We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best customer service ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   L G Smith Boulevard 82, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30% in Aruba
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tobaccoville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best customer service ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We spend a lot of time at the pool and the pool bar. We found that everybody remembered us from our last trip, so we were greeted with hugs and welcomes! We never had to ask for service, it was just there! Jackie, Jennifer, Elizabeth, Edgar and Nelson at the bar were amazing, and willing to help us in any way they could. They were very proud of their Aruba, and their Rennaisance Hotel! When one of the folks was sick, Nelson brought in iguana soup, as his grandmother swears it has healing powers! Everybody was happy to make our trip better if they could.

I would be remiss if I did not mention Ariana Gonzalez. We used to be regular Aruba Marriott visitors, and she talked us into trying the Rennaisance. We are very glad she did. She checks in and makes sure everyone is ok, and to see if there is anything at all she can do to make the visit a happy one. She is truly a great ambassador for your happy hotel! Thank you for another great Rennaisance experience!

Kathy Windham

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,144
    1,036
    356
    147
    98
See reviews for
475
1,402
68
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (610)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Loved Aruba. Hotel was nice but needs updating. We discovered there are two hotels across from each other - one adult only "Marina" the other family hotel "Ocean Suites". The adult only is the one just being updated, has the Casino and is quite lovely. The Suites are nice and hopefully will be updated soon. Nice pool and beach area, private island a plus and lots of convenient little shops (Starbucks, Variety store, ice cream, donut shop, high end stores in the Marina, +). Loved a little restaurant, Casa Tua just outside of the Ocean Suites Hotel...reasonable prices, amazing food, happy hour 5-7 and a live band....great place to watch the lovely sunsets. Hotel has lots of palm trees and amazing scenery for pictures. Nice walk into the downtown area to do a little shopping. Met some fellow tourists who frequent Aruba and they introduced us to Diamante Jewelers- they have everything from Pandora beads, lovely gifts to bring home and of course diamonds to envy. Nevin was amazing, will definitely go back to do some serious shopping in the future. Met lots of lovely people in Aruba, will look into Eagle and Palm Beach for future. Rennaisance was a good start, convenient and overall a good choice for our stay. Will look into all inclusive packages for the next stay. Can't wait to visit Aruba in the future.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are a must. If you want the updated hotel, Marina, the higher floors are fully ren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Brazil
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Renaissance is located right down town in a privileged site, just across from the marina. This is an upscale, luxury hotel with beautiful décor, ambiance and flair, which is undergo-ing a full renovation of all its rooms. On the ground floor, a shopping mall, with upscale stores of famous brands, are a guarantee of a conveniently close nice, and expensive, shopping tour.

Upon arriving, we were friendly and warmly welcomed by front desk people, whom checked us in very quickly. In minutes we were pleasantly and comfortably installed in our side-view, fully renovated, brand new room. Shortly after starting to unpack, the door bell rang and I was surprised with a bottle of Freixenet Brüt, two small, rich chocolate cakes and a card from the hotel staff in greeting me for my birthday, which was the purpose of our visit to the hotel. That was really a great way to start our pleasant stay!

Room was large, yet not immense, and very, very comfortable. Elegantly decorated, it counted on a corner sofa, a round office/meal table and chair, 42” LCD TV, mini bar, freezing air conditioner, coffee machine and assorted tea bags, reading light and two different nice room lightning systems and safety box. The lovely king bed and the extra feather pillows secured a high-quality sleeping during our stay. Bathroom was mostly white and bright, with great shower, a large mirror, shaving mirror and hair drier. Upscale AVEDA brand toiletry items replenished every day, lots of large towels and an incredibly comforta-ble robe complemented the pleasure of the shower. Yet nice, the bathroom lacked rails and hooks for the towels. Room and bath room were immaculately cared and clean.

Internal fast and comfy panoramic lifts brought us soon down to the lobby area. Embracing the front desk, the nice Blue lobby bar, a large lounge and the access to the external pool, the lobby was very large, illuminated and spacious, definitely a pleasant place to stay. Happy hour from 4PM to 6PM at Blue guaranteed discounted beer, drinks and snacks provided with an attentive, friendly and prompt service. At night, the bar was back-lighted in blue while candles were scattered all over the pool area, lobby and along the stairway that connects it to the parking area, at the ground floor level, creating a magic, enchanting atmosphere. Sitting outside by the pool at night sipping a drink or a beer or even smoking a “Cuban puro” is a relaxing, pleasant program.

The hotel’s jewel of the crown is the Flamingo Island, exclusive for guests. Shuttle motor boats depart every 15 minutes from the hotel’s private deck, at the main entrance level, which is connected by means of a small, charming channel that goes under the main ave-nue, to the marina area and the open sea. The ride from the hotel to the island takes a few minutes, only.

The Flamingo Island is gorgeous, breath-taking area offering a family beach and an adult-only beach, where the beautiful, peaceful and friendly flamingos are. Both beaches are oval-shaped and offer calm, tepid, crystal-clear shallow water. Local fauna share the water with guests. Plenty of palm trees, beach chairs and palapas, and counting on a nice bar and restaurant and a massage center, the island is a piece of paradise on Earth, a fantastic place to enjoy for hours. Snorkeling and water sports equipments are available for rental for a fir price.

Place a chair on the walk-way on the opposite side to the family beach to enjoy the breeze from the open sea and the great view of the planes of all sizes landing at and taking off from the nearby airport, which just across from the island. Take a nap, read a book, en-gage in a conversation or simply close your eyes and relax…

Room Tip: Side rooms, cheaper than sea-front rooms, also offer a great view of the marina and casino area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtright
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Everything about this resort was amazing! Food and service was outstanding! 2nd floor pool was the best! My husband loved LG Smiths steakhouse lol steak everyday for a week!!!! We will b back! Jeep safari is a great tour to go on.

Room Tip: My only change would be to not have an atrium room, sun doesn't shine in and wake u!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed 5 days after 4 days at the Marriott, because the airline we were taking to Curacao suddenly went out of business. We stayed at the Ocean Suites, large room with a fabulous view. The service from the staff is excellent, the rooms comfortable, the pool area is great and the mall outside has lots of dining options. The evening buffet dinner by the pool with different themes is a bargain and very good. My only complaint is there is no wifi available in the rooms, just free wifi in the lobby or wired internet in the room for $15 per day!!! Consequently, all day long the lobby was crowded with people checking their emails. The Marriott had awesome wifi all throughout the property, even by the pool and beach. I personally need to be connected to my office even on vacation, so this system was not convenient for me since my phone and iPad don't work with the wired system and sitting in the lobby is not efficient. Other than this one element, I definitely can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is the worst hotel I have ever been to. Here is why- it has a horrible location... The only beach around it is the 'private' one that a boat takes you to. (But it is nice n thats abt the only compliment i can give this establishment) You can't just wake up and walk to the beach though so that sucked. the hotel pool is so small. The other hotels are located on a hotel area strip thats always lively with a bunch of restaurants, clubs, etc. Very disappointing, the staff here are not friendly except for the baggage guys and the kid training named Ralph. The tubs in the bathroom are disgusting. The paint is chipping off, it looks repainted and it is just filthy looking, chipped paint is not good for anyone's health. Asked to be put in another room and staffer Melissa' basically said " everyone is asking for a room change, we don't have any rooms to give" . Not a good sign when "everyone" is asking a room change. Very insincere houskeeping came and checked and minimized our concern. Found bites on my arm and leg..afraid it looked like BEDBUG bites. Showed the housekeeping supervisor and front desk staff.. Did no good. They just don't care and have a flip attitude .. But even when i asked if they can check the seams of my bed , she didn't and then basically said "oh it's just a couple bites for one more night". i mean to not take a customer's bug bites seriously especially when it could be bed bugs.. Thats crazy. They have a whole lot of construction going on which makes it noisy. It is situated right on top of a mall. It is just so bad here. Im so sorry i stayed here and will never in my life go back there and I will be sure not one person I know ever books there either. So disappointed. More in their customer service because they just don't care and they show it in their attitude and appearance. I beg every reader to choose another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stay at a lot of Marriot's and you would never guess. After arriving at the Ocean Suites Hotel, not the Marina one,about 3:30 pm we did not get our room until almost 5:45 and others were still waiting. We waited in line just to talk to the check in desk for almost 45 minutes, then signed us in and then your room is not ready(very few were getting rooms) and to check back. Problem, you have to wait in line again to just go back and get your keys. Over first few hours we spent waiting in line, twice. It was this way every day. If you want wi-fi internet access you have to lay around with all the young people and hope to get a place to sit in the lobby since it is not available in the rooms or in the pool area even. So, so many things could have been better with a little bit of money spent wisely on customer comfort and better management. Theopen lobby is hot and they do not even have any fans in the lobby as every hotel we have ever stay at in any tropical area. The VIEW except about a dozen rooms on the end, face the lagoon area, or parking lot and some you have to stretch to see the real ocean. Even the employees call the rooms something different, from you have an ocean front, all these rooms are ocean view and even one of the managers told us, oh, you are overlooking the park! We had been assured we were ocean front and we were not. Talked to others and there seems to be no real answers from one employee to another. This is the biggest porblem, the way it is run and advertised is misleading and the employees need to at least call things the same. I have never been somewhere where so many people were complaining and the staff having to deal with so many problems. If the internet in the room is not working, they connect YOU to the service and you sit on the line with them for an hour or two of your vacation. Not a good thing.
The positives, once we accepted all of the above. Amazingly, the staff to us was always nice, maybe because we were not as irate as other visitors. The staff always said hello and most were smiling. So I say that the people are very friendly if treated the same way, but the way the place is run has a lot of room to improve and needs some attention quick. They have to be losing repeat business.
The hotel has a nice pool and in a great spot with local places to eat and things to do. The private island was great and we really enjoyed it. I did miss a real beach with real ocean waves, not lagoons, but it was pleasant. So the outside of the hotel and activites are both great and food and shopping and activities are very easy to get to.

Room Tip: Only about a dozen rooms are really ocean front. I suggest you study the hotel design and be sure th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonder of Renaissance Aruba isn’t just white sandy beaches, or crystal blue waters. The chance to discover something wonderful is all over the island, and we can show you the way. Our location in Oranjestad’s vibrant downtown gives you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic, get the thrill of a hand of poker in our two casinos, or take in Aruban culture from the beating heart of Aruba’s capital city. For an escape within an escape take a water taxi to Renaissance Island, Aruba’s only private beaches. Its pristine, secluded shores offer peace and solitude simply not found anywhere else in the world.We offer two hotels each with their own unique experience, but still allow you to enjoy the amenities of both. The Renaissance Marina Hotel was especially designed to be an intimate couples escape, and features a water launch to Renaissance Island from inside the hotel itself. Renaissance Ocean Suites is perfect for families so the littlest ones can discover the wonders of paradise for themselves. No matter where you go with Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino we will be your guide to finding everything this happy island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.