We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iguana Joe's Caribbean Bar & Grill

Iguana Joe's Caribbean Bar & Grill
Royal Plaza Mall | L.G. Smith Blvd, Oranjestad, Aruba
(297) 583-9373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 158 Restaurants in Oranjestad
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Mentor, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stopped here for lunch at our stop during our cruise, food was quite good and abundant but seriously overpriced for the tourists.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    309
    139
    32
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Average... a little disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We ate here on our last night in Aruba. We were looking for low priced seafood. We were both underwhelmed with our food. My husband ordered the calamari- tasted like calamari we could get in our city no where near the ocean, I ordered coconut shrimp- too much coconut and no taste, and my husbands ordered the jambalaya as his entree- again just average. We were disappointed in our meals.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Iguana Joe’s is a fabulous restaurant for a fun lunch, like we had! It's on the second floor of a fabulous big pink Victorian-type building with lots of shops on the first floor, right in the heart of Orangestad. It's an open air restaurant, and if you sit along the outside edge you can watch the hustle and bustle of the city go by, while gazing at the ocean in the distance. My husband and I shared an incredible indigenous meal (shredded chicken and vegetables, topped with melted Gouda cheese) and a side salad -- perfect for us, except now I want to keep eating it and I can't get it back home! I hope you don’t miss going to Iguana Joe’s because it was one of our favorite experiences in Aruba.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Highly recommend ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Dined here on a recent holiday to Aruba for the perfect breeze and people watching views everyone has raved about. In spite of the insects swarming around, I enjoyed both the food and the views. The jerk chicken sandwich and fries were cooked to perfection, crisp and juicy. I could only eat half; the leftovers were just as good several hours later. The Coco Loco drink was...interesting. Very sweet but the right amount of alcohol. Might opt for something else next time. Do yourself a favor and skip the sister restaurants. Sorry but they just don't compare in quality of food and especially not in service. The original is where it's at!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Food is fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I love this place. We hit Iguana Joe's our first night in Aruba for the second year in a row and we loved it again!

The chips and salsa is amazing as an appetizer. I loved, loved, loved the quesdillas here. Their food is so great, with great access to ocean and street views. You can sit right on the edge and of the restaurant at a couples table and have a great meal with the great sea breeze!

The service here is totally fantastic, too!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iguana Joe's Caribbean Bar & Grill also viewed

Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
Palm - Eagle Beach, Aruba
 
Oranjestad, Aruba
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to Iguana Joe's Caribbean Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iguana Joe's Caribbean Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.