We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
pigeon beach
pigeon beach
pigeon beach
pigeon beach
pigeon beach
pigeon beach
bathroom pigeon beach
English Harbour
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
177PaulM1...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A rare gem of luxurious Italian hospitality in an idyllic Caribbean setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Our first encounter with Donkey on the Beach solidly exceeded our expectations.

My partner's initial correspondence with the owners had been fluid and making the booking was an almost effortless process, which immediately put us at ease.

On arriving at the airport late in the evening we were promptly greeted by our smiling hosts Danilo and Orietta who swiftly loaded our luggage onto their pickup and began to make us feel at home before we had even reached the comfort of the apartment.

After a gently meandering drive across the sleepy island Dani pulled up in front of the house and showed us up the charming wooden staircase onto the veranda and into our apartment. At once we were taken with it. The tasteful European character of the decor was apparent even to our tired eyes and the soft glow of the pleasant, subtly lit rooms relaxed our jet-lagged bodies. The range and quality of the amenities surpassed the ample offerings of the description and, after a snack prepared from the pre-stocked fridge, we settled into a deep sleep in an exquisite four-poster bed under the unobtrusive cooling breeze of the ceiling fan.

The instantaneous warmth we felt towards both the apartment and our hosts only increased as the days passed. Dani and Orietta were tirelessly hospitable and on several occasions kindly invited us to join them for drinks and meals, which we gladly accepted and were very much impressed by. Half way through our stay they returned the apartment to its original immaculate standard and they kept us in fresh beach towels and laundry throughout. Their knowledge of the island proved invaluable and during the two weeks we stayed their already strong grasp of English seemed to increase two-fold.

I would recommend the apartment to anyone but due to the external staircase I would advise people with disabilities or very small children to contact the owners to discuss their requirements before booking. Dani and Orietta keep a pair of very friendly and delightful small dogs but if you would like to bring your own pets I would advise you to discuss the particulars directly with them. No security deposit was required.

I can honestly say that neither I nor my partner have a single negative comment to make about the Donkey on the Beach; we only regret that we could not stay longer.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Watching the sunset from the veranda over a couple of cocktails
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Riccardo...
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Superlativo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
Google Translation

semplicemente fantastico come sentirsi a casa.Danilo e Orietta,i proprietari,ci hanno accolto con il calore famigliare tipico italiano mettendoci subito a nostro agio e facendoci sentire come li conoscessimo da sempre.Donkey on The beach ci è rimasto nel cuore.Passando ai commenti sulla struttura possiamo sinceramente dire:
Appartamento ben arredato con finiture a livello superiore rispetto a quello che normalmente si trova ai Caraibi completo di tutti i comfort che può servire in una casa vacanza
A questo aggiungiamo un terrazzo con una vista eccezionale su English Harbour e una posizione perfetta per vivere l'isola al meglio.
Torneremo sicuramente

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
713Michel...
Molvena, Italy
1 review
“FANTASTICO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
Google Translation

Abbiamo soggiornato in questo bellissimo appartamento per dieci giorni nel mese maggio di quest’anno 2014. I proprietari Orietta e Danilo, fin dal primo istante, sono stati fantastici! Sono venuti a prenderci all’aeroporto ed é stato come se si conoscessimo da sempre! Subito ci hanno trasmesso il loro amore per Antigua regalandoci mille informazioni utilissime per vivere e godere al meglio le bellezze di quest’isola meravigliosa. I primi giorni siamo stati spesso assieme, tanto da poter affermare che, più che padroni di casa, son stati dei compagni di viaggio chiacchierando e camminando per i sentieri dell’isola, raccontandoci della storia e di alcune leggende.
L’isola è molto bella, ricca di spiagge ancora perfettamente vergini ed incontaminate, spesso abbiamo trascorso le giornate completamente soli in spiaggia vivendo scenari da film, sicuramente non potevamo chiedere di più: il massimo per noi! Abbiamo noleggiato un’auto e così abbiamo girato in lungo e in largo praticamente tutta Antigua in piena libertà e tranquillità. Ci siamo regalati aperitivi in locali bellissimi godendo dello spettacolo del tramonto, sempre grazie alle info di Danilo e Orietta! Gli abitanti di Antigua sono persone tranquille e cordiali, quasi tutti i giorni ci fermavamo lungo la strada per prenderci frutta fresca, che meraviglia! Comunque si sa i caraibi non deludono mai e sicuramente la natura ha dato la sua componente di stupore e meraviglia, ma tornare a casa tutte le sere e godere di questo bellissimo appartamento è stata la punta di diamante per coronare la vacanza al top! Ricordo ancora la prima volta che siamo entrati in casa e Orietta mi spiegava alcune cose, io ero estasiata da quanto bello è, che quasi neanche l’ascoltavo! Le foto, cosa che ho comunicato, non gli rendono giustizia perché dal vivo è molto meglio: grandissimo, arioso, super luminoso, romantico, la camera con il letto a baldacchino poi era un sogno, una coccola grande grande ….potrei continuare per ore ad elencare quanto ci siamo trovati bene….il grande terrazzo dai mille momenti, le colazioni che duravano ore guardando il mare, le coccole con l’amaca nei pochi momenti nuvoli della vacanza, i colori dei tramonti, le letture sul letto a baldacchino sotto la zanzariera dopo cena….in sostanza abbiamo provato l’emozione di vivere ai caraibi godendo delle comodità in una casa bellissima. Complimenti il gusto c’è e si vede, grandi Orietta e Danilo!! Possiamo solo quotarlo all’eccellenza! Bellissima Antigua, magnifico Donkey on the beach ;-). Quando torneremo ad Antigua avremo già la nostra casa!! Michela e Alessandro.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Tutto
Traveling group: Compagno/a
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
nicola s
Padua, Italy
1 review
“semplicemente meravigliosa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
Google Translation

Ottima struttura ben inserita nel contesto paesaggistico, dotata di ogni confort ed impreziosita da finiture curate nei minimi dettagli. Gode di una posizione privilegiata e leggermente rialzata, con un patio che consente di rilassarsi dopo un intensa giornata di sole, rinfrescandosi con un mojito o dopo cena sorseggiando dell'ottimo rhum impreziosito dal sapore di un buon sigaro! Potrebbe bastare ed invece no! Basta alzare lo sguardo ed a pochi centinaia di metri si apre alla nostra vista la stupenda baia di english harbur, che la sera riempe l'atmosfera con un tripudio di luci provenienti dalle imbarcazioni ormeggiate.
L'isola è semplicemente meravigliosa, si noleggia una jeep e si va alla scoperta delle sue innumerevoli spiagge che solo la presenza fisica può rendere esperienza unica e credibile, come unici e incredibili sono i proprietari, Orietta e Danilo, che vi verranno ad accogliere in aereoporto, vi sapranno consigliare come muoversi e cosa visitare, vi sentirete come se il B&B fosse sempre stato casa vostra, in una parola, COCCOLATI! Tutto questo è ANTIGUA al DONKEY ON THE BEACH ! ! !

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: tutto
Traveling group: Compagno/a
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
sirolo
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
Google Translation
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$160
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
danilo d
Speaks English
Listed since : Apr 2014
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 15 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing