We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Suisse

Chalet Suisse
J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 246, Oranjestad, Aruba
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 159 Restaurants in Oranjestad
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Still a great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were pleased to return to this spot. A reasonably good wine list, great steaks, and the lamb chops are as good as any you can find. Service is very good and the wait staff is attentive, but it can get spotty on busy nights. Not inexpensive, but worth the price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    109
    48
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Chalet Suisse - Always a Winner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Always a winner. We've been going to Chalet Suisse when in Aruba for about 20 years now. It hasn't changed much, and that is part of the charm. If you like cruising, it is like being in a cruise ship dining room -- multiple wait staff, all dressed to the nines, a maitre d' who comes around to ensure everything is just right, and reliable, delicious food. But, you don't need to dress up yourselves, although you would feel right at home if you did -- your choice. The interior is truly like a chalet in Switzerland, very different for Aruba. We usually go for the "signature" dishes, and are always pleased. Schnitzel, Zuricher Gesh...something really good, a Chalet Suisse seafood appetizer, all is great. Portions are large, and we usually take some back to our room for a lunch the next day. It's an experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A solid continental restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our dinner here. A nice menu, good continental food and good service. Rack of lamb was good and roast duck was terrific.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Chalet Suisse - wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This has been our favorite restaurant in Aruba for over 15 years, and continues to be our top choice as we were just there again 2 weeks ago.

From the time you walk in the door and are greeted by the Maitre d Benny, to the countless number of people that serve you and check on you to ensure your meal is good and your experience is great, it never stops until you leave.

We usually do the early bird special starting at 5:30pm, we get the Weiner Schnitzel and my mom and wife usually get the Chilean Sea Bass or another fresh fish. All our fantastic, and they also take great care of my young daughters who call this the "fancy restaurant".

We can't wait to go back again next year!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
1 review
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We went there last Friday night with some visitors from the States. I ordered the Atlantic Salmon filet and it was delicious, nice presented (big portion) and very tasty!! We didn't had to wait long even though was a pretty busy night.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalet Suisse also viewed

 

Been to Chalet Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Suisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.