We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Food Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Gaucho Argentine Grill

El Gaucho Argentine Grill
Wilhelminastraat 80, Oranjestad, Aruba
+297 582 3677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 168 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $27 - $49
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: El Gaucho, is a typical Argentine Steakhouse, famous for serving succulent Steaks grilled the Argentinian way. The decor, ambiance and music is rustic and Argentinian in every way. Leather art on the walls, wooden pillars and barrels,cow hide decor and more. The Restaurant is divided in 7 dinning rooms, each decorated to honor a region of Argentina:Mendoza the wine region, the famous Caminito Way, the Pampas fields.The menu is extensive with many choices of beef, poultry and seafood. The sides are included in the price and so are the fresh garlic bread and the 3 home made sauces to acompany your dinner.With over 38 years, serving the best and the biggest steaks, El Gaucho is the oldest established Restaurant on the Island.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best Food Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We visited this restaurant based on the recommendation of a regular traveller to Aruba. It was a little difficult to find as we took the circulator bus downtown and then walked it. When we did though, we were extremely happy. We had both the steak and the fish and everything was excellent. The servce was fantastic and the price reasonable for a higher end steakhouse. I literally have nothing to complain about.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,710 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,033
    377
    193
    66
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful steaks!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We ate here as a family of five. While we all ordered different cuts of steak, cooked at different temperatures, the result was the same. Absolutely delicious steak!! The wait staff was very friendly and helpful and the roaming Mariachi singers were just an added charm to this already charming restaurant. No wonder they've been in business for over 35 years. They came highly recommended and proved to be worthy.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent as expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

This was our fifth time here and the food was excellent. It was very busy and we were taken on time. Wish I could have eaten there more during our visit. We took the kids out for dinner before going there because their website did not have a kids menu. When getting there we were shown a kids menu that was reasonably priced. Website should be updated for the kids menu.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Deposit, Maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Feast of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We capped our week long visit to Aruba with dinner at El Gaucho and we were not disappointed. Being our first time we got the Avocado Salad to share as an appetizer - very good and fresh. I went for the signature Argentina Grill (Tenderloin (most delicious I've ever had), Chorizo (sausage), Ribs (very tasty and a lot of meat), Pork Loin, and Beef Ribs (my second favorite. My wife tried the Caribbean Seafood Combo (Conch - unique, Squid - nicely seasoned, fish - groper - very good, and shrimp - quite spicy). You get three sides with the meal and we both had broccoli, mashed potatoes and plantains - all very good. A lot of food so we did not have any of the dessert. Also stayed with ice tea for a total bill with tip (included in bill) of $122. Restaurant was a bit over cooled and load - so it was hard to talk. Overall very nice, and you sure can't beat the main course for both quality and quantity - we'll go again when back in Aruba!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Best steak in Aruba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Apparently when it first opened this place had 6 tables, if true then WOW they must be doing something right. Now there are 2 floors & 4 dining rooms on ground floor alone.....& every table was full. The room was fairly noisy with lots of buzzing hungry diners. The service was really good, the food was spot on. Price wise is also pretty decent, not cheap but worth every penny & cheaper than steak houses in hotels.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaucho Argentine Grill also viewed

 

Been to El Gaucho Argentine Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gaucho Argentine Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.