times was very noisy.
Last but not least, my boyfriend got sick during the trip, so on our last day we needed to go to the doctor and get some medicine. We requested for a late check out at least for him to rest for a little bit longer before our flight back to the US, but the lady at the front desk was not compassionate about this and she said they needed the room at 11:30am since another guest was already checking into that room.
I would say that if the workers at the Tropicana were a little bit more courteous and compassionate this would be the best place to stay at, until then... Is just another average place to stay.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Visit was pretty decent. Spent 12 days there and had one major complaint. They decided to do a hard round off renovations next door, non-stop hammering, drilling, sawing, etc. They ended up moving us directly across to the other side of the hotel, with no help, and no discount for the inconvenience. A little caring would've went a long way. Once across the hotel, realized they put us in a newly renovated room. Night and day between both rooms. I'd try and request a newly renovated one if they aren't finished by now.

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi Derek,

Thank you for your feedback. And sorry for the inconvenience you went throu. We'd like for our guests to enjoy their whole stay with us every time. The renovation is scheduled for completion end November/ December. We hope we can offer you a completed room by your next visit.

Looking forward to welcome you again, I remain,

Be well,
Jacky Filiciana
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We own a timeshare at the Tropicana and visit every couple of years. The place was built in the early 80s and is currently undergoing some upgrades.

The rooms are large, the kitchens are well equipped and the cleaning staff are excellent. Laundry facilities are available on every floor ($2 USD to wash, same to dry), although you have to buy tokens for the machines at the front desk. There are two pools in the inner courtyard, one with a waterslide. There are lots of chairs and beach tables available. In this same courtyard is Bob's Pizza, a bar and grill that has great food.

There is a Baskin Robbins ice cream shop as well as a small convenience store on site.

There is an activities co-ordinator in the lobby that will gladly book reservations for day trips, snuba, snorkelling, ATVs, etc. Often, they can book at a discount compared to dealing with the activities providers directly.

Although we own a number of timeshares, the Tropicana is our favourite. Like anywhere, the people make the difference and the Tropicana has excellent people.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi Don,

Thank you for your loyalty – we are honored to have you with us. And I’m glad to hear that overall the staff was friendly. We are looking forward to the completed renovations/ upgrades by end of 2015! We appreciate the kind words and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Stay well,

Jacky Filiciana
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for the entire week during world cup which was a plus being a soccer fan. The room had everything we needed to have a great vacation at a much lower overall cost by utilizing the kitchen a portion of the time. The beach was 1 block away and chairs were alway available regardless of the time we arrived. The super market was a short walk across the highway just behind the resort and we went daily for fresh fruit and bread. The casino was very small and seemed to cater to the locals I've never seen a bar stool reserved until I went there but the specials were good. Recommend taking the bus with a stop 1 block away and going to the real casinos downtown. If you snorkel take the bus and head to Malok that's where all the snorkel boats go and the bus is only $2.20 no matter where you go. The room was very large and clean with a nice patio to enjoy the evening. I would definately go back for the savings and location. Food is extremely expensive so for families this resort would be appealing allow you to save on food and spend the money on excursions and fun stuff.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Steve,

Thank you for taking a moment to write your review with your feedback. We appreciate this very much.

It's nice to hear you did enjoy your stay with us, and have made good use of the amenities we have to offer. Thank you for your loyalty and recomendations.

We sure look forward to welcome you back, and to show you the renovated phase.

Stay well.
Jacky Filiciana
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nathy, the bartender, at the Tropicana Casino was the best! She served us with a huge smile and we had some great conversations about the island Aruba. Even though we were not hungry, she convinced us to have the delicious Mozerella sticks and chicken fingers. We will definitely be back for more.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Brigitte,

Thank you for your feedback and nice words on Nathy. I will make sure she get to know this.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Be well.

Jacky Filiciana
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed a week at the Tropicana and it was not at all what we expected. The hotel is old and the rooms smelled. I say rooms, because they had to move us to another room and both rooms smelled musty and moldy. The entire facility is old and it shows. In fairness, the facility is currently undergoing a much needed remodeling.The rooms are equipped with a basic kitchen with a bar, dining table, couch and chair and a small TV. Bedroom was decent sized but the bed was uncomfortable. Good size closets and plenty of hangers and a safe. The bathroom was equipped with standard size whirlpool tub. The bathroom floors were so gross we wore sandals anytime we had to go in the bathroom. It looked like the tile grout had not been cleaned (Not a housekeeping issue, needs re-grouting) since the place was built. WiFi was only available in the lobby areas and at Pizza Bob's in the pool area. Food and drinks at Pizza Bobs was good. Duncan Donuts is located in the outdoor lobby area. Pools were nice and clean but you are only allowed to use one pool towel per day. The casino is small and smelly and located in a small building across the parking lot. The Tropicana is located in the "low rise" area, a short walk across the street from beautiful Eagle Beach. Food store is about 1/2 mile away and the mall, shopping, and restaurant area is about a mile away. Nice area! I must compliment the staff, everyone from the bellman, front desk, housekeeping, and concierge staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi Sirs,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review, it is much appreciated.

As you have noticed, we are in a renovation process and we look forward to see the final product by end of November. We hope to be able to welcome you after renovation, and make your stay enjoyable.

Greeting from sunny Aruba.

Kind regards,
Jacky Filiciana
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd. #248 | Aruba, Oranjestad Aruba, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bon Bini! Experience a world of limitless adventure and sun-filled days in Aruba. The Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino is just a short stroll to the white sands of Eagle Beach and centrally located in the low-rise district away from the crowds. In addition to lounging around on one of the Top 10 beaches in the world, Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino is near a myriad of entertainment options, numerous attractions, live cultural events and of course, shopping. When you need a break from the action, grab a book (or turn on your tablet) and check out the pool. Don't forget to stop by Bikini's Pool Bar & Grill and we'll serve you up a frosty beverage of your choice. Should you need any assistance making reservations or scheduling activities, our friendly on-site concierge staff will be happy to assist you. We can even create a special package of events tailored to your specific interests. We look forward to welcoming you! Sincerely, Richard Roy General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Tropicana Aruba Resort And Casino
The Aruban Hotel
Aruban Hotel Oranjestad
Aruba La Cabana
La Cabana Resort Aruba
Aruban Resort Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.