We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trop NYE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd. #248 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
B&B on our Deluxe units
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Oranjestad
pa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Trop NYE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just got back from Trop NYE trip.....fireworks are the best.....hotel was full, yet adult pool was empty :o) Eagle beach was "packed" due to daily cruise passengers, no big deal, just hopped in my car to secluded beaches down the coast, ROOM > Ok, its dated, BUT very clean ! 2 tv's (sorry not flat screen) but then again, WHO CARES ! I aint in aruba to watch tv, kitchen (stocked/clean) came in handy, Super Foods now open and can walk there... I did go to Tulip Rest. @ MVC hotel a few times, ya gotta go there ! (me being a solo traveler) I felt very welcome sitting @ the bar area :o) , staff are just awesome! food good and cheap (Spring rolls, chicken tenders, and salmon club) my fav. and plenty to take home...

Room Tip: rooms are the same, unless ya manage to get an updated one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    209
    94
    36
    39
See reviews for
204
186
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Flanders
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I stayed with pals Patsy & Denise in a "suite" with small kitchen suitable for cooking meals to save on eatting out. A balcony over looking the beautiful pool and waterfall. Who could ask for more.
The Staff were more than accommodating and whatever you wanted they would get you as soon as possible. So friendly and happy to greet you every day and night.
As I read these other posts I'm shocked. I go with Pats070

Room Tip: room 3539 was sunny in the morning and very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This hotel is undergoing renovation and could possibly be wonderful once the renovation is complete, but as of current I would not sugget staying here. Staff was not friendly or accommodating at all. All the rooms were very dated and the room my family stayed in smelled like mildew. We only stayed in the room when we absolutely had to. If you have a couple extra dollars I would strongly recommend staying elsewhere. The only positives about the hotel was the pool area was very nice and it was a very short walk from the beautiful Eagle beach.

Room Tip: If you have the money just do an all unclusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Let's get one thing straight right up front... THIS IS NOT THE RITZ CARLTON! With that said... Upon checking in the clerks at the front desk couldn't care if you were there or not. It just a yob!

The entire place is undergoing a complete exterior renovation so some sections are disrupted. Each unit is owned individually and maintained by a property management company. It's obvious this 18 year old property has been mismanaged and gone down hill. We were fortunate to get a very well kept two room apartment ($83 a day) (2532) with a brand new king sized mattress... and did not use any of the dilapidated facilities. It's a great location just an easy 5 min walk through the LaCabana Beach and Racquet Club to the beach where FREE umbrellas and beach chairs are plentiful and available. Other times we used our $35 a day rent a car for easy drives to the High Rise Hotel district for dinner and entertainment. The rent a car is a must! Cabs aren't cheap and buses eat up your entire vacation time. Example: $25 one way to the airport to the hotel + tip.

There is a brand new grocery store right across the street from the property, so picking up groceries is also EZ.

All these reviewers who are complaining are spending tooooooo much time at the hotel. We got a great deal for a spacious room. The rooms are spacious but have dated decor, but for the price we paid it was a great value. Our room was cleaned everyday and the property is safe! What's that worth? You're not buying the place... you're just holding over for a few days and get to take your wallet home with you!!!

Room Tip: Each room is individually owned. At check in.... ask to see the room. If not happy... ask to see a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Upon checking in the rude woman at the desk gave us the WRONG keys to someone else's room!!! We walked in and the people belongings were spread out! How dangerous! Makes you think that it could happen to you!
When we wanted to complain, we were ignored and the supervisor just said, sorry. Really?!? That's it??! We didn't even get to speak with the woman who gave us the wrong keys to someone elses room. Not to mention the supervisor didn't even take back the wrong keys. So it's not just a problem with one of them...
Now let's talk about the dirty outdated rooms!!! There were pubic hairs on thr oilet seat and toilet paper!!! Stains all over the curtains and bedding!!!! This is the worst place on the entire island!! I would never tay again!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I booked a night at the Tropicana to extend my stay after a week at my timeshare. I had no idea that the hotel was formerly part of La Cabana, and that it has never been renovated. The rooms are terribly outdated, but clean. The pool and lounge chairs are quite nice and made up for what the room was lacking since that's where I spent most of my time. The beach is about 3 blocks away, as is a great restaurant, Passions on the Beach. The staff was very nice but the check in process took forever.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairstown, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The first time I stayed in this hotel was in early September. After a day out, I could not wait to come back to the hotel! The staff are friendly, the room is impeccibly clean, The room view was just awesome! There is a waterfall pool which is just spectacular! It is an efficiency where you can either cook or go out I highly recommend it to anyone! If you are on a budget, this hotel is for you. For your convenience, Superfood is near by. Also very convenient to get a bus to go shopping!

Room Tip: I had an efficienty suite where we could cook in the room or go out to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd. #248 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bon Bini! Experience a world of limitless adventure and sun-filled days in Aruba. The Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino is just a short stroll to the white sands of Eagle Beach and centrally located in the low-rise district away from the crowds. In addition to lounging around on one of the Top 10 beaches in the world, Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino is near a myriad of entertainment options, numerous attractions, live cultural events and of course, shopping. When you need a break from the action, grab a book (or turn on your tablet) and check out the pool. Don't forget to stop by Bikini's Pool Bar & Grill and we'll serve you up a frosty beverage of your choice. Should you need any assistance making reservations or scheduling activities, our friendly on-site concierge staff will be happy to assist you. We can even create a special package of events tailored to your specific interests. We look forward to welcoming you! Sincerely, Brian Stedeford General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Tropicana Aruba Resort And Casino
The Aruban Hotel
Aruban Hotel Oranjestad
Aruba La Cabana
La Cabana Resort Aruba
Aruban Resort Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.