We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Gaucho Argentine Grill

El Gaucho Argentine Grill
Wilhelminastraat 80, Oranjestad, Aruba
+297 582 3677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 158 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Price range: $27 - $49
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: El Gaucho, is a typical Argentine Steakhouse, famous for serving succulent Steaks grilled the Argentinian way. The decor, ambiance and music is rustic and Argentinian in every way. Leather art on the walls, wooden pillars and barrels,cow hide decor and more. The Restaurant is divided in 7 dinning rooms, each decorated to honor a region of Argentina:Mendoza the wine region, the famous Caminito Way, the Pampas fields.The menu is extensive with many choices of beef, poultry and seafood. The sides are included in the price and so are the fresh garlic bread and the 3 home made sauces to acompany your dinner.With over 38 years, serving the best and the biggest steaks, El Gaucho is the oldest established Restaurant on the Island.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Really great steak. My husband ordered the mixed grill which was fantastic. The decor is a bit dark and worn, but the food is certainly worth it. Good service too. A family favorite

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    906
    334
    167
    60
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Took the family (3 kids, ages 15, 13, and 9) to El Gaucho after getting recommendations from friends. We ordered the Mixed Grill special: steak, pork ribs, chicken, and blood sausage, bottle of wine, side dishes, and dessert for $100. Two kids also ordered ribs and Caesar salad. Exceptional food and service. This restaurant is best for a date night without the kiddos.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Steak on Aruba? Yes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Having lived on Aruba for many years, there are times I wonder why anyone visiting Aruba would want a steak dinner. Aruba is a Caribbean island surrounded by water. The fish dishes are fantastic, fresh and the restaurants are plentiful.

However, IF that's what you really want, you cannot go wrong by making a reservation at El Gaucho. El Gaucho is located downtown in an old townhouse. It was the first Argentine restaurant to open on Aruba (1977) and it never forgot it's roots. Compared to some of the newer restaurants, El Gaucho's older, and not so intimate ambiance may not be to your liking, but if it's really good steak you want, this is the place the locals go.

My favorite here is the Gaucho Steak. It is 16 ozs of tender and perfectly cooked meat. When I'm not too hungry I might have the petite tenderloin; 8 ozs of equally well prepared meat. There is an excellent selection of sides, including broccoli sauteed with olive oil and garlic, and fried plantains which are a special treat. Generally I pass up dessert because I have already overdone it, BUT if you still have room, try the fried cheesecake. It's different and quite a treat. All the staff are out to make you feel at ease. Our waiter was friendly, attentive and knew the menu inside and out.

There are other "steak" restaurants on Aruba, but if you want the food and taste you cannot get in the US, this is the place to come to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambly, Québec
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A visit well worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Although we were staying at the Divi All Inclusives where the food was very good, we took a night out to go at El Gaucho that had been recommended by friends and we were very happy. The meat was excellent and so was the service. Also, we liked the decor.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallipolis, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This food is simply amazing! My husband has been a Butcher for many years and rarely does not order steak out (not satisfied). Well he did order the 16 oz ribeye and I had petite tenderloin and it was the best meal of our 1 week stay! Staff was terrific! So very nice! Can't wait to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaucho Argentine Grill also viewed

 

Been to El Gaucho Argentine Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gaucho Argentine Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.