We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino

Save Saved
You added Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd. #248 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 F & B Credit
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Oranjestad
North Shore MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

While it seems to be under a significant renovation, there was rather limited noise and inconvience caused by it. The space is a bit dated and tired and does need a some new furnitures. THe public spaces were clean and well mainatined, the staff was friendly and helpful. The pools were clean and enough chairs. The pool bar was over seen by Enrique who was a highlight of the experience. He made the days fun and offered great advise of things to see nad places to eat. I look forward to another return

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    187
    79
    33
    36
See reviews for
179
165
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

First visit in Aruba and was not disappointed in the hotel. To begin - we went with two other couples who did not manage to fix their reservations on time. Just a short visit to the reservation office and everything was done perfectly. The check-in was smoothly(even I had to wait around 30 mins till 4pm since my room was not ready). The staff was very friendly and professional. The rooms are SPACIOUS , including full kitchen, big fridge, blender, microwave, coffee machine. Big living room with a sofa and TV , bedroom with TV and king size bed(some beds are 2 twin sized). The bathroom was big with Jacuzzi . AC was working very good and no complaints there. The room was on the first floor close to the adult pool(extraordinary view of the waterfall) and had a door leading to the pool. Outside there was a table with chairs where some can sip their coffee or drink with pool view.
Getting there from the airport is either by taxi($20-$25 for the whole taxi; be aware the taxi can not accept more than 5 people, even minivans) or by public bus(with a transfer in downtown). The journey is around 30 mins.
The hotel is located in quiet area, 5 mins walking from the beach. There are free chairs and umbrellas reserved for the hotel guests at the beach( be there early, 9am, since they are limited). The beach- Eagle beach - is one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever visited.
Right behind the hotel there is huge supermarket called Super Store . The access to the store is kind of hassle, I wish the hotel had a path and a gate leading towards the store.
Another feature of the hotel that is nowhere mentioned is the gas BBQ grill that is available(for free) for the guests - there are two of them on the each side of the pool. To be used the guests have to request/reserve it in advance.
The hotel had a huge parking lot in front and there were always available spots there.
I strongly recommend this hotel to anybody going to Aruba.

Room Tip: Any room on the first floor(even there is elevator for the upper floors) is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were here in early December and decided on 1/6/13 to come back again on 1/10/13 . Delta had a great last minute deal. On the other hand, we enjoy this place very much for the money you pay. With the savings, you can rent a car and go anywhere you want. Parking is always very convient.

Its quiet, relaxing,room over the water falls,nice little balcony and gives you everything you need for a very comfortable stay. Yes the furniture and other things are outdated but the room, bed, kitchen and especially the bathroom with the jucuzzi are wonderful and very clean.

Yes, Eagle beach is great, just a five minute walk away but don't forget to go to Palm beach too. Naturally, if you have a car also go to Baby beach and Rodgers beach on the other side also. This was my 7th striaght visit to the Tropicana. It's all you need and with a kitchennette, you have all the space to make your own breakfast daily. The super market is just down the road a bit. I wrote a brief review with spelling mistakes in December so I better stop writing while I am ahead now.

Just to say again, it's a very good family hotel and we as a couple enjoyed it very much, even when it rained a bit.

Room Tip: A room over the Waterfalls is so relaxing and romantic too. It;s like a story book environment..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I do not know why some people wrote bad reviews about this hotel. It was very close to the nicest beach of the island, just a short walk through La Cabana which used to be one with Tropicana.
We got more than a room: an equiped kitchen, a living room and a bedroom. Cable TV in leaving room and in the bedroom. TVs are not flat screen but who cares when you spend most of your day outside/
The hotel has 2 swimming pools, one more for kids, one more for adults. Plenty of shade if needed.
All the employees were nice and professional. For just $3, you can access the internet on the hotel computer for 1/2 hour which is plenty enough to get your emergency business done.

Taxis are between $7 to $11 to go to the "high rise" area for more restaurant choices and tourist frenzy.

I would go back to this hotel without hesitation. 2 nearby casinos were fun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just got back from Trop NYE trip.....fireworks are the best.....hotel was full, yet adult pool was empty :o) Eagle beach was "packed" due to daily cruise passengers, no big deal, just hopped in my car to secluded beaches down the coast, ROOM > Ok, its dated, BUT very clean ! 2 tv's (sorry not flat screen) but then again, WHO CARES ! I aint in aruba to watch tv, kitchen (stocked/clean) came in handy, Super Foods now open and can walk there... I did go to Tulip Rest. @ MVC hotel a few times, ya gotta go there ! (me being a solo traveler) I felt very welcome sitting @ the bar area :o) , staff are just awesome! food good and cheap (Spring rolls, chicken tenders, and salmon club) my fav. and plenty to take home...

Room Tip: rooms are the same, unless ya manage to get an updated one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flanders
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed with pals Patsy & Denise in a "suite" with small kitchen suitable for cooking meals to save on eatting out. A balcony over looking the beautiful pool and waterfall. Who could ask for more.
The Staff were more than accommodating and whatever you wanted they would get you as soon as possible. So friendly and happy to greet you every day and night.
As I read these other posts I'm shocked. I go with Pats070

Room Tip: room 3539 was sunny in the morning and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel is undergoing renovation and could possibly be wonderful once the renovation is complete, but as of current I would not sugget staying here. Staff was not friendly or accommodating at all. All the rooms were very dated and the room my family stayed in smelled like mildew. We only stayed in the room when we absolutely had to. If you have a couple extra dollars I would strongly recommend staying elsewhere. The only positives about the hotel was the pool area was very nice and it was a very short walk from the beautiful Eagle beach.

Room Tip: If you have the money just do an all unclusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd. #248 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bon Bini! Experience a world of limitless adventure and sun-filled days in Aruba. The Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino is just a short stroll to the white sands of Eagle Beach and centrally located in the low-rise district away from the crowds. In addition to lounging around on one of the Top 10 beaches in the world, Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino is near a myriad of entertainment options, numerous attractions, live cultural events and of course, shopping. When you need a break from the action, grab a book (or turn on your tablet) and check out the pool. Don't forget to stop by Bikini's Pool Bar & Grill and we'll serve you up a frosty beverage of your choice. Should you need any assistance making reservations or scheduling activities, our friendly on-site concierge staff will be happy to assist you. We can even create a special package of events tailored to your specific interests. We look forward to welcoming you! Sincerely, Brian Stedeford General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Tropicana Aruba Resort And Casino
The Aruban Hotel
Aruban Hotel Oranjestad
Aruba La Cabana
La Cabana Resort Aruba
Aruban Resort Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.