We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“splash zone” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cuba's Cookin'

Cuba's Cookin'
Renaissance Marketplace, Oranjestad, Aruba
297 588-0627
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 159 Restaurants in Oranjestad
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Newly located in the Renaissance Marketplace downtown, Cuba's Cookin' has moved with the times just as when Fidel began his march on Havana in 1959. This is what Havana would have looked & felt like.... and when the live music starts up nightly....this is exactly what you would have heard & seen back then. A moment in history brought out in Cuba's food, mojitos, art, culture and dance. A real authentic dinning experience you will take home forever from your trip to Aruba.
St. Catharines, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“splash zone”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We heard good things about this place so we went. Its in a very very very bad end of the city. We were approached by several homeless people during the walk from the car to the restaurant. A tiny restaurant with unique art on display. Not really an envirment for young children. A greeat deal of nude art. The service was slow and the menu sparce. When getting our drinks, the waitress spilt an entire pitcher of water all over me and my mother in law!!! The best part... They wiped off the table and that was it! There was a HUGE puddle on the floor under and around our feet. We ended up physically moving our table and chairs to avoid it. NO ONE cleaned it during our whole meal. My father in law had to send him meal back, the meat was not cooked properly. The waitress did not offer anything to him for the inconvience. Not the best experience, that's for sure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    202
    69
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburnham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Gone Dowhill.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Wife and I had lunch here on 9/20/13. Empanadas were ok,and their special Cuban recipe for Mac and cheese was none other than Kraft with some fresh parsley(gag). Place was empty and did not have A/C on inside. Don't know what happened to this place as we ate there three years ago and it was great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, but slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stopped here for lunch and got seated right away. There was our table and maybe 3-4 others where customers were sitting. Our waitress was very nice and we put our order in fairly timely. She brought out our drinks right away. (FYI - if you order an iced tea it will cost you $5 and I ordered 2 not knowing that ahead of time) We were waiting for quite a while ~20-25 minutes for our food. There seemed to be other tables waiting for there food as well. Then our waitress told us that the food was almost ready and I think we waited another ~10-15 minutes until the food arrived. Not sure what the hold up was since the restaurant wasn't busy at all. The food was very good and suprisingly hot. I had a wrap with grouper and my husband had a steak sandwich. When it was time to leave, we asked for our check, and again more waiting. I do enjoy the food from Cuba's Cookin', but all of the waiting was a turn off.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noord, Aruba
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Try not to come at lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I came with my wife to Cuba's Cookin' for a lunch, first of all, the restaurant was empty and the waitress was more interesting in their phones than service us. The quality of the food was below the price. Maybe the dinner is better (wirh the happy hour and the live music)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia Fields, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

If you are looking for someplace with a great ambiance, great food and wonderful people and fantastic live entertainment. This is the place to be! They have the best Mojitos on the island. This is a must visit. The food was so good we ate their twice during our visit. Douglass the owner and Adrienne the manager/waitress will make you feel special from the time you enter till the time you leave. Please try the stuffed chicken breast........ Simply Delicious it has a brown sugar glaze drizzled on top. Not sweet at all just perfect....... You will enjoy it.... Love this place will visit again.... Dr. "D" says hello!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuba's Cookin' also viewed

 

Been to Cuba's Cookin'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cuba's Cookin', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.