We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood

Driftwood
Klipstraat 12, Oranjestad, Aruba
+297 583-2515
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 96 restaurants in Oranjestad
Price range: $9 - $36
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Since 1986 Driftwood is specialized in fresh seafood from the Caribbean Sea and has become the favorite spot for Aruban-style seafood dishes. Fresh fish is caught daily by the owner himself and perfectly prepared by our talented local chef.
Medford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The fish was fresh and very tasty. I even got a side of tenderloin and it too was amazing. Though in more of a secluded location definitely give it a try for dinner. Prices were average for the island.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    332
    216
    99
    45
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Severna Park
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Relaxed family meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

All of the cab drivers recommended this restaurant. A good fit for our family. Comfortable and relaxed with good food. Everyone recommended the catch of the day which we ordered and enjoyed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for fresh seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We went here for dinner on recommendations for great seafood and we were not disappointed! The food was really good and service was awesome. The prices are quite reasonable and servings are generous. Really enjoyed our dinner in a casual atmosphere.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great prices, large portions, attentive service, easy to find, nice ambiance. Didn't make a reservation but if you go before 7pm not a problem.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Still good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went to Driftwood last night on our annual. return trip(23 years) and it was as good as we expected The special menu( $25.00) no specific time of day but you have to ask for the special dinner menu still provides a nice assortment of appetizers the escargot is excellent or you can choose soup,of the day,onion soup or salad for entrees it is the catch of the day done in a variety of ways,I had the wahoo aruban style and it was very good, my husband had the yellow fin tuna blackened and it was excellent also the entrees came with a nice medley of fresh vegetables, and a baked potato. if fish isn't your choice they have a nice portion of filet. Dessert of chocolate cake or banana cake with coffee or tea It is consistently good and a great price Finding it always proves to be a challenge but have found when you pass the Reniassance and go over the bridge make the left go straight cross over Main Street then make a left next right then right again and it is on your right

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Driftwood also viewed

 
Oranjestad, Aruba
 

Been to Driftwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.