We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip back to the decor of the 1970's” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino

Save Saved
You added Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd. #248 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free parking
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Oranjestad
Secaucus, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A trip back to the decor of the 1970's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I booked a night at the Tropicana to extend my stay after a week at my timeshare. I had no idea that the hotel was formerly part of La Cabana, and that it has never been renovated. The rooms are terribly outdated, but clean. The pool and lounge chairs are quite nice and made up for what the room was lacking since that's where I spent most of my time. The beach is about 3 blocks away, as is a great restaurant, Passions on the Beach. The staff was very nice but the check in process took forever.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    193
    84
    34
    38
See reviews for
186
171
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blairstown, New Jersey, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The first time I stayed in this hotel was in early September. After a day out, I could not wait to come back to the hotel! The staff are friendly, the room is impeccibly clean, The room view was just awesome! There is a waterfall pool which is just spectacular! It is an efficiency where you can either cook or go out I highly recommend it to anyone! If you are on a budget, this hotel is for you. For your convenience, Superfood is near by. Also very convenient to get a bus to go shopping!

Room Tip: I had an efficienty suite where we could cook in the room or go out to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

we only stayed here for 3 nights but would not hessitate to come back. everyone was friendly and the pools were great. it is a bit dated but who cares, you're outside most of the time anyway..having a dunkin donuts and baskin robbins was a plus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The furnishing in most of the rooms is a bit dated, but it is very clean, and the beds are comfortable. These are time shares, so the rooms all have kitchens, which are outfitted with full fridge, stove, toaster, dishes, cooking utensils, etc. Which is really great.

There is a brand new grocery store right across the street from the property, so picking up groceries is a breeze.

Pool is lovely, and there are plenty of community grills, if you want to cook out.

The check in/check out process can be VERY LONG at times

Overall, no real complaints, and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We just stayed there a couple of weeks ago. Love it here. We were right in the middle of the two largest shopping areas. The grounds were very nicely landscaped and maintained. Our rooms were clean but a little dated, but who buys new furniture every year. The two pools were great. The staff couldn't have been nicer. We have stayed there before and have had the remodeled rooms and they were beautiful. There is a casino/restaurant on property and a pool bar/grill and a dunkin donuts. Will return to the Tropicana again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad Curacao
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were in Aruba for an Interisland Bowling tournament.
We stayed for 4 days of which the Thursday and the Sunday were ours to enjoy the Hotel facilities and Aruba in general.
We had a great time and left wthout a complaint. Very kind and helpfull people, especially in the hotel.
Nice rooms and facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had great vacation and as usual, 2 weeks flew by so fast..our room was nice and clean and very spacy..the grounds were impeccable, well maintained..both pools were well maintained and clean..
They were installing picnic tables in the courtyard and when finished a gas fed BBQ grille will be available..everyone I spoke with found there rooms adequate and clean...staff was very pleasant and helpful..

Room Tip: The sunset building especially the fifth floor gives a great sunset view,,overlooking ocean..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd. #248 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bon Bini! Experience a world of limitless adventure and sun-filled days in Aruba. The Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino is just a short stroll to the white sands of Eagle Beach and centrally located in the low-rise district away from the crowds. In addition to lounging around on one of the Top 10 beaches in the world, Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino is near a myriad of entertainment options, numerous attractions, live cultural events and of course, shopping. When you need a break from the action, grab a book (or turn on your tablet) and check out the pool. Don't forget to stop by Bikini's Pool Bar & Grill and we'll serve you up a frosty beverage of your choice. Should you need any assistance making reservations or scheduling activities, our friendly on-site concierge staff will be happy to assist you. We can even create a special package of events tailored to your specific interests. We look forward to welcoming you! Sincerely, Brian Stedeford General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Aruba Resort And Casino
Tropicana Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
The Aruban Hotel
Aruban Hotel Oranjestad
Aruba La Cabana
La Cabana Resort Aruba
Aruban Resort Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.