We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay from start to finish!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Maesycwmmer | Nr. Ystrad Mynach, Maesycwmmer CF82 7SN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maesycwmmer
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent stay from start to finish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Premier suite for our anniversary in August 2012. HE booked as a surprise and I was so happy! The service was fantastic, the greeting was warm and friendly. The room was amazing, we were delighted!
The staff at the bar were very helpful and friendly we had a few drinks there.
Breakfast the following morning was quiet only us and 2 other guests however the buffet was fully stocked and the waitress was helpful running us through it.
Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the lesisure facilities but my husband has been a member there and said they are great.
Overall a fantastic stay from start to finish very happy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Many thanks for your review. I hope your are able to return or your anniversary this year and are able to use all our facillities. Check out our website for offers or give us a call.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    117
    57
    33
    29
See reviews for
78
153
17
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a trip combining work(for my poor husband) ,and pleasure(all mine)!Right from arrival the welcome has been warm ,with nothing too much trouble for the really lovely staff.We are fortunate enough to have a suite,but the other rooms upon a sneaky peek,look just as good.Everything is clean and comfortable from the nice big bed ,to the luxurious bathroom.Our meal in the restaurant was superb ,as was the breakfast,each accompanied by superb views.Good job we were able to work them off in the leisure suite.This place is wonderful,a real welcome in the hillsides.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are very lucky to have such fantastic views. Come back to us soon to enjoy them again. Thanks also for your comment about our food. Our Head Chef, Jamie Lewis and his team, work very hard to offer excellant dishes using some of the best Welsh ingrediants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Booked a standard room, upgraded to premier suite on arrival. The room (222) was enormous, two balconies ovelooking the golf course, big queen sized bed and very comfortable. The leisure facilities are first class, well equipped gym, amazing pool, sauna, steam, aromatherapy room, hydro pool, jacuzzi, all immaculately clean. Had high tea which was excellent, breakfast could have been a tad warmer but good otherwise. My wife had a spa treatment and was very pleased (she has a few of these). The golf course looks challenging, the views are panoramic and the staff excellent. Will be back. Spot on.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We value all feedback as it helps us improve our offer. Please return to us soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I had a fantastic stay in my Junior Suite, I booked a last minute deal and was able to get a keen price and this added to my fantastic stay!

The actual suite was very roomy and the bed was huge! The mattress topper was of high comfort so this made for a very enjoyable nights sleep. The view was overlooking one of the fairways of the golf range and was fine apart from when you needed to change! The TV in the bathroom was a great touch and did work on my stay, no matter what the other reviewer said!

Breakfast was also a really high standard, the cooked breakfast on offer was all hot and of excellent quality, this quality was matched with all of the offerings that were available in the continental selection, pastries were of fantastic quality in particular!

I was also granted a late checkout which allowed me to enjoy the leisure facilities, which were great, even on a Sunday morning there was enough space to accommodate all the guests and members.

Many thanks Bryn Meadows for a great weekend! Will I be returning?! You bet!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Many thanks for your review. Please return to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed two nights for a Valentine break, when we did not want to leave our 9 month old son with family.

Room 101 was a good size, plenty of room for our ever more mobile son to play and safe. We brought our own travel cot but one was already set up. The room was clean and the two TVs were good sizes. Only negatives about the room were that the bed was too soft and the bath too small. Positively the shower was invigorating.

Breakfast was of a good quality and there was lots to eat, even for a veggie like me. There were a number of children at the hotel but plenty of high chairs each morning. We brought our microwave steriliser to breakfast and the staff were happy to use it in the kitchen for us.
The gym, hot tubs and other facilities were good but my son really liked the 18 meter pool best. Children were welcomed.

Positively locals seem to like the golf course and other facilities. The hotel is also close to Cardiff and other places of interest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back to see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed two nights, got a large king size room, they provided cot for baby, nice breakfast and lovely pool and spa. Did not play golf but it seemed a challenging hilly course. We got directions and found it easily. Service was good. Only negative was bathroom - bath really small and it was not very clean.

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We value all comments so that we can improve our offering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a Friday night after attending a function. Meal served at the function was Luke warm and not well presented. Breakfast was However pleasant. Limited lunch menu. Awful receptionist at time of check out fusion spa and hotel in general are looking tired. Room 206 was tiny!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon D, General Manager at Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Please contact me at the hotel if you wish to discuss it further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa

Address: Maesycwmmer | Nr. Ystrad Mynach, Maesycwmmer CF82 7SN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Caerphilly County > Maesycwmmer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maesycwmmer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a unique luxurious four star golf and spa resort set in over 100 acres of meadowland and hidden amongst the breath taking valleys of south east Wales. Bryn Meadows is one of the leading destinations for spa breaks and golf breaks in Wales, comprising of 42 contemporary, yet classically styled en-suite rooms most with balconies overlooking the beautiful surrounding countryside, extensive leisure & spa facilities and a championship parkland golf course.Only 10 minutes away from J32 of the M4 and just 25 minutes from Cardiff, one of Europe’s most lively and cosmopolitan cities, Bryn Meadows is perfectly located to all the major attractions of the city, yet is far enough away for those searching for a relaxing retreat. For those wishing to explore the local area, the town of Caerphilly is just 10 minutes away, steeped in history with its own impressive hilltop Castle. Just 30 minutes away, the incredible Brecon Beacons renowned for its beautiful and diverse landscape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Meadows Golf Hotel Maesycwmmer
Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel And Spa
Bryn Meadows Hotel
Bryn Meadows Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryn Meadows Golf, Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.