We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crispy Duck!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Suisse

Chalet Suisse
J.E. Irausquin Boulevard 246, Oranjestad, Aruba
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 158 Restaurants in Oranjestad
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Lake Orion, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Crispy Duck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great food and even better service! The duck is to die for. My boyfriend had the bone in rib eye. It was so big that he could only eat 1/3 of it. The calamari was lacking and I wouldn't ever order it again. Very romantic setting. I can't wait to go back next year!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    109
    48
    22
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“FAVORITE IN ALL ARUBA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

There is nothing better than the Suisse. We never miss dinner here and visit twice depending on our length of stay!

The ambiance is wonderfully filled with caramel colored wood walls and ceilings and tapestry patterned chairs and drapery. One can easily mistake the location as being in the alps!

The service is top notch from the maître de on down. We want for nothing every time we visit the Suisse as you wish is their command.

I, as well as our friends, started off our meal with a goat cheese arugula salad that was so tasty and delicious there are no words! Then my husband and I shared the chateaubriand for 2. It was mouth watering and savory. This meat was so tender that we didn't even need a knife to cut it. As repeat customers, we have tried quite a few different items on the menu. Each one is better than the last!

The Suisse is a top notch class act and my absolute favorite in all of Aruba!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I'll pass”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Service was very good, but just not my kind of restaurant, On an Island with wonderful possibilities this would be VERY low on my list. My friend ordered the lamb which had no flavor, he had ordered rack of lamb at Zuzuroh earlier in the week and it was excellent, this didn't compare. Someone's baby was yelling which didn't help. I had the beef stroganoff which was just OK. To much lighting and the decor could use a lot of updating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent Steaks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Between the rib steak and the veal chop are some of the best on the island. A classic traditional restaurant. No modern feel. Nostalgic with excellent food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdez, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Great food and atmosphere. Cozy lamps and drapery setting. Looks empty until you walk in and swarming with people. Desserts are wicked. Get one. Or two.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chalet Suisse also viewed

 

Been to Chalet Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Suisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.