We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than a 5 star resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cunucu Arubiano

Save Saved
You added Cunucu Arubiano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cunucu Arubiano
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Santa Lucia 4, Aruba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 Aruba B&B and Inns
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better than a 5 star resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a little late but I cannot forget what a wonderful place and experience this was. I visited in February 2011 for 3 nights before my stay at a five star resort. I loved the Casitas much more! The owner and staff were friendly, as well as the cats & donkeys! It was a beautiful setting, fabulous casitas and wonderful food. It was set back in the country on a rutty gravel road but that just added to the adventure and seclusion.
I would definitely go back and now look for places like this when I travel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    2
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aruba
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

when you look for a place, which is quite from the car traffic this is ok, but you have the donkeys and cooks which wakes you up in the middle of the night. There are no amenties, except a simple square pool which is leaking. The property needs a lot of maintenance and care taking. Breakfast, you get something served when you are pationed. You cant sit outside in the evening because the moskitos ! So you are locked in the 4 walls and the TV. No kitchen to serve yourself ! No restaurant's in 30 minutes drive area.
So think about to spend money for nothing special. Mostly no guest's around ! And you have to watch when it's starts raining, possible you get all the water in the house, not from the bath room.

Room Tip: Aruba offers better see Slick Homes, or Happy Rentals, never trust what you see in the internet the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Cunucu for five nights; we really enjoyed our stay. We loved the peace and quiet (except for roosters) we really enjoyed being alone and being able to spend quality time together. There were a few things on the property that needed updating like the boards by the pool, breakfast area, and more thorough house keeping.
It is definitely in the middle of Aruba which is great if you are up for an adventure, rent a car for sure and check out all the local restaurants and beaches. This place has great potential, we recommend it for couples and we would most certainly return for another visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We were initially booked here for 4 nights - but due to our flight being delayed we got in later than expected and had trouble finding this place - it is in the middle of Aruba!

So we stayed down on the beach for 2 nights, then came here for other 2 - which is actually a great way to see Aruba. A couple of days doing the beach thing - then 2 days in the center around Arikok National Park.

Cunucu is set in a gorgeous setting with cactus everywhere and next to a donkey sanctuary. Was great late night fun feeding the donkeys - they come right up to the back of your casita - make sure you bring supplies!

The casita we stayed in was very nice - there are only 3 on the property - although the owners have current plans for expansion and adding a restaurant which would be great as apart from breakfast there is no other catering available.

Only negatives here is the pool area has NO shade and not really useable in very hot weather.

But overall - a really funky, stylish ambience and for travelers looking for something out of the way and different - then this is perfect!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This is a very clean property and has some nice landscaping. The three little houses are pretty and styled after original Aruba architecture. The houses’ back porch back onto the Donkey Sanctuary. It’s fun to have them come up to be fed carrots and apples in the evening.

There are some problems. We had a king bed with two flat pillows. Our bed was so hard it hurt, we took Advil every morning we stayed. The AC was not especially effective, just tolerable. There wasn’t a single piece of furniture on the place that was comfortable. Everything was hard wicker and some had broken arms. The outside eating area tables are wooden barrels which you lean over to eat while sitting in hard wicker bar chairs. Breakfast was included - sometimes very good like Dutch pancakes with apple or waffles and fruit. Some things were really bad like the veggie roll. It would be nice to know before hand what you’re getting or at least given a choice. Instant coffee just doesn't cut it at breakfast either.

There isn’t a speck of shade at the pool and inside the pool there’s a chunk of wall missing about six feet wide and three feet high. The wooden deck has a number of warped boards you can trip on if you’re not careful. The handle to our door would come off in our hand. We mentioned it, it wasn’t fixed.

This place needs some TLC and more focus on guest comfort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Cunucu Arubiano is an exquisite bed-and-breakfast set against a backdrop of Arikok National Park. The B&B consists of three small but elegant and modern villas distributed on a well-maintained property. We spent a week there with 2 kids and were the only family there most of the time. The kids could run, play and swim in the pool at their leisure. The B&B shares a fence with the Donkey Sanctuary and you can often observe donkeys walking through the maze of tall cacti that hides Cunucu Arubiano from the world. The serenity of the place is rarely disturbed by sound. You don’t get crowds in that part of Aruba. You don’t even get staff on the premises after lunchtime - they clean up and leave and the whole place at your disposal. What you do get are the sights of Ayo Rock Formation, flowering cacti and unobstructed stars at night. Typically, you drive to a beach or some natural attraction during the daytime and raid a restaurant in town in the afternoon. Then you disappear from the touristy area via a drive to the middle of the island, you get on route 6, and then shove the car down a dark driveway which leads to the place. You park under a starry sky and spend evening listening to tradewinds negotiating Arikok hills. One practical advice: a mile or two away from high-rise hotels, street and road signs disappear completely. Detailed maps do not exists. You will be completely disoriented within 5 minutes. The only nav device that works is iPhone, and, if your are planning on staying in this remote B&B, it is a must have.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed four days in April and had a great time during our visit. We stayed in the yellow casita and everyone was very friendly. The accommodations were great and we even had free wifi! Breakfast was delish each morning. We were busy around the island but did spend one day relaxing at the pool. Our casita had a main room with couch, tv, mini frig and table with chairs. We then had a bedroom and a separate bathroom. The yellow casita only has a bathtub. No shower. I think the other two have showers.

Make sure you visit the Donkey Sanctuary too!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cunucu Arubiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cunucu Arubiano

Address: Santa Lucia 4, Aruba
Location: Caribbean > Aruba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Aruba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cunucu Arubiano 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Cunucu Arubiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cunucu Arubiano Hotel Aruba
Cunucu Arubiano Aruba, Caribbean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cunucu Arubiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.