We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun bar/restaurant on the water great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Paddock

The Paddock
Oranjestad, Oranjestad, Aruba
(297) 583-2334
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 168 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Winters, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun bar/restaurant on the water great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We ate here about 4 times always good! All you can eat ribs yummy!!! Soup & salad for lunch. Shopping is very close by. Great night life!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    163
    122
    61
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Does not deliver the goods.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Paddock was a short walk from our hotel so we tried breakfast, lunch and dinner there on separate days. During the day it is packed with cruisers waiting to get back on their ship. It was not very busy for breakfast or dinner. Service was consistently awful. You expect slow service in Aruba. You do not expect indifference. The place appears to be consistently understaffed and it shows on the faces of the staff.
The drinks are expensive, the food was poor and in small portions on all 3 visits. Due to its prime marina location the Paddock will capture the undeserved business of a lot of unwitting cruise visitors in Aruba. I do not recommend.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Paddock had a nice variety of food - burgers at $10, a seafood platter somewhat higher, for downtown Orangestad not the highest prices. The restaurant is located along the water. Food and service were good, the view somewhat obstructed by cruise ships. The seating is in the shade - an important feature in Aruba. The restaurant is centrally located near high end shopping as well as local open air vendors.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We wandered downtown this day just in time for lunch - looked like an interesting little stop (and the crab burger sandwich special caught my eye). You never know what you're going to get at the port when the cruise ships are in, and we were pleasantly surprised! Good service, atmosphere and prices. Great stop for a lunch sandwich/burger and beer

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food, low prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stopped here for lunch on our last full day in Aruba. Had great hamburgers and other sandwiches for very reasonable prices. Service was good, and the view was nice by the harbor.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Paddock also viewed

 
Oranjestad, Aruba
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to The Paddock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Paddock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.