We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with the stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   L G Smith Boulevard 82, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 25% off Leisure Rate
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Oranjestad
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Happy with the stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance for a week in April 2013 as part of an all inclusive package. The hotel had a different feel to it from other resorts given that the it is located downtown, Aruba. They have their own private beach which is a short 5 boat ride away. Nice place to relax.

We were quite happy with the food selection. There is a steakhouse, a seafood restaurant, a cool bar (Blue) and a lounge for midnight eating. Across the street at the other location, there is an outdoor eating area.

The room was spacious enough and the king size bed was a treat. The bathrooms were not spectacular but fine enough.

I'd recommend the hotel for a comfortable stay in Aruba. But not if you're looking for sheer luxury.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    850
    856
    290
    134
    86
See reviews for
358
1116
49
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is centrally located between the marina and main street. The main shopping street down town Oranjestad. An upscale mall is part of the hotel complex. The main street area is currently at the final stage of a major renovation but is going to be absolutely beautiful. This did not bother our stay at all. The opposite happened; can't wait to be back next year to see the 'new' Main Street :).
The hotel has everything you need and expect from an upscale hotel. Friendliness of the staff, cleanliness of the rooms and property struck me. The separation between the 'adults' only and 'general' access pools and beaches is something major resorts can learn from.
You have to try out the spa!
Their private island is a winner. However, it's very close to the airports main runway so you will hear planes take off and land.
Just loved it and recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: The hotel is in a remodeling phase. We stayed in a currently remodeled suite and it was absolutely f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobourg, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We just returned from a wonderful vacation in Aruba. We went there last year with another couple and loved it so much that we returned again this year. Both times we stayed at the Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino. I once read that happiness is a path or a journey, not a destination. This past week we experienced a fun relaxing seven days with wonderful weather every day in a beautiful country.
Our plans included seven days of R & R, refreshing drinks and delicious food. We were all-inclusive. We felt we received great value for the money.
The resort is ten minutes from the airport, we had a nice room with a view. The resort has a boat that comes into the Resort to take visitors out to their own private Island, which has all the beach chairs, etc. plus a restaurant/bar with beach service.
Aruba has great weather, friendly people, easy to get around and to drive. We rented a car in the lobby and spent a day exploring the Island highlights.
I must say the main reason we returned for a second vacation to the Renaissance Aruba Resort was the food (especially love the L.G. Smith’s Steak & Chop House) and the courteous, friendly staff. A big thank you to Andrey who gave superb service. We would also like to give a bit shout out to Jennifer who was excellent at keeping us hydrated while at the pool. We met several vacationers who told us they came to the Renaissance many times because of the food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas/Ft. Worth
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The Renaissance Aruba is really two different hotels with two different personalities. That's a good thing, because there is really something for everyone. A beach, private island, cool adult-only pool, casino, and lots of things to do.

One hotel is on the beach, appears a little bit older than the other one, and has suite-like rooms with separate bedrooms from the living room.

The main hotel has a modern, hipster vibe, is across the street from the water, but has a stunning pool area for adults-only overlooking the water from the second floor.

I stayed in the building on the beach. I was very pleased by the size of my room. It could have used a small amount of updating, but was good quality and the suite-like arrangement of the room brilliantly cut out hallway noise. I never heard another guest. My one complaint, is that the rooms did not have internet access, so the lobby (which has free wi-fi) is constantly filled with zombie-like guests checking emails and Facebook. Check-in was like a scene from 'Walking Dead'. This is a nice hotel that should not be avoided for that reason, but the internet problem smacks of the ridiculous in a hotel of this caliber today.

The Renaissance is not your standard caribbean resort, but Aruba is not your standard sleepy-caribbean-island either. The hotel has been creative with their real estate and created a place with enough variety to please almost everyone. Because of that, I have to recommend the hotel if you are headed to Aruba.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I have mixed emotions about staying here. Check in went well at the Marina but the pictures on the website make the room look better than it is. The room is okay but the bathroom sucks. The tub is like 5 colors and 50 years old. Oh yeah it also smells like mold. We changed rooms three times in three days. First from the moldy smell in the bathroom. The second room had the same crappy tub and moldy smell. Oh this hotel is renovating so be prepared to hear construction noises from 10a-6p. There is A LOT of construction in the immediate area so be prepare to hear those construction noises from like 5a-8p. It's annoying and it interrupted my sleep like crazy. The manager Esmeralda is great though and she has very good customer service skills. She moved us to the ocean suites. Those suites are very much standard. It's not an upgrade. Just a bigger room with a balcony. By the way, the ocean suites are across the street. Over here we had hot water issues. First we had to call maintenance because the hot water is listed as cold and the cold water is listed as hot. Not even 24 hours later a pipe broke and we literally had no hot water. Sucks right, especially after laying on the beach and relaxing in the pool all day. We managed to get hot water by the end of the day. I won't stay here again, its just too frustrating.

As for the Marina, everything is better here (minus the tub and lack of a balcony). Better rooms, hallways, lots of shops, casino, and the water shuttle actually picks you up in the lobby to take you to the beach. At the ocean suites you have to go down a walkway to get to the dock to take you to the beach, there is a marketplace with a few shops and restaurants, a movie theater with current movies, and two pools (but the mariner pool is still better although its smaller). The marina is adults only. Oh yeah the water shuttle comes about every 10-15 minutes to pick you up/drop you off at the private beach.

The private beach is nice. I like the family beach better than the adult only beach because the family beach I didn't have to walk on rocks and shells the entire time I'm in the water. That soo took away from my experience. It's nice seeing the flamingos and Hermet crabs freely walk around on the beach. The only good thing is its not crowded like all the other public beaches.

Last thing, the Aquarium seafood buffet is really good and worth the money. Check it out for sure. Everything I ate was good. I was skeptical at first because a lot of seafood buffets have low quality or imitation seafood that sits there for hours. At this one they cook some of the fish at request and nothing I had was cold, dry, rubbery, or imitation. They get 5 stars for food and service. A few more restaurants to check out are Old Fisherman (good seafood ... Had dinner and breakfast here), iguana joes (nice bar but food is good too), and smokey joes (ribs and BBQ). Do not go to Tango ... The food and service are terrible (for $30 plus dollars a plate you shouldn't give someone freezer broccoli and dry fish and never ask how is your meal).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Off the Marina in the heart of downtown a walk away from the top places to shop. VERY CLEAN! One can practically eat off the floors. Everywhere you turn something is being wiped, sprayed, shined or polished. The hotel is beautiful with an indoor outdoor decorum. The rooms are currently being updated. The bathrooms could be a little bigger. The all-inclusive food is average. The drinks are really tasty. Staff is friendly and professional and speak at least four different languages. ARUBA has gorgeous weather 365 days a year with a incredible ocean breeze.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Wife and I stayed in the middle of January! Weather was great. The room was recently updated there was plenty to do. Make friends with the bartenders! Wherever you are in the world they are tuned in to the places to go or be. Raphie at BLU is the man!!!! Everywhere he told us to go was great and always remember to only order off the blackboard when he tells you to go somewhere. I also highly suggest talking adavantage of the adults only side or the resort and the private island

Room Tip: Happy hour drinks are 2 for 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82, Oranjestad, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
#2 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
#5 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonder of Renaissance Aruba isn’t just white sandy beaches, or crystal blue waters. The chance to discover something wonderful is all over the island, and we can show you the way. Our location in Oranjestad’s vibrant downtown gives you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic, get the thrill of a hand of poker in our two casinos, or take in Aruban culture from the beating heart of Aruba’s capital city. For an escape within an escape take a water taxi to Renaissance Island, Aruba’s only private beaches. Its pristine, secluded shores offer peace and solitude simply not found anywhere else in the world.We offer two hotels each with their own unique experience, but still allow you to enjoy the amenities of both. The Renaissance Marina Hotel was especially designed to be an intimate couples escape, and features a water launch to Renaissance Island from inside the hotel itself. Renaissance Ocean Suites is perfect for families so the littlest ones can discover the wonders of paradise for themselves. No matter where you go with Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino we will be your guide to finding everything this happy island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.