We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go for the view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pinchos Grill & Bar

Pinchos Grill & Bar
LG Smith Blvd 7 | Surfside Marina, Oranjestad, Aruba
2975832666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 158 Restaurants in Oranjestad
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Paramaribo
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Just go for the view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I recently went to Pinchos with my husband for a sunset dinner, based on the generally favorable reviews. I agree that the setting on the pier is quaint. The view is very nice, the service decent but we were disappointed with the food. The fish skewer tasted a bit rubbery and the chorizo promised on the mixed skewer was not chorizo. I'd recommend going for drinks at sunset and finding another restaurant for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    204
    71
    32
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Agawam, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner on the Pier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Pinchos is one of our favorite restaurants and try to plan dinner there at least one evening during our vacation. After a beautiful day on the beach and watching the sunset from the De Palm Pier, we decided it was the perfect evening for Pinchos.

The restaurant is located in Oranjestad, a short drive from the high rise area. Drive on the main road through town towards the airport and it is on your right, look for the sign and the parking lot. You will walk though a small plaza out to a walkway that takes you to the pier it is located on.
This particular evening we were challenged with an "Election Rally" with music and dancing in the street and detoured and wove our way around the residential area to avoid this road block.

We ordered the Special of the Day which was the Grouper with rice and veggies. The fish was cooked perfectly and the entire meal was excellent! The atmosphere on the pier is beautiful and caught a glimpse of a cruise ship leaving in the distance. The pleasant breeze on this warm night was the perfect recipe for a beautiful and romantic dinner. Many thanks to Erik who assisted with dinner and wine selections--everything was perfect! We can't wait to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjestad, Aruba
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The restaurant is located on the water in downtown Oranjestad. Parking is right in front of the restarant. The location is perfect ot watch the sunset. Service was very good, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Food is quite good, mainly seafood. I had the Tuna Tataki as a starter which was delicious. They have a quite extensive winelist with lots of wines by the glass. Prices are are reasonable. Reservations are advisable, especially in the weekends.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After many reviews and a few personal reccomendations, we were really looking forward to our meal here. It wasn't awful but really wasn't great either. We both ordered fish and the grouper was almost rubbery. The atmosphere is incredible but it wasn't worth the taxi from Palm Beach to get there. Also going back we couldn't get a taxi and walked forever back to another hotel to get one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“another great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Have seen advertising for years but never wanted to venture that far (we don't rent a car). The sunset was spectacular. The food was very good, limited menu but fresh fish was great. The fish cakes were some of the best yet. The service was timely, the waitress was very busy but took the time to socialize once the sunset rush slowed down. The Sangria (free with coupon) was the best we tried on the island. The secret ingredient.... ginger just a taste. I will
make this a must each year. The walk back to town is about 10 minutes on a new brick walkway

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinchos Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Pinchos Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinchos Grill & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.