We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool bar.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salty Dogs Pub

Salty Dogs Pub
Jolly Harbour | St-Mary's, English Harbour, Antigua
+1 268-562-8444
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean
Description: Salty Dogs Pub is located in the very beautiful Jolly Harbour Marina Village.
Restaurant details
Description: Salty Dogs Pub is located in the very beautiful Jolly Harbour Marina Village.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very cool bar.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The owners are very personable and friendly like everyone on the island. Accidentally found this bar as we were walking around harbor across the bay. Took the little boat taxi to the bar for a drink and wished we could have stayed all day. 100% sure we will be back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
essex UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A hot day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Never been to this bar before, we went over with a few people as part of a fund raising day on a sat afternoon,, had a great day my son who is 27 had a very good day, we watched england lose the rugby but enjoyed some great food and some nice ice cold beers, this is on my list of places to visit next time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK/Antigua
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great new addition to Slipway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Visited Salty Dogs for a Saturday lunch and loved it! As well as being a real party spot (I hear!) in the evening, it's a great place to get a good value lunch and enjoy one of the prettiest views on the island.

The food was excellent - between us we had a cannonball burger (which got a huge thumbs up from my daughter), ribs from the grill and some great coconut shrimp. The children loved being able to swim from the little beach right next to the bar and there was plenty of shade on a very hot day.

Easy to get to via water taxi (they have their own) or park up at the slipway entrance and walk through. We'll certainly be going again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
all over the world on a yacht
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“great service, but will the food get better?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

just spoke to one of the managers yesterday. he has listened to our complaints & is trying to make this place better. the service is FANTASTIC. the girls are great !!! but the food is SHOCKING. no other word for it. just dreadful. and we watched one night as the lady manager had a party for her friends, played drinking games with them with shots at their table, and got altogether rowdy & very drunk, offending all the other clients...especially when one young man decided to go to the bathroom off the deck. disgusting. will it get better? let's hope so.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quick lunch on the water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I had just spent the day at Rendezvous Bay (a nearby secluded beach with no amenities) and we were looking for bite to eat but didn't want to end our time in the sun. We remembered that we'd seen Salty Dogs in the Shipyard and it was right on the water. Perfect! We arrived and were able to snag a table right on the water, and ordered 2 Coronas. They even had cushions so you can sit on the ledge even closer to the water and watch the marine life - we saw lots of crabs! We only ordered fries which were OK, my curry dipping sauce was awesome and the hubs said his BBQ sauce was really good. But most of all we enjoyed the view and atmosphere.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty Dogs Pub also viewed

English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Salty Dogs Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salty Dogs Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.