We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waka Waka Adventure Cafe and Cantina

Waka Waka Adventure Cafe and Cantina
Schotlandstraat 61, Aruba
+297 582 5600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 355 restaurants in Aruba
Price range: $4 - $55
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: A small, family-owned restaurant serving hearty portions of local, home-style family cuisine as well as international. "Machi" (Grandma) Betty shares her traditional recipesresulting in excellent meals for any occasion delectable local dishes served with outstanding Aruban hospitality makes for a memorable dining experience at Waka Waka.  Eat like an Aruban, and discover why we are "one happy island." There is limited seating, so please call for a reservation. We are locate 5 minutes away from all the major hotel. NO SERVICE CHARGE!
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very different décor inside interesting kept looking around seeing different things. It is kind of out of the way so it was not crowded definitely worth finding. Service was good and the food was very good. Had grandmas BBQ platter and the big beef skewer. Both were excellent and we will go back on out next trip.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    52
    25
    10
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, Brazil
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good price, poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

3 course dinner for $25 was great and the food was quite good but the service fell apart. We waited a while for the main course to arrive after the appetiser. Then we waited a full hour - an hour! - between our main meal and dessert. Did they forget us? Then they took our credit cards and didn't come back. We had to ask for them and still waited. We were wondering what they were doing with our cards at that point. Nice ambiance and decent food but this place is way off the beaten path and needs to step up their service or they will go under real soon.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great new find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Just returned from two weeks, went to Waka Waka on rec. from everyone on beach at Lacabana. Food was great, service was top notch. We returned for second try and food again excellent, staff friendly, music not too loud. The staff even provided transportation back to resort in the Safari Jeep,. Don't miss this great food, staff and atmosphere

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forked River, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AWESOME!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great little place off the beaten path but worth the find!!! Waka waka was one of the bet meals we had on the island...great food, great service and great prices. I ordered the BBQ platter (pic attached) and it was yum!!! Kudos to waka waka and the chef (who came out to all the tables)...well done and we will definitely be back!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Waka Waka dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had dinner for 4 at Waka Waka. We had the early bird special which included an appetizer, entrée, desert and a bottle of wine. All the food was excellent. This is a very nice restaurant not near the main roads, but worth the trip. For the entrées, we had the rice with chicken, grouper and the barbecue platter. The chicken was a bit like chicken wings, but with the sauce that came with it, there were good and the rice was probably even better. The grouper and barbecue platter were also excellent.

Definitely recommend this restaurant. You will enjoy the coziness, atmosphere and the wonderful staff. Thanks for the excellent food. We definitely will come back when we return to Aruba.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waka Waka Adventure Cafe and Cantina also viewed

Aruba, Caribbean
Noord, Aruba
 

Been to Waka Waka Adventure Cafe and Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waka Waka Adventure Cafe and Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.