We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a Great Steak House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Gaucho Argentine Grill

El Gaucho Argentine Grill
Wilhelminastraat 80, Oranjestad, Aruba
+297 582 3677
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 168 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $27 - $49
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: El Gaucho, is a typical Argentine Steakhouse, famous for serving succulent Steaks grilled the Argentinian way. The decor, ambiance and music is rustic and Argentinian in every way. Leather art on the walls, wooden pillars and barrels,cow hide decor and more. The Restaurant is divided in 7 dinning rooms, each decorated to honor a region of Argentina:Mendoza the wine region, the famous Caminito Way, the Pampas fields.The menu is extensive with many choices of beef, poultry and seafood. The sides are included in the price and so are the fresh garlic bread and the 3 home made sauces to acompany your dinner.With over 38 years, serving the best and the biggest steaks, El Gaucho is the oldest established Restaurant on the Island.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Still a Great Steak House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our second time and still as good! Service was great and our daughter loved the serenade. Had the argentinian churasco and was the juiciest and sweetest steak. Really do not understand how some complain about their steaks, service and sides. Please understand you are there for the steaks and ambience not the sides.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,032
    377
    193
    66
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Just OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I tried El Gaucho based on hotel recommendation. I was not impressed, overpriced and nothing to write home about $35 + is average price per entrée. I was not very hungry and my wife and I decided to each order a $38 steak and share with our young daughters. The waiter told me that they would charge me $5.00 extra per steak for sharing. I should have left but it was late and my family was hungry. We waited about 30 minutes for our food to come. Nothing special.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great service. Definitely go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was by far our best restaurant experience on the island. El Gaucho is a locally owned steakhouse that serves highquality steak and seafood in a fun upscale setting. My husband had a porterhouse that was cooked to perfection and my son had a filet that was butterknife tender. The sides were delicious and the service was wonderful. We definitely recommend reservations. You also pay for this great food and service, but it was worth the bill. A definite stop if you love great food!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good steak. Better than strip restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Definitely much better steak and for less money than restaurants on the strip. If you visiting downtown definitely stop by for nice steak dinner. Large portions.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The 16 oz Ribeye Steak was the best I have ever tasted. Why can't we get steaks this tasty in UK? The service was excellent. You need to book as it it was packed when we went. Also very reasonably priced. For big appetites they do a 32 oz porterhouse steak and if you can't quite finish it they give you a doggy bag. We were informed about this restaurant by the receptionist at The Ritz Carlton Aruba so we knew it would be good.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Gaucho Argentine Grill also viewed

 

Been to El Gaucho Argentine Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Gaucho Argentine Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.