We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent two wonderful weeks at Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   J.E. Irausquin Blvd. #248 | Aruba, Oranjestad Aruba, Aruba   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Eastern Week Special Rate
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oranjestad
Dedham, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spent two wonderful weeks at Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had great vacation and as usual, 2 weeks flew by so fast..our room was nice and clean and very spacy..the grounds were impeccable, well maintained..both pools were well maintained and clean..
They were installing picnic tables in the courtyard and when finished a gas fed BBQ grille will be available..everyone I spoke with found there rooms adequate and clean...staff was very pleasant and helpful..

Room Tip: The sunset building especially the fifth floor gives a great sunset view,,overlooking ocean..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    258
    113
    42
    47
See reviews for
245
218
28
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have only stayed here once when it was known as "The Villas." Here is why it is a great deal at $99... you are in Aruba. It is located across from LaCabana Beach and Racquet Club. The property is in the Low RIse Hotel section of town and at Eagle Beach. Eagle Beach is less crowded with a calmer surf. The only issue is the property is showing the signs of aging. It has been sold 3xs. They have painted the exteriors but the interior is stuck in the rusty late '80s. Customer service has never been on their top priority. (Side note: the security guard (female) was actually very nice when waiting for the De Palm bus this year)

My suggestion...If you can afford another $25-50 stay at another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had two rooms here for 3 nights before we moved on to our timeshares at the CDM. Yes, it's dated but the rooms were huge and had everything we needed. I understand that it was owned by La Cabana at one point and then another name after that which let it go to bankruptcy and then purchased 2 yrs ago from the Tropicana resorts. I loved the pools, the pool slide, the waterfall was nice and a great place to have a massage (just make sure there's no kiddos in the pool making noise). The employees were helpful and the security guards were friendly (we played checkers on the outside patio every night and they'd stop by to chat). The casino has some neat things going on - try the free slot tournaments on Wed or have your nails arted up at ladies night on Thursdays along with free champagne and free blackjack tourney. The restaurant at La Cabana right next door has all you can eat ribs - yummy. If you're looking for the Taj Mahal then you won't find it here but what you will find is a great place to chill out and have some fun. How much time do you really want to spend inside your room???? Get out and enjoy ONE HAPPY ISLAND!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel (if you can call it that) was an absolute mess. Our room was literally dirty and dated. When I raised this issue with the staff they had me look at two more rooms which were the same. I cannot believe anyone would be comfortable there. The inside furniture is plastic outdoor grade. Most all of the furniture had stains, rust, dirt, or deterioration. The only redeeming features of this place are the two pools. I ate outside at the bar between the pools and ordered a BLT. They gave me a sandwich with no lettuce. The rooms are so disgusting that we moved to the Marriott Stellaris the next night for the remainder of the trip and it was amazing. Stay far away from this place!!!

Room Tip: Here's a tip - choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westpunt, null, Aruba
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have stayed at this building through the years, first when it was Lacabana, then Aruban Resort and this time was the first as Tropicana. The building itself is totally unacceptable to rent to guests.
Furniture in the room was the same as more than 10 years ago. So you can imagine how they look like. When I opened the sofa bed, there was a dirty linen on the mattress, like they never made it up after the last check in. Mattress is not in the shape, and neither to sell like they do when they renovate the hotels, it is just a trash.
There was a 2 light stove, and only 1 worked, the microwave was broken. The fridge had stain on it. When I opened the drawer to get silverware, a cockroach surprised me, and smelled like they have a long time without cleaning in there. JUST DISGUSTING !!!
Although we really had no issue with the staff, because the service was outstanding. Front Desk always answered within 3 rings, with a pleasant voice and had the correct answer for all question. Pool is super relaxing as always, hearing the water fall and kids enjoying the slide, just awesome. Great job on the gym, very beautiful.
The building itself needs a urgent renovation, which was also noted on the other side where we stayed, but something has to be really done with the rooms itself, I think the cleaners are not doing a good job with the cleanliness, or there are not sufficient supervisors to supervise them. I worked in the Hospitality Business for years, and really know all about this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Let me begin by saying spend a few more dollars to stay where customer service and the facilities are the hotels priority. When we checked in I followed what others had said about upgrading, asking for a newly renovated room but to no avail. The host was not very pleasant and very unhelpful. Moving onto the room, the pull out couch had stains and BUGS all over it. The floors had hair all over and the bathroom floor wasn't mopped at all. The fridge leaked all over the floor everyday we had to use our towels as mats. The toilet was plugged for the first 3 days and the tub wouldn't drain. Overall we wouldn't recommend this hotel maybe once they finish the renovations and upgrade all rooms it might be better.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed at the Tropicana in August. We got a great deal for a spacious room. Half the resort is undergoing renovations. The room are spacious but have dated decor, but for the price we paid it was good value. Our room was cleaned everyday. The adult pool is nice with a waterfall, but they only have about 20 lounge chairs. You have to walk thru La Cabana and cross the street to get to the beach but Eagle beach is beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino

Address: J.E. Irausquin Blvd. #248 | Aruba, Oranjestad Aruba, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bon Bini! Experience a world of limitless adventure and sun-filled days in Aruba. The Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino is just a short stroll to the white sands of Eagle Beach and centrally located in the low-rise district away from the crowds. In addition to lounging around on one of the Top 10 beaches in the world, Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino is near a myriad of entertainment options, numerous attractions, live cultural events and of course, shopping. When you need a break from the action, grab a book (or turn on your tablet) and check out the pool. Don't forget to stop by Bikini's Pool Bar & Grill and we'll serve you up a frosty beverage of your choice. Should you need any assistance making reservations or scheduling activities, our friendly on-site concierge staff will be happy to assist you. We can even create a special package of events tailored to your specific interests. We look forward to welcoming you! Sincerely, Richard Roy General Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Tropicana Aruba Resort And Casino
The Aruban Hotel
Aruban Hotel Oranjestad
Aruba La Cabana
La Cabana Resort Aruba
Aruban Resort Casino
Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Aruba Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.