We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   L G Smith Boulevard 82, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 45% Off
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oranjestad
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Renaissance for a conference. It is 5mins from the airport and close to the Marketplace and some very high end shopping. Take the complimentary boat ride offered right from the lobby to Flamingo Island with actual flamingos roaming around. Right across the street from the submarine that takes you to the bottom of the ocean. I stayed on the adult property which was quite buzzing with activity. Food was not great but service is top quality. The rooms are also very modern and clean.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    971
    946
    329
    140
    91
See reviews for
406
1,256
57
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

The hotel is very unique, updated, and ultra cool. The location is right in the heart of downtown ARUBA and conveniently located to great restaurants and shopping. The pool overlooks the marina, with a great ocean view. The staff at the bar, restaurants, and tour desk were very friendly. The house keeping staff was great. The rooms are small and not luxurious at all, in comparison to hotels in the same category. The private island was nice, but somewhat of an inconvenience. There was always plenty of room at the private beach, plenty of chairs, etc. But, it is located right next to the airport, so you continually hear & see the planes landing and taking off. This was our first visit to ARUBA. We really enjoyed our trip, it was great and relaxing. However, if we return we will probably choose to stay at one of the high rise resorts with direct access to the ocean.

Room Tip: Our room was located on the interior of the hotel overlooking STARBUCKS, the lobby, and the boat doc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed at this hotel from April 21st to April 28th of 2014.

I must say, my initial impression of my room was not all that great. The rooms seemed dated and with a name like suites, I guess I expected a larger room. It seems they have begun renovations of the hotel and that's a good sign because it needs it.

When we initially arrived, there was supposed to be champagne in the room to celebrate our honeymoon but nothing was there. I had to go to the front desk and request it which took away from the experience of arrival. I must say the front desk staff were helpful in this occasion and every time there after.

Those were the only negatives I have about this resort. The rest of my opinion is fantastic. The best part of this resort is the private island. It has a great beach, it's own restaurant and a private Cove that includes a spa. My wife and I took advantage of the spa and got a couples massage. What a great decision!

The pool at the hotel was nice and the bar staff at Sole were great!

All in all, the services and staff were absolutely wonderful here but I'd have to see what the renovated rooms look like before I decide to stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Perhaps my expectations were too high, given my absolutely sensational experiences in Renaissance Hotels across the pond.

We had a room in Renaissance Ocean Suites. We were staying the previous 5 days at the Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, which as I stated in my most recent review I felt it was a bit worn-out.

In life there's a saying: you never have a second chance to make a first impression. Renaissance Ocean Suites first impression was simply Bad. They are starting what it looks like a major renovation that has some time due. The mattress in the sofa bed are basically a sheet! There's no cushion at all is like sleeping directly on the springs. Air conditioning was noisy and the shower did not keep a constant temperature so I was jumping in and out because it was too hot or too cold.

I general you feel that the rooms, although in good shape, are sort of vintage! I thought that I was going to get a proper suite not a fairly big old room, specially at 300$ a night

Things got better the first morning, breakfast was really good, the innovative Arubian Benedict eggs were a hit and there was a good variety of things.

Then we got to the island and voilà.... I'll get this review on the island, but everything improve a lot. Thought eventually we'll have to go back to the room

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArubaHospitality, Director of Operations at Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Leo - Indeed, we have already started with the room renovation of the Ocean Suites which is scheduled to be completed by November end.
I am sure upon your return next year we will be able to exceed your expectations.

Regards
Parimal Trivedi
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We chose this hotel because we got some free nights with points my husband had. It was our first trip to Aruba and we loved everything about it. We didn't feel we missed out not being near the High arise hotels. The downtown area is much less crowded and unique, with Caribbean architecture all around. The Renaissance private Island was the best!! Picture perfect gorgeous, protected safe coves to swim in, beautiful birds and interesting iguanas and lizards abound, and ALWAYS available chairs, no matter what time you go there. That is what sets the Renaissance apart from the High Rise area Americans think they must flock to. We had people tell us their hotel offered to reserve chairs for them at their pool or beach for an extra fee per day. Not a problem at the Renaissance. Island is exclusive to hotel guests. We stayed in the adult only Marina hotel,as we did not have our kids with us, but spent one day over at the Ocean Suites, family
friendly property. The pool areas at both hotels are beautiful, and, again, always available chairs. We did not see the Ocean Suite rooms, but understand they are undergoing renovations to update right now. The Marina hotel's updates are completed and the rooms are beautiful. Our room did not overlook the water, but we didn't mind, since we were only in it to sleep, shower, and change. Aruba is so beautiful you are always outside!! Julio, bartender at Sole pool bar was super nice and fun to talk to. We also loved the Marina pool waitress Elizabeth was awesome too. Great personality and always on top of your drink or food needs. We will definitely come back to Aruba and the Renaissance again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Definitely a great location if you don't have a car and want to stay around downtown. Convenient to get around with taxis available. The Marketplace was a nice spot to walk to and lots of eateries. CUba's Cookin is a definite recommendation.

Enjoyed spending the day at the private island with flamingos loitering in the beach area. Clean and very peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Definitely a better experience than expected, it was nice to have the pool on the hotel site and then feel like you were getting away from the hotel when you went to the separate private island to hit the beach. We booked last minute and it felt like a good deal considering it was so close to our departure. The staff was very tourist friendly and we were surprised by how easy it was to get to the separate island. We did a separate snorkel tour and enjoyed that thoroughly. Great experience overall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#4 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonder of Renaissance Aruba isn’t just white sandy beaches, or crystal blue waters. The chance to discover something wonderful is all over the island, and we can show you the way. Our location in Oranjestad’s vibrant downtown gives you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic, get the thrill of a hand of poker in our two casinos, or take in Aruban culture from the beating heart of Aruba’s capital city. For an escape within an escape take a water taxi to Renaissance Island, Aruba’s only private beaches. Its pristine, secluded shores offer peace and solitude simply not found anywhere else in the world.We offer two hotels each with their own unique experience, but still allow you to enjoy the amenities of both. The Renaissance Marina Hotel was especially designed to be an intimate couples escape, and features a water launch to Renaissance Island from inside the hotel itself. Renaissance Ocean Suites is perfect for families so the littlest ones can discover the wonders of paradise for themselves. No matter where you go with Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino we will be your guide to finding everything this happy island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.