We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Room, Great Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino

Save Saved
You added Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd. #248 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 F & B Credit
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Oranjestad
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Basic Room, Great Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The furnishing in most of the rooms is a bit dated, but it is very clean, and the beds are comfortable. These are time shares, so the rooms all have kitchens, which are outfitted with full fridge, stove, toaster, dishes, cooking utensils, etc. Which is really great.

There is a brand new grocery store right across the street from the property, so picking up groceries is a breeze.

Pool is lovely, and there are plenty of community grills, if you want to cook out.

The check in/check out process can be VERY LONG at times

Overall, no real complaints, and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    186
    79
    33
    36
See reviews for
179
165
20
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We just stayed there a couple of weeks ago. Love it here. We were right in the middle of the two largest shopping areas. The grounds were very nicely landscaped and maintained. Our rooms were clean but a little dated, but who buys new furniture every year. The two pools were great. The staff couldn't have been nicer. We have stayed there before and have had the remodeled rooms and they were beautiful. There is a casino/restaurant on property and a pool bar/grill and a dunkin donuts. Will return to the Tropicana again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad Curacao
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were in Aruba for an Interisland Bowling tournament.
We stayed for 4 days of which the Thursday and the Sunday were ours to enjoy the Hotel facilities and Aruba in general.
We had a great time and left wthout a complaint. Very kind and helpfull people, especially in the hotel.
Nice rooms and facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dedham, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had great vacation and as usual, 2 weeks flew by so fast..our room was nice and clean and very spacy..the grounds were impeccable, well maintained..both pools were well maintained and clean..
They were installing picnic tables in the courtyard and when finished a gas fed BBQ grille will be available..everyone I spoke with found there rooms adequate and clean...staff was very pleasant and helpful..

Room Tip: The sunset building especially the fifth floor gives a great sunset view,,overlooking ocean..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have only stayed here once when it was known as "The Villas." Here is why it is a great deal at $99... you are in Aruba. It is located across from LaCabana Beach and Racquet Club. The property is in the Low RIse Hotel section of town and at Eagle Beach. Eagle Beach is less crowded with a calmer surf. The only issue is the property is showing the signs of aging. It has been sold 3xs. They have painted the exteriors but the interior is stuck in the rusty late '80s. Customer service has never been on their top priority. (Side note: the security guard (female) was actually very nice when waiting for the De Palm bus this year)

My suggestion...If you can afford another $25-50 stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had two rooms here for 3 nights before we moved on to our timeshares at the CDM. Yes, it's dated but the rooms were huge and had everything we needed. I understand that it was owned by La Cabana at one point and then another name after that which let it go to bankruptcy and then purchased 2 yrs ago from the Tropicana resorts. I loved the pools, the pool slide, the waterfall was nice and a great place to have a massage (just make sure there's no kiddos in the pool making noise). The employees were helpful and the security guards were friendly (we played checkers on the outside patio every night and they'd stop by to chat). The casino has some neat things going on - try the free slot tournaments on Wed or have your nails arted up at ladies night on Thursdays along with free champagne and free blackjack tourney. The restaurant at La Cabana right next door has all you can eat ribs - yummy. If you're looking for the Taj Mahal then you won't find it here but what you will find is a great place to chill out and have some fun. How much time do you really want to spend inside your room???? Get out and enjoy ONE HAPPY ISLAND!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel (if you can call it that) was an absolute mess. Our room was literally dirty and dated. When I raised this issue with the staff they had me look at two more rooms which were the same. I cannot believe anyone would be comfortable there. The inside furniture is plastic outdoor grade. Most all of the furniture had stains, rust, dirt, or deterioration. The only redeeming features of this place are the two pools. I ate outside at the bar between the pools and ordered a BLT. They gave me a sandwich with no lettuce. The rooms are so disgusting that we moved to the Marriott Stellaris the next night for the remainder of the trip and it was amazing. Stay far away from this place!!!

Room Tip: Here's a tip - choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd. #248 | Aruba, Oranjestad, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bon Bini! Experience a world of limitless adventure and sun-filled days in Aruba. The Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino is just a short stroll to the white sands of Eagle Beach and centrally located in the low-rise district away from the crowds. In addition to lounging around on one of the Top 10 beaches in the world, Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino is near a myriad of entertainment options, numerous attractions, live cultural events and of course, shopping. When you need a break from the action, grab a book (or turn on your tablet) and check out the pool. Don't forget to stop by Bikini's Pool Bar & Grill and we'll serve you up a frosty beverage of your choice. Should you need any assistance making reservations or scheduling activities, our friendly on-site concierge staff will be happy to assist you. We can even create a special package of events tailored to your specific interests. We look forward to welcoming you! Sincerely, Brian Stedeford General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Tropicana Aruba Resort And Casino
The Aruban Hotel
Aruban Hotel Oranjestad
Aruba La Cabana
La Cabana Resort Aruba
Aruban Resort Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;