We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it wasn't for the rude owner, this would be the ideal place to stay.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Malibu Hotel Aruba

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oranjestad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malibu Hotel Aruba
Stadioweg 19, Oranjestad, Aruba (Formerly Malibu Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If it wasn't for the rude owner, this would be the ideal place to stay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

The service at the Malibu Suites was acceptable. However, our experience with the owner was not so nice. She was rather rude and unfriendly.
We loved the room and the cleanliness and the cleaning team was very pleasant.
The area felt safe. There are security cameras everywhere and the front entrance is locked at all times.
The kitchen did not have an oven, toaster or towels.
We at least enjoyed the free wi-fi access.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    11
    1
    2
    8
See reviews for
21
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Have to agree with previous reviewer. Generally a good little place. Very clean rooms with nice little pool and BBQ area. Location a little far from the action, but not too bad. Good value for money.

However, the service was just AWFUL. The owners were hardly ever there to let guests in which meant other guests often had to double as 'doormen' or even porters. However, the bad attitude of the owners when they were there - particularly the owner's wife - was just shocking.

I have never been treated as badly as I was at Malibu Suites. Ruined our trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

I stayed here in December 2010 with a group of friends. The rooms are fine, however the service is just horrible. I've never ever in my life been treated this badly by a host. We had 2 rooms for the weekend. The last day of our stay the owners wife Mrs. Yamilet went to check the rooms, she told me that we used the safe and that she could not open it. I told her that we didn't use the safe. Mather of fact we didn't even know there was a safe in the rooms! This was not shown to us either when we checked in to the hotel. She then addressed me as if we were lying and told me that they would keep my deposit because they would have to break the safe open. I tried to have a normal discussion with this lady, but this was just not possible. She walked away while I was talking and didn't even try to find a solution that would suite both parties. I have never been treated so unfairly and unprofessionally before. This was the horrible ending of a weekend away with friends.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara on the Lake
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We just returned from a week long vacation in Aruba. We stayed at Malibu suites and were very happy with our experience there. It is a small complex with 8 apartments and the owners (Robert, his wife and daughter) live on site. Robert was very helpful and assisted us with dealing with lost luggage, directions, restaurant suggestions, beaches and general information. The complex has a pool and all the units open onto it. The apartments have one bedroom with a king size bed and a kitchen/living area with a queen size pullout couch. Our unit was very clean and was cleaned daily. We used the apartment as a base to explore the island, a car is needed to get around. It is a good place to go with a family and is quiet and relaxing. We'd go back again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

We first heard about Malibu Suites from an ad on one of the Aruba BB's. The pictures on their web site looked nice, but I could not find a thing on the internet about the place and was a bit nervous about booking there, having had bad results before by depending only on the pictures posted by a property. Well there was no reason to worry. The small staff at this 8 room property is great, the rooms are very clean and well kept, and the pool area which the rooms surround was small but very inviting, and very secure. The location, though not on the beach, is not far from Surfside beach and is right near downtown Oranjestad. Having stayed all over the island this was a nice change. The property does provide shuttle service to the airport (though you should have a rental car if you are going to stay here) and also has free WiFi.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendlieness and imtimacy
  • Disliked — Would like a computer on premisis for guest use
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Malibu Hotel Aruba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Hotel Aruba

Address: Stadioweg 19, Oranjestad, Aruba (Formerly Malibu Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Oranjestad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty lodging in Oranjestad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are happy to announce that the new Malibu Hotel Aruba formerly known as the Malibu Suites is under new management and we are working hard to improve the client experience. Because of the new management and new owner, the newly renovated Malibu Hotel has increased the amount of rooms and the great experience we can deliver for your Aruba vacation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Malibu Hotel Aruba Oranjestad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malibu Hotel Aruba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Malibu Hotel Aruba to your Saves list