We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful treat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Catherines Cafe Plage

Catherines Cafe Plage
Pigeon Point Beach, English Harbour, Antigua
0012684605050
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Dessert, French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A wonderful treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch and were taken over to the restaurant by water taxi. Our table was on the waters edge where you can watch all of the lovely boats coming and going.

There is a good choice of things to eat, including catch of the day.

The lobster soup was delicious, the lobster risotto out of this world. All of the other dishes going past looked fantastic. Clearly most of the other patrons had been many times before.

The French owners were charming, proud of their food and just oozed enthusiasm for all they did.

Great choice of wine and puddings.

All this for fabulous value.

A must go place!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    140
    24
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It's very difficult to be original about this restaurant as it's all been said in the reviews that I read prior to going. Nothing to fault it and the food is simply wonderful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, TN
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We loved the location on the Antigua Slipway. You are sitting right on the water and there's a gentle breeze. Add to that an excellent French menu, and I was happy as a clam. The Salad Nicoise was very, very good -- warm, grilled, fresh tuna -- none of that canned stuff.

Our service was also great, very attentive. The only glitch, which is actually pretty funny in retrospect, is that we got there a little early for lunch. The ad we saw said that they opened at 11:00 for lunch. We arrived about 11:30. There was a large table of people out front who were eating when we arrived. They turned out to be the wait staff. We were seated right away, but the manager said we couldn't order until 12:00. It was not a problem because it was such a lovely place to just sit and watch the boats, but it seemed kind of silly that we had to wait for the restaurant to feed the wait staff before we could order.

I recommend you try it -- after 12:00!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A real treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Excellent food - particularly fish, and great grilled lobsters. Claudine and Guillaume are great hosts. Good wine list. Overall, not cheap, but not over-priced. Perfect for either lunch or dinner. Best to book as it gets very busy. Get a water taxi over from Nelson's Dockyard., though you may need to check whether it is running when you are there. Apparently the restaurant is moving at some stage from English Harbour to Pigeon Point, but that should not prevent you from seeking them out...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location - amazing food - service with a smile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

One of the best waterside locations in the Caribbean! Food is fantastically French - absolutely delicious. Great buzz and charming staff - well worth a visit!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catherines Cafe Plage also viewed

Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda
Saint Mary's, Antigua
 
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
English Harbour, Saint Paul Parish
 

Been to Catherines Cafe Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catherines Cafe Plage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.