We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The customer service was so great that I really felt that I was on vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   L G Smith Boulevard 82, Oranjestad, Aruba   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 30% in Aruba
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tobaccoville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The customer service was so great that I really felt that I was on vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We recently enjoyed our first visit to the Renaissance, although we have been to Aruba about 14 times. Being recently retired, cost is more of an issue for us so I must shop for good deals in order to continue to travel. I found a great promotion at this hotel, enabling the trip. We spent most of our time by the pool, where the customer service was delightful. Sugary, Jennifer and Nelson took care of our every need, and happily!

We had a great trip out to the beach one day. The pink flamingos were awesome, and the beaches were beautiful.

The room was nice, although the bathrooms are in need of an update. I understand there is a plan in place to do that.

The steak house was great, and having Starbucks there was special as well. It would be nice to have wireless available in the rooms too....as there are so many tablet and smart phone users today.

Sitting in the water at the edge of the infinity pool overlooking the marina...with a green parrot couple protecting their nest in the palm tree next to us is a memory I will carry with me always.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,141
    1,035
    356
    147
    98
See reviews for
474
1,399
68
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed on the 6th floor of Marina hotel overlooking Starbucks. We had no view but did not mind. We could pick up free wi-fi from Starbucks but it was weak signal. The room was clean but the tub was nasty looking. We enjoyed the pool area and the Blue bar for happy hour. We booked through Priceline by bidding. We also enjoyed the private island they have. We would stay here again for the deal we got. Lots of nice restaurants close by and lots of shops.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed at Marina part of the hotel. It was a big disappointment when I opened the door to the room especially bathroom. It is like a hostel category one. We changed rooms but it was no help we were told all are the same. Furniture in room is outdated, holes in curtains and bathtub is a place where I would never ever take a bath. Amenities are not as described on the web. I would never rate this hotel as 4*. For slippers we had to ask and except for bathrobe, shampoo, conditioner and shower gel more can not be expected. Bed made squeaky noises each time I turned.
Hotel itself is fine, location is great and beach is nice. The only problem on the beach is that airport runway is near so if you like quiet time planes will bother you from time to time but we took it as an attraction rather then a problem.
I wouldn't say service was outstanding. We were on the 3rd floor and housekeeping was coming around 3PM and it was not perfect. Before our leave they started construction work around swimming pool. There was no note passed to us neither apology from the Management for inconvenience caused.
Overall I would not go back unless they carry out renovation and Management could care more as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I just stayed here for 5 nights over Thanksgiving week. We used 100,000 Marriott points to stay for free, and then upgraded to an ocean front room for $59 per night (plus tax). We liked the downtown location of this resort. There are lots of shops and restaurants nearby and the cruise ships dock across the street. The hotel is not on the beach, although we did have a lovely view from our room, which overlooked the pool, street and ocean. The pool area was very nice (although small). We also used the pool at the Ocean Suites a couple times too, as that pool area is huge. We did go to the private island one day which was nice. The downtown area closes earlier than Palm Beach, so a couple times we took the Arubabus (public bus) to Palm Beach for only $2.30 US each way per person. It was clean and very safe. As to the hotel itself, the lobby area was very nice. Our room (room 1558) was just fine - it was actually pretty nice. The bathroom was small and a little outdated but it was clean and really wasn't too bad (not as bad as the reviews on here would lead you to believe). We had no complaints about the hotel. They have free wi fi in the lobby and at the pool and on the private island. We enjoyed our stay and can't wait to return to Aruba. If we return, we'll probably stay in Palm Beach just because there is a lot more to do there and the shops stay open much later than in downtown.

Room Tip: Room 1558 was good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piracicaba, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

we're there in Dec-2011 and everything was great!! The hotel has a particlar island where the guests can use anytime (and the island has a good infrastructure too!), there is a cassino/marina very cool and the breakfast was a perfect american-style home made.

The staff is also cool and it's really recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The rooms are ok, but the best thing is the location and the private island. You get there by boatservice, departing from both the downtown location and the oceansuites. Stay at the downtown part of renaissance for the action and the downtown pool. Stay at oceansuites for the beachy feel. If you stay in one you can go the the other. To the private island you need the roomkey to enter the boat. At saturday happy hour time you get a great dj in the lounge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

1st off the location is great! Smack in the middle of Downtown Oranjestad!! All the action you need including transportation for more action... Buses -taxi..etc.

2nd the Marina hotel is beautiful and is conveniently above a mall and starbucks!!
Also easy access to the awesome private island and some of the included bars restaraunts!!

3rd the all inclusive is the way to go!!
Food and drinks are pricey so this will save you money... Not to mention the food and drinks are up to par!! And the service is Great!!

--renaissance marina hotel is great for adults and couples!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino

Address: L G Smith Boulevard 82, Oranjestad, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Family Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oranjestad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 559
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The wonder of Renaissance Aruba isn’t just white sandy beaches, or crystal blue waters. The chance to discover something wonderful is all over the island, and we can show you the way. Our location in Oranjestad’s vibrant downtown gives you endless opportunities to indulge your inner shopaholic, get the thrill of a hand of poker in our two casinos, or take in Aruban culture from the beating heart of Aruba’s capital city. For an escape within an escape take a water taxi to Renaissance Island, Aruba’s only private beaches. Its pristine, secluded shores offer peace and solitude simply not found anywhere else in the world.We offer two hotels each with their own unique experience, but still allow you to enjoy the amenities of both. The Renaissance Marina Hotel was especially designed to be an intimate couples escape, and features a water launch to Renaissance Island from inside the hotel itself. Renaissance Ocean Suites is perfect for families so the littlest ones can discover the wonders of paradise for themselves. No matter where you go with Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino we will be your guide to finding everything this happy island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Aruba Resort And Casino
Renaissance Aruba Hotel Oranjestad
Renaissance Hotel Aruba
Renaissance Oranjestad
Oranjestad Renaissance
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.