We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy donkeys” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antigua's Donkey Sanctuary

Antigua's Donkey Sanctuary
Bethesda, English Harbour, Antigua
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Farms
Attraction Details
Antigua
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Happy donkeys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is well worth a visit, as places like this need support from tourism, to keep them operating and showing the great work they are doing.
Lots of lovely Donkeys to stroke and pat, mostly friendly and a cute foal just 6 months was beautiful. They all have their own stories and the lady was knowledgable about all their circumstances and health.
You can adopt a donkey for just $us25 which goes along way to their upkeep.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ny
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The road to the sanctuary was riddled with huge craters at one point. I wouldn't recommend going with a car. We were is an SUV. When we got there it was closed and a sign said blow horn. We saw some donkeys eating that's all.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KENT
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not really for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Lots of donkeys but not really for us we went during another trip
They do great work but not really a lot for us.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, Cornwall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Go, Go, Go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very small, so don't expect much! But if you are an animal lover, please go and support them and sponsor a donkey - they're gorgeous!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great little off-the-wall side trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

What's not to love - donkeys are super friendly and cute! We also "adopted" a blind donkey named Stevie and absolutely loved the experience. Our favorite side trip in Antigua. Our kids had a great time!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antigua's Donkey Sanctuary also viewed

Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 
Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Antigua's Donkey Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antigua's Donkey Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Antigua's Donkey Sanctuary to your Saves list